We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Geno” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Utage

Utage
61 Wireless Road | Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
+66 2 650 8800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #126 of 7,183 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $91
Cuisines: Japanese, Seafood, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Utage, “a meeting place” in Japanese, is popular for business lunches and dinners with friends or family. Choose from a wide range of lunch menus or distinguished dishes. After, try our mellow desserts such as Green Tea or Red Bean Ice Cream.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Geno”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

This restraunt was a very good place witch has a good taste and a very good service. The also had an quick food service. The served the food quickly so right now this is my favorite restraunt.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaAtheneeBKK, Hotel Manager at Utage, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Geno2002,

Thank you for sharing your kind feedback on TripAdvisor regarding your recent dining experience with us in Utage in the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

We are all delighted that Utage is now your favourite restaurant, thank you. Our team strives to create a truly authentic Japanese dining experience and we are thrilled that you appreciated the cuisine, along with the swift service. I will be sure to share your kind feedback with the team. We are all looking forward to welcoming you back soon to Utage in the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

Kind regards,
Gilles Evrard
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    19
    7
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
1 review
“Tasty Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Well-prepared and beautifully cooked food. Great service. A little on the high side for price though. (Luckily we have 50% coupon so not bad!)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaAtheneeBKK, Hotel Manager at Utage, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear FoamNP,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent meal with us in Utage in the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

Firstly, allow me to thank you for posting the beautiful photo. We are delighted that you enjoyed your meal with us and that you felt the team provided you with great service. Our Dining Loyalty Card- Le Club Plaza does indeed offer some great value and we are thrilled you appreciated it.

Once again thank you for your kind comments and we are all looking forward to welcoming you back soon to Utage in the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

Kind regards,
Gilles Evrard
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“For Japanese food lovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Saw the many positive reviews about this place and so decided to give it a try. Went for the Atarashi Sunday buffet and was totally impressed. Fresh seafood, live lobster, imported Wagyu beef and my favourite Foie Gras. It would have been perfect if they can include sea urchin in their menu but that would be asking a bit too much here.

Good food without good service does not make an enjoyable dinning experience. I’m very impressed and pleased with the quality of service provided by Khun Saonanee, Khun Chalairat, Khun Orathai and Khun Chayada. I sincerely appreciate their responsiveness and the way they conducts service. You can be sure that I will continue to dine here when I am in Bangkok. Keep up the good work K Saonanee, K Chalairat, K Orathai and K Chayada.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaAtheneeBKK, Hotel Manager at Utage, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear TitaniumSSM,

Thank you for your continued support of Utage in the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel and for sharing such positive feedback on TripAdvisor.

Many thanks for your kind feedback on the service of the Team, thank you. We are also delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed the mouthwatering dishes such as Wagyu beef and Foie Gras we offer on our Atarachi Brunch on Saturdays and Sundays. Please be sure to try our Special Lunch Set Menus on Weekdays that start from only THB 333 net per person.

Once again thank you for your kind comments. We are all looking forward to welcoming you back soon for another enjoyable meal in Utage in the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

Kind regards,
Gilles Evrard
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Excellence service in Utage Japanese resturant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

My recent visit come across an excellent Japanese restaurant called Utage. Other than the good environment and fresh delicious food, I wil like to compliment the great service provided by the team of manager and waitresses ( Saonanee, Chabirat, Orathani and Chayada). They take the initiative to recommend the good signature dishes in the restaurant and attentive services impress me. Despite our mistake in our booking they are able to help to get our booking done and even reserve a good sitting location. I will like to thanks them and congratulate them work well done.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaAtheneeBKK, Hotel Manager at Utage, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear IwHuat,

May I take this opportunity to thank you for choosing to dine with us in Utage in the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel and for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

It is always rewarding to receive positive feedback from a valued guests such as yourself. I am delighted that you truly appreciated the exceptional service of the team, I will be sure to share your praises with them. Please do try our special Atarachi Brunch on Saturdays and Sundays- it is an exceptional meal that showcases a wide variety of mouthwatering dishes for only THB 3,040 net per person.

Once again thank you for your kind comments. We are all looking forward to welcoming you back soon to Utage in the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

Kind regards,
Gilles Evrard
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kunming, China
1 review
“Great seafood, great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We went for the Sunday brunch (all you can eat and drink 3040BHT). Food excellent with all the usual suspects yellow fin, lobster, alaskan crab, wagyu beef and foie gras. Service fantastic - truely flawless.
The only thing stopping me giving it five stars is the less than inspiring atmosphere and decor. When you eat a $100 meal you expect something more than a cafeteria layout. If you get a private room, like we did, its absolutely worth it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaAtheneeBKK, Hotel Manager at Utage, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear JCMKM,

Thank you for sharing your kind feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent meal with us in Utage in the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

The Atarachi Brunch on Saturdays and Sundays does indeed offer a wide variety of exceptional cuisine and we are delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your meal with us. We are also thrilled that you appreciated the private dining room along with the service of our associates offered.

Thank you once again and I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon to Utage in the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

Kind regards,
Gilles Evrard
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Utage also viewed

Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Utage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Utage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.