We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, busy, friendly and tasty!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Monita Taqueria

La Monita Taqueria
888/26 Mahatun Plaza | Ploenchit, Patumwan, Bangkok, Thailand
026509581
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #773 of 7,182 Restaurants in Bangkok
Price range: $7 - $12
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Atyrau, Kazakhstan
1 review
“Small, busy, friendly and tasty!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

A small Mexican place off Sukhumvit, but seems to be a hidden gem as it has so little advertising, but was filled with a nice mix of farang and locals, with quite a few children in the place.

The menu is typically Mexican, lots of tacos, burritos, quesadillias etc. We had a simple starter of corn chips with guacamole, which was very fresh and very tasty.

Next up was a large stuffed chicken quesadillia and an equally large wet burrito, served with rice and refried beans. Both were very tasty and very filling.

We also drank a carafe of margarita, equally refreshing.

Excellent place - will definitely be back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    76
    37
    11
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Makati, Philippines
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“A little hard to find, but worth the look”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I would describe La Monita as the best Mexican I have found in Bangkok though it is a little hard to find. Located just off the Pholen Chit BTS station on the Sukumvit line it can be a little difficult to find as it is nestled in among the shops, beauty parlors, and other assorted businesses but it is well worth the effort to find. I only found this because one of our Bangkok offices is located near by. As I said I started off with chips and guacamole, sadly chips are not included with the meal. The chips were home-made and the guacamole was fresh but nothing to write home about so I will not write about it here either.

For my tacos I had ordered the Al Pastor, red chili marinated roast pork, and Pescado, grilled fish (Andaman Sea bass). The tacos, though a little lightly stuffed for my taste were very well seasoned and full of fantastic flavor. The pork had a nice bite to it from the red chili and was succulent and juicy; the fish was well seasoned and lightly fried to golden perfection that just fell apart in your mouth. Both tacos were finished off with lettuce, tomato, onion, and sour cream. All in all this was a great lunch meal and I look forward to my next visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best Mexican in Bangkok”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Been to several Mexican restaurants in Bangkok and whilst it may not be much to look at decor wise. The food is very good. Steak fajitas are delicious and the steak is cooked perfectly and not chewy like some places. Wide range of salsa's and sauces to help yourself to. Nachos aren't all that but the tacos, burritos and fajitas are well worth it. Price wise, it's ok considering it's international food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Mexican food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

The quality of the food here is great, no doubt about it, but there are a few upsetting features. I enjoy a massive amount of salsa with my food and their salsa bar quite frankly sucks. Most of their salsas are EXTREMELY spicy even for my guests and I who are use to the heat if Thai food. Given that most of their guests are white, they should really cut back on the spice. They do however provide you with salsa bottles in which one is not spicy, but once the bottle is empty it takes a while to flag someone down for a new bottle, which they kindly provide for you. But the salsa bottles have very small openings containing very chunky salsa, leading you to squeeze so hard that you blow salsa all over the table and your guests XD The decor is cute and quant, but a lot of the staff smokes, making this place quickly fill up with the scent of cigarettes. The food is pretty expensive, $10 for a burrito, but with the quality and given you are eating Mexican in Thailand, we tolerate paying $20 for two large burrito dishes. What I really can't stand is the price if their alcohol, $10 for a glass of mojito/margarita/all other drinks. For $10 I expect to leave this place with a pretty good buzz as I stumble my way back to the BTS. But the drinks don't taste very strong at all and I definitely leave more sober than when I walked in.
So overall, all the drinks and meals are roughly $10 (300B) which come in large portions and are great tasting. While most foreigners would find this place as a cheap treat, it's very expensive for someone who lives and works in Thailand.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, USA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Holy Enchilada!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

This place was great! We came the third time and as always the beef quality inspired me to write this review. If you live long enough in Bangkok. You will start to notice that good beef at resonable price is hard here. I love that they give you second round of nachos free of charge. The waiter even bring us extra lime and souce.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Monita Taqueria also viewed

 

Been to La Monita Taqueria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Monita Taqueria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.