We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I highly recommend you stay away.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Phiman Water View

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Phiman Water View to your Saves list
Phiman Water View
123 Samsen Soi 5 Samsen Road | Banglumphu Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #159 of 609 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
North Lake Tahoe, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“I highly recommend you stay away.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

For the price of a room here, you can get a MUCH nicer place at a real hotel just a few blocks away. It's not worth ANY amount of savings to stay here.

We knew we were in trouble when our taxi from the airport had no idea where this was, and instead decided to consult some local kids in the area and have them lead us the rest of the way.

We also knew there were issues when we went to pay our balance and leave the next morning, and we couldn't find anyone to pay (the owner was out?).

You're basically walking through some VERY disgusting homes to get to the place. If you are interested in seeing "third world" up close and personal, this is it.

We apparently had the "best" room in the place, but it was the grossest place we stayed in during the entire trip. Also, we caught scabies from this room. With the cost of medicine to treat the scabies and the extreme discomfort, we could have been put up at a four-star hotel for the night, instead.

The other travelers here were the opposite of friendly. We got a lot of nasty looks from "transient" types (you know - the kinds who ask for your change at Haight and Ashbury in SF) and felt totally uncomfortable being out in any of the shared space.

Do yourself a favor and DO NOT stay here. The website is the most misleading thing I've ever seen. It's in an inconvenient area and trashy. Not worth a buck or two.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    13
    8
    4
    7
See reviews for
Families
0
16
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2010

Well what can say about this place pretty shocking , we booked it on hostel bookers.com , we wanted a cheap place just for the night to get over the 12 hour flight from UK , the pictures looked good untill we got to the place

Location : pretty bad location down some back allys walking across some dodgy planks pretty scary and dangerous at night , right next to the river which at night you get bitten to death by moscito's (lets put this way my feet were bitten and swollen for 3 days ) The only thing about the view was the bridge as it was very pretty but this is the only good thing about it!!

Room: We had a room just opposite the river, it was was stated on the website that it had air con (i didn't realise air con in Thailand meant a small fan) it seemed nice at first glance then as we looked more in the room the bathroom was non existant it was a tiny room which looked more like a built in cupboard!! in this cupboard consisted of a blocked overflowing toilet and a piece of pipe with a shower head attatched whiich was freezing cold water. Bedroom door was falling if the hinges whcih meant as we closed it the door handle would not lock!! there were holes in the walls and the ceiling was all dirty and falling to peices. The bed was covered in small ants and it was not till we got back from having dinner that we found ants all over our clothes that had been on the bed with further inspection we found that the whole bed was covered with tiny ants!! but we were so tired from our flight we decided to sleep on the hard wooden floor and the room would sway as people walked on the outside wooden flooring!! we were right by the communal area this meant we could hear everything and people were outside shouting and drinking all night until 6am this meant we did not have much sleep as we were kept awake and concerned for our safety!!! we also had to use the shared toilet which smelt really horrible and we also had to suppl our own toilet roll as there neevr seemed to be any supplied!!

Staff: the people we meet were however very friendly and willing to talk to us!!

Overall i would not recommened this place to any one even if you are on a budget as we found better accomadation else where for the same price and u did not have to walk down dodgy streets to get to them!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

We booked this place online because we were arriving into Bangkok at night and wanted somewhere to lay our heads for a night before deciding what to do next. The location, although a 15 minute walk from the Khao San road is down some pretty dodgy looking back alleys. We got there at about 10pm and got pretty lost & pretty scared. In the daytime it's less worrying and we never actually had any problems, however it is a bit offputting. The hostel is next to the river, which does mean you get a bit of a breeze, however the river itself is pretty grim, our room was literally 2 metres from it. I think the website makes this place look nicer than it actually is, although it is by no means a complete dive, they do have WiFi internet and free tea & coffee.

I think in hindsight we were overcharged for the room, maybe because we booked online, I also wonder whether they actually knew we were coming or just gave us the only available room. It was supposedly ensuite...however it's not worth paying for this, it's literally just a loo in the corner with a shower over the top. The communal washrooms are perfectly adequate. There were holes in the roof & wall...thank goodness it didn't rain or we and our backpacks would have been completely drenched...not good at the beginning of 2 months travelling!!

The staff are friendly and recommended a little kitchen 10metres up the alleyway that does a mean Pad Thai, they also had a booklet of possible activities in Bangkok. They seem very into their art and the other guests were very well-seasoned travellers, not flash-packers like us!! I think this place would be fine if you'd been travelling SE Asia for a couple of months but on a first night in Bangkok, it's a bit of shock to the system.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
293 reviews 293 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2010

Recently stayed at the Phiman Water View in Bangkok, the first destination of our 3 month travels. As the previous reviewer said, at first its difficult to find, down lots of alleyways that look quite scary (we also arrived in evening and taxi driver did not know where it was). On check in they had no more private double rooms with fan so we got upgraded for all 5 nights to aircon which was lovely given it was 45 degrees, however our room was right by the 'chill out' area and virtually all guests had to walk past it in order to get to rooms, this combined with the squeaky floorboards out side our room meant it was often noisy until 4-5am in the morning, however if you had a better located room i think you would be fine. Again the bed was like a rock and actually gave me back ache during the night, no covers, although its sooo hot you don;t really need them! Had a quick look at some of the dorm rooms these looked better and were supplied with mossie nets and a comfy looking mattress other travellers said these rooms were fine.

Lots of other travellers here great place to meet people and everyone raves about the atmosphere, the river is like all other rivers in Asia, a bit murky but no foul smell that I noticed and offers a nice breeze, you can sit on the wall by the river in the chill out area. Location is about 10-15 minutes walk from Khao San Road, we visited during the riots and the Thai New Year (2 very different types of crazy) so were very pleased to be able to escape the chaos which was Khao San Road at these times!

Due to the price and location I would stay again but equally there are probably other cheap places which are nicer!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff,Wales
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

Phiman water view review

 "Oh no, what have we done" were the first words that left our mouths as we arrived at our accomidation after 18 hours of travel. Not good. Firstly The taxi driver could not find the place and had to call his friend. Secondly we arrived at about 11pm, and you have to navigate down some dark alleys to get to the accomidations metal door. (The alleys are like the allyways of the slums in slumdog millionaire) Aggresive dogs barking and snapping at you, urine, human waste, vomit in the street and smell of decaying food.  And that's before you get to your room. When we eventually got inside we were led to our room, a solid matress on the floor, a fan attatched to the ceiling, and a old mouldy musty fridge. Disgusting. I had to double check the websight to make sure it was the right place. Bugs everywhere, smelly river water would flood the surrounding pond everyday, bed was not clean,Blood, sweat, body fluids all over matress, No bed linen at all. No towels.(we had to use our towels to sleep on) Really appauling. The websight makes this place look like a nice pleasent sancturiry for the different tyrpe ot traveler. but really it's just a nice websight, accomidation is dump of a place , Do not stay there it's appauling, would not recomend and we were backpacking it. Poor locationas well , we had to take tuk tuk, taxi everywhere as simply to far out of the way. The young boy running the place seemed nice though, as did the other people staying there. Ps. We paId for the private double suite lol what a joke more like double the trouble 

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Phiman Water View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phiman Water View

Address: 123 Samsen Soi 5 Samsen Road | Banglumphu Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Hotel Style:
Ranked #159 of 609 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Phiman Water View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phiman Water View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.