We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Royal Brunch - splendid food & atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rain Tree Cafe

The Rain Tree Cafe
61 Witthayu Road (Wireless Rd.) | Plaza Athenee Bangkok, A Royal Meridien Hotel, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
+66 2 650 8800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 8,056 Restaurants in Bangkok
Price range: $9 - $86
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, European, Dessert, French, Japanese, Seafood, Thai, International, Fusion, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Buffet, Late Night
Description: Experience all-day dining in a relaxed atmosphere. An extensive menu is yours to enjoy, featuring dishes that have been specially created for the health conscious. Grand buffets are also available for breakfast, lunch, dinner, and Sunday brunch.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“A Royal Brunch - splendid food & atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We were highly impressed by the Sunday brunch at the Rain Tree Cafe. We love brunch and tried couple of places in Bangkok in the past but this one reached another dimension.
Not only is the choice for dishes/cuisine types/drinks huge, the quality also exceeds expectations. You can chose from the buffet (Sashimis, dim sums, French pastries, sweets...Premium products) and a la Carte. Plus: the Chef Thibault Chiumenti and his team pass by the tables to allow guests to taste his delicious molecular creations. The atmosphere is very enjoyable for couples and families - quiet and trendy at the same time.
The service was very attentive and efficient. We plan to come back soon.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    67
    18
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Brunch EVER!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Went for the Sunday brunch with friends. Having tried the champagne brunch at most big hotels around Asia (greedy I know!) this has to rank as the best.

There is so much that beats even the best I've tried - the grilled lobster to order, foie gras and scallops all pan seared to order and brought to the table, a huge buffet and then a ton of little plates and cocktails brought to your table periodically.

Simply great quality food and service. Can't beat this place!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chonburi, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Food Paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

If you enjoy really good food you just can't go wrong here.Every dish is refined & excellent.Whether you go on a week day or the special brunch on Sunday you can be assured of fresh,tasty & well-cooked items.Never have I seen such a great variety & I've travelled.Service comes with a smile.Its all organised so well.Each time I return there are new delicious items.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Quite possibly the best Sunday brunch in Bangkok!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Asian hospitality with a European flair, Thomas (F&B Manager at the Royal Meridien) runs a well-oiled ship comprising of an attentive staff, excellent food and personal service that qualifies as a "must-do" experience whilst in Bangkok. The wide array of flavors to make even a Bourdain-ite blush, the quality and presentation of each dish is personal, knowing that it doesnt come from a casino-type, mass production, everything-tastes-the-same-after-one-round operation. Make sure to look into the menu for gems such as the mini burgers with foie gras and the croque madame. Seafood lovers and carnivores alike, your taste buds will thank you as your waistline demands more exercise as you continue to return to the promised land of exquisite cuisine. Enjoy now, suffer later- it all goes well with the mantra of living it up in the BKK.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, California, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Brunch Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I had the pleasure of dining at the Plaza Athenee Rain Tree Café for Sunday brunch. I was there on holiday and had been to a few upscale restaurants. I must say the selection of food was amazing. Everything I tried was very fresh and most tasty. There was many attentive staff catering to our every need. There was not one bad aspect of my visit to this restaurant. I will go again on my next trip!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rain Tree Cafe also viewed

Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to The Rain Tree Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rain Tree Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.