We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay. Was so lovely forgot I was in a hostel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Niras Bankoc Cultural Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Niras Bankoc Cultural Hostel to your Saves list
Niras Bankoc Cultural Hostel
204 - 206 Mahachai Road | Sumranrat Phra-Nakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 608 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Place to stay. Was so lovely forgot I was in a hostel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

We loved Niras Bankoc. The hostel itself is a lovely building, and the cafe downstairs has yummy breakfast for cheap. The staff we SO helpful with everything, and we had a room made up every day, plus towels. We stayed in a Standard Private room, with a great aircon that keeps the room nice and chilled. A smallish room, but for less than $30 night between two, I expected much worse.
The location is great, close to heaps
of street vendors and restaurants, and a 15 minute walk MAX To Khao San Rd if you want to get into the touristy vibe. Would recommend anyone of any age to stay here! We will be back! Thanks guys!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iamBankoc, Owner at Niras Bankoc Cultural Hostel, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for the review.Your words and perfect score are meanfingful to all staffs and remind us to keep the best service.Importantly, your fair judgement is to see our hostel's values.
We always remembered everytime we are going out, we always had smiles to us .:>
We are really pleased to know your stay with us was wonderful.

Looking forward to welcome you again next time in Bangkok.
Best regards,
Niras Bankoc team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    27
    5
    6
    0
See reviews for
5
29
31
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
new york
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

we loved it, really clean rooms and bathrooms in a beautifully renovated historical building.

the staff was super helpful in helping us to figure out what we wanted to do and how we wanted to do it.

Cleanest hostel I've ever stayed in for sure.

24 hour security is also a plus

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iamBankoc, Owner at Niras Bankoc Cultural Hostel, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for staying with us. All of our staffs just would like to thank you for wonderful review with lots of compliments.
We do really appreciate that you see our values.
Hope to take care of you and your friends again next time in Bangkok.
Best regards,
Niras Bankoc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal,Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

The staff is really nice and helpful. The room,although small, was very clean. The only thing I would say is the other guests are so noisy that it Preventd me from sleeping at times. Good thing I had ear Plugs with me. Overall , great location and service, excellent wifi connection and clean bathrooms I would definately go back.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iamBankoc, Owner at Niras Bankoc Cultural Hostel, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking time to leave us your comments and good rating.
It's very pleasure to welcome both of you in Bangkok.
Regarding loud and disturbing behaviour in that night, we would like to apologize you for the group of drunken guests in our common room. We already warned them four times .However, it will be the great lesson for the next time to have more strict rule to prohibit it.

Hope to welcome you again next time.Happy travels!
Best regards,
Niras Bankoc team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

Good value for money. One of the most beautiful hostels I've ever stayed at. Historical and cultural significance as the building is very old and the owners have done their best to maintain it while providing modern amenities. You will be asked to remove any shoes/slippers when going up to your room, to prevent scratching the teak floor. Rooms are clean and airconditioned; bathrooms were to be shared with other travelers but were clean as well. My travel buddy and I selected a private room, but there is an option to share a room with other travellers, for a much lower price. Strong WiFi signal in the rooms and cafe. Cafe offers mouthwatering Thai milk tea - a must try. Locals and backpackers drop in at all hours, making for a great place to meet fellow travellers. Superb customer service - the staff is very helpful in providing directions to us first-time visitors. Walking distance from hawker stalls. (Ask the staff to point you to the spot where the best Phad Thai is served. It is but a mere whole in the wall, but the food --- yummy! And you can watch them prepare it.)

Will definitely recommend this as a place to stay in Bangkok.

