We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location and nice staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Siam Star Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Siam Star Hotel to your Saves list
Siam Star Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   178/7 Rajprarop 5, Rajprarop Rd | Rajthevee, Bangkok 10400, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #240 of 449 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Very good location and nice staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I had only one problem and that is with the booking issue, when I reach hotel then receptionist told that rooms are not available though I have emailed and called them and taken confirmation 1 week back.

Other than that I have never faced any issues, staff was very friendly to us.

Still I have given 3 rating due to few things should have been better i.e. wash basin doesn't have anything to keep there like brush, soap etc, Air-Con (AC) was bit noisy

Location wise its superb, near to MRT, Taxi Stand, Malls and other spots like siam center, MBK are quite near.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    15
    22
    10
    6
See reviews for
7
15
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We booked this hotel because we had a late arrival into BKK and wanted somewhere close to the airport train line. We were given the choice of two rooms on the fourth floor. The first was windowless and in poor-to-adequate condition. The second (which we took) had an opening window, but we soon discovered that it opened over an empty lot used to store giant blocks of smelly garbage before their transport elsewhere.

Bed was large, firm and effective after a long fight. Aircon worked fine. Included breakfast was better than expected. Hotel seemed deserted. Potentially ineffective night security. Elevator is comically small.

The advertised price of 1000 baht for an aircon double seems slightly expensive, but this is probably par for the course in this horrible, dirty, overpriced part of Bangkok. Ask for a cheaper price on the room. We paid 900, booked over skype, but probably could've got it for less. I don't think they have many customers.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

First thing to go wrong was when my girlfriend looked at the room and brought down a dead cockroach. They insisted we pay for both nights upfront (Thanks hostelworld!). Centipedes crawled out of the sink.

The hotel is old, the staff is rude, people bring prostitutes. Any money you might save from staying here will be spent on tuk-tuks getting into and out of the center of town. The sheets are old. We got woken up by people slamming doors at god-knows what hour.

I give it one star just because the shower had the best water pressure of all the hotels we stayed in Thailand, strangely enough.

If you're on a budget, stay at one of the hostels near the center. If you want something better, get a hotel near the center. Just avoid this dump!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batam, Indonesia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This is first time stay that hotel. We have suite family room with 2 bedrooms with 2 bathroom and living room. We stay 4 nights, location near shooping center by walking by foot. Near hotel have Thai massage, My family was satisfaction about they services.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

i try to book this hotel again despite being disappointed from the previous visit. it was better than before! again, good location for shopping, walking distance. YOU SHOULD TRY FOR IT AGAIN!

hotel reception was friendly except for one.

Room Tip: Lower floor have better access to wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Basic room.
No windows.
But clean sheets and toilet.
Rooms aren't sound proof so keep your volume down at night. (had funny experience with the guest next door-couples in love)

The location is perfect! 5 mins walk to Pratunam shopping district. We spent just SGD25 per night! really worth it if you prefer to spend your money to shop!!
There is street stalls selling local breakfast in mornings at pratunam district, cheap and delicious!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Walking distance to the major attraction in Prathunam area. If you consider more comfy and less hassle this is not the place. But if you intention is to explore this area or shop in Prathunam this could be the ideal place. Platinum mall, Pantip Plaza are at walking distance.
You will get breakfast as well.Hope this helps.

Nish

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Siam Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siam Star Hotel

Address: 178/7 Rajprarop 5, Rajprarop Rd | Rajthevee, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #240 of 449 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Siam Star Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Siam Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Siam Star Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.