We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb diner experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Reflexions

The Reflexions
61 Witthayu (Wireless Rd.) Rd., Plaza Athenee Bangkok | Lumphini, Pathumwan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
+66 2 650 8800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 8,076 Restaurants in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 stars 298 Reviews
Price range: $14 - $76
Cuisines: French, Contemporary, Bistro, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Ouderkerk aan de Amstel, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Superb diner experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We really enjoyed a impressive diner in a fantastic atmosphere with nice projections at the wall of aerial views of beautiful places in France. We selected a la carte dishes with perfect seafood and wagyu beef selection. 3 types of Wagyu beef at one dish was perfect. The German chef Daniel and his team prepared all our dishes in a perfect way. He visited the guests and served the amuses at our table. Really at a Michelin star level. Whole atmosphere and service is impressive.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaAtheneeBKK, Hotel Manager at The Reflexions, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Eelco64,

Thank you for sharing your reviews on TripAdvisor after dining at The Reflexions at Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

The idea of The Reflexions is to create an ambience that reminds guests of not only the food in France but the way of life and I am very happy to hear that you found the atmosphere most pleasing. It is always gratifying to hear such praise about the quality of food we serve and the way the dishes are prepared as well as the service we provide. We pride ourselves on our exceptional and efficient service and I will pass your comments onto Chef Daniel Bucher and his team as everyone works especially hard to provide a professional service.

Thank you once again for your favorable comments and we look forward to seeing you again at The Reflexions at Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

Kind Regards,

Gilles Evrard
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    44
    14
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Best romantic dinner in 22 years of marriage !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

We live in Bangkok at the moment and had some really nice dinners here. However, the one we had at The Reflexions tonight was by far the best. The chef greeted us and offered some surprise appetizers, the best one beeing a sashimi-size tuna piece cooked at the table on a hot stone resting on rosemary leaves. We had a mixed appetizer with foie gras, frog leg, mushroom ravioli and pumpkin soup, obviously all in small, tasting size. We both had fish as the main course. My wife had the sea bass and I had the turbot, both prepared very nicely. We shared a side of rosemary potatoes.
Surprises continued and we were also offered a great complimentary desert (chocolate mousse and pear ice cream).
And to round it all up my wife received a beautiful red rose on the way out. Absolutely great!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PlazaAtheneeBKK, Hotel Manager at The Reflexions, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Tapey,

Thank you for commenting on TripAdvisor following your recent visit to The Reflexions at Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel.

I am very pleased to learn that you appreciated the surprise appetizers and the complimentary deserts of The Reflexions restaurant, we try to provide our guests with a personal and attentive service to leave a dining experience that is memorable. I am thrilled to hear that your enjoyed the food and I have passed these kind comments onto our chefs in The Reflexions.

Once again, thank you for sharing your review, we hope to welcome you back to The Reflexions at Plaza Athénée Bangkok, A Royal Méridien Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Gilles Evrard
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Oslo
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Top notch dining in Bangkok”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We truly enjoyed dinner here during our stay in Bangkok.

We had their set menu with wine pairings which was good price value. The chef even let us replace the main courses in the set menu as we wanted to try something else. Quality and execution was exceptional and we enjoyed some new experiences like ice cream made in nitrogen right in front of our eyes.

What made this dining experience stand out was the chef who took his time interacting with his customers. Not often do you experience a chef this dedicated.

I will recommend this place. Feel free to write me if you have any questions.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Impressive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Had an impressive dinner here. We had set dinner which gave us each a choice of appetizer, main dish and desserts. The appetizers (mine as scallop) and the main dishes (mine was lamb) were superb. But the desserts were a bit average and a little bland.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Food and service good, in 1980s ambiance”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Food was interesting and interactive...chef coming out to prepare the amuse bouche and a little molecular appetizer

Service was sharp and professional..not intrusive but there when you needed them

Ambiance was a little strange with a huge video that was constantly playing on the front wall with vistas of Europe taken from a helicopter..and a 2 percie playing some classic tunes..for myself and partner we thought we were transported to the 1980s...it was just a little kitcsh.

Still worth a visit

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Reflexions also viewed

 

Been to The Reflexions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Reflexions, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.