We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed the new concept and ideas Bistro Gastro Sundays” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Reflexions

The Reflexions
61 Witthayu (Wireless Rd.) Rd., Plaza Athenee Bangkok | Lumphini, Pathumwan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
+66 2 650 8800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 7,183 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $13 - $75
Cuisines: French, Contemporary, Fusion, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
247 reviews 247 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“We enjoyed the new concept and ideas Bistro Gastro Sundays”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Great ambiance and setting.
Good service
Well made tasteful dishes and "a joy for the eye".....

Can it get better......

We liked the new concept as it also reminds us of Barcelona and the fantastic Tapas we have had there, i.e. small delicate dishes.(We always take away the bread from the Tapas. At Reflextions we did however taste the dark bread which was juicy and tasted good)

We started with a glass of Prosecco and continued with Cabarnet Sauvignon from Chile, all included in the free flow.
We ordered several cold and warm dishes which we both shared in true Asian way. Some are shown on enclosed pictures.
We enjoyed it and we recommend who ever reads this review to visit Reflexions and try it out. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaAtheneeBKK, Hotel Manager at The Reflexions, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Tomberra,

Thank you for your continued support of The Reflexions in the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel and for sharing such positive feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are thrilled that you appreciated our new concept for Sunday evenings called Gastro Bistro Sundays. Chef Daniel and his team have created an indulgent new all-you-can-eat French Bistro style Wine + Dine menu for one very special price that is inclusive of free flow beverages. This special menu, that is only available on Sunday evenings, showcases a wide variety of French bistro classics under the themes of Cold, Hot, Sweet and Cheese, and are created a la minute. For more information, please visit our website.

Once again, many thanks for your kind feedback and recommendation. We are all looking forward to welcoming you back soon to The Reflexions in the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

Kind regards,
Gilles Evrard
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    48
    15
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Wine Tasting & Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Reflexions has been closed for a few months thus depriving many people the experience of Chef Daniel's creativity. However, occasionally there is a lovely evening of wine tasting followed by a set menu. The April 5th dinner was outstanding and reflected the ability of the Chef to create a menu that sparkled with bold flavours.
Check with the Plaza Athenee for their next fine event. If a French wine is part of the tasting, make a reservation and go.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaAtheneeBKK, Hotel Manager at The Reflexions, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear BangkokCat,

Thank you for taking your time to share such positive feedback on TripAdvisor regarding your recent meal with us in The Reflexions in the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

It certainly is inspiring to receive such praise of the creativity and ability of Chef Daniel and his team, thank you. I would like to take this opportunity to let you know that we will be reopening The Reflexions after Songkran on the 23rd of April 2014 together with some very special new offerings. Please visit our website for further details.

Thank you once again for your kind feedback. We are all looking forward to welcoming you back soon for another memorable meal at The Reflexions in the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

Kind regards,
Gilles Evrard
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Re-visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Last review I wrote about the WINE + DINE at The Reflexions was June 2012. Yesterday’s dinner was a whole new experience. This time the chef produced an excellent dinner. We had the Pan fried duck egg, black pudding and borage, Monkfish and blue mussels in white wine broth with parsley and tomato and shared Flavours of pistachio and mulberry and Basque almond gateau, yoghurt sherbet. The amuse-bouche and sorbet were equally excellent as was the fresh warm bread.

The presentation and flavours we all excellent, compliments to the chef and his kitchen.

Only comment, the pre-dinner wine tasting used to be accompanied by excellent canapé which have been replaced by a cheese board – rather disappointing.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaAtheneeBKK, Hotel Manager at The Reflexions, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Tee K,

Thank you for sharing your kind feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent dining experience with us in The Reflexions in the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

Chef Daniel and his team endeavor to showcase world class cuisine and we are all thrilled that you thoroughly enjoyed the Wine + Dine event. I will be sure to share you feedback with the team. Thank you once again for your feedback, it is of great importance as it allows us to continuously monitor and improve the service and offerings we provide.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back to The Reflexions in the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel for another enjoyable meal.

Kind regards,
Gilles Evrard
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not best but very good restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

It's a shame that there's a big fabric hung down from the ceiling since I expected the spacious double height dinning area from the picture images on web site. The presentation for every dishes were fantastic, the taste was amazing except the breads (it was cold and we requested to warm up) and the ram (it was slightly over cooked). The service was great except we waited the main dishes for a while.
By the way we went here on my wife's birthday, so even some points was not up to our expectation we were in very good mood and optimistic enough to enjoyed the dinner that night.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaAtheneeBKK, Hotel Manager at The Reflexions, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear LEX824 ,

May I take this opportunity to thank you for choosing to dine with us in The Reflexions in the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel and sharing your kind feedback on TripAdvisor.

First of all I would like to thank you for celebrating your wife’s birthday with us in the Reflexions. I am delighted that you felt that the service was great and the presentation of the dishes was fantastic. I will certainly look into the other concerns you raised such as the fabric from the ceiling. Your feedback is of great importance to us as it allows us to continuously monitor and improve the service we offer all our valued guests.

Thank you once again for your kind feedback. We are all looking forward to welcoming you back soon to The Reflexions in the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

Kind regards,
Gilles Evrard
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
247 reviews 247 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Excellent. Wine Tasting and a three course dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We are very pleased and surprisingly positive to the whole concept,
Wine and Dine Discovery Undurraga wine.5 good Chilean wine at the Glass bar, followed by a three course dinner with a complementary bottle of wine.
Good wine, excellent gourmet food, excellent service and enjoyable ambiance.

Cream of Celeriac with Black Truffle and Almond Oil
Pan Seared Hake, Cucumber Ketchup and Bouillon Potatoes
Lamb Two Ways, Shoulder and Loin, Bean Cassoulet, and Grilled Lemon
Warm Yeast Cake, Sour Plums, Tahiti Vanilla and Almonds
Chocolate and Mandarin Parfait with Pistachios

Merlo Wine and Chang Water

Can it be better?

We will be back

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaAtheneeBKK, Hotel Manager at The Reflexions, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Tomberra,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post this review on TripAdvisor about your wonderful wine and dine experience in The Reflexions and The Glaz Bar in the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

It is an absolutely pleasure to receive such positive feedback about your dining experience with us. I am glad that our wine and dine concept was appealing to you and that you enjoyed our menu selection posted online and services provided by our associates as well as ambience in our venues. For your information, on 06 March 2014, we will be hosting another wine and dine new discovery with Domaines Schlumberger Wines of France.

Thank you once again for your review and I hope we will have the pleasure of your company during our next wine and dine new discovery at The Reflexions and The Glaz Bar in the Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

Kind Regards,

Gilles Evrard
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Reflexions also viewed

 

Been to The Reflexions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Reflexions, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.