Tip - print out a copy of the map from the Niras Bankoc website so that you can show taxi drivers its location.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iamBique, Owner at Niras Bankoc Cultural Hostel, responded to this review, June 24, 2011
Dear Valued guest,
Thank you very much for your review .It's very kind of you to think about our hostel and it's big surprise for us that you wrote us the wonderful review although both of you stayed with us since February.
Thank you for sharing experiences and lovely photos with other travellers.
It's great memories of us to take care of you.
Hope to welcome you again in Bangkok.
Best regards,
Niras Bankoc Hostel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

This place is more like a guesthouse or B & B. It's beautiful, the people are very nice and helpful, and the beds are comfortable. It has a good selection of DVDs to watch. I like that it is not in the tourist area of Khoasan, but it's close to the key Wats and historical places. This place is wonderful!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iamBique, Owner at Niras Bankoc Cultural Hostel, responded to this review, June 20, 2011
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for your contribution.Your review is like a gift to all of us.
It's very grateful to be your first review.
We are very pleased to know that you had great time with you.
Thank you for your smile and cheerful personality too .You are one of memorable guests.
Hope to welcome you in Bangkok next time.
Wish you good luck with your amazing journey .

Best regards,
Niras Bankoc team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

We stayed at the Niras Hostel for 3 night at the start of our trip to SE Asia. It was the perfect place to kick-start our trip, the staff were so helpful and friendly, they really took the stress out of our first few jet-lagged days! Would definitely recommend. Location was great, walking distance to all the major sites and Chinatown.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iamBique, Owner at Niras Bankoc Cultural Hostel, responded to this review, May 31, 2011
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for the review and choosing our hostel as the start of your adventure.
Wish you next chapters of the trip also wonderful and smooth like in our city.
Your review encouraged all staffs to maintain the best service and we always are pleased to help our guests like you enjoying Bangkok.
Hope to welcome you and next time.
Happy travels,
Niras Bankoc team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

We stayed for 8 nights in the deluxe double room with shared bathroom and absolutely loved it. We chose Niras because we were looking for somewhere quiet and small to relax, yet somewhere that was still close to the main tourist sites of Bangkok.

The service at the hostel was fantastic - the staff would always check up on us and ask if we need any help with transport or if we had any other queries. The hostel has a cafe at the front which serves breakfast to the guests and is also open to the public until 10:30PM. The cafe area was also used by guests during the day. Because we had a deluxe double room booked, we received a complimentary breakfast every morning and also a small bottle of water each. The breakfast was simple but they were willing to tailor it to your preferences (fried or scrambled eggs, a sausage or not). The coffee was great, especially since we hadn't drank strong espresso coffee for a long time. We also tried the cakes they sold at the cafe and would highly recommend the cappuccino mousse cake.

The hostel is in an old shop style building that has been tastefully restored. Our room didn't have a window but did have a skylight. We also had a fridge, cable TV and a table with chairs. The shared bathrooms were the nicest shared bathrooms we've come across yet with 24 hour hot water and good water pressure. I don't think it's worth paying the extra for a room with an ensuite since the bathrooms were so nice and the staff kept them very clean.

There is a TV room / lounge behind the cafe for guests only and they have a good range of DVDs available to watch. However, this room is small and we found that it was occupied by people waiting for their onward transport. The cafe was normally empty enough to grab a table though.

Niras was the most expensive hostel we stayed at in SE Asia. However, we didn't regret spending the money because the hostel was exactly what we're after. Keep in mind that it's not a party hostel and it's also not in the thick of the backpacker district. There are cheaper options available closer to Khao San Road but we weren't the biggest fan of this area; it was mostly filled with tacky market stalls, over priced Western style restaurants and a lot of touts. Niras is in a more 'normal' Bangkok neighbourhood. Across the road from the hostel there are many stalls selling excellent cheap food at night, including Pad Thai, fish ball noodle soup, wanton egg noodles and fried rice noodles. Most dishes were 30-70 Baht depending on whether they included seafood or not. During the day there are also a few other stalls selling noodles too. We tried most of the stalls in the area and didn't have a bad meal at any of them.

Niras is conveniently located about 15mins walk from Khao San Road, about 20mins walk from Chinatown, 15mins walk from the Grand Palace and about 5 mins walk from the canal boat station Phan Fa Lilat. We found that the easiest way to get to the main shopping area (around MBK, Siam Paragon etc) was to go via canal boat for only 9 Baht per person to Hua Chung. From Hua Chang it's only a 5 minute walk to MBK. When the canal boats weren't operating at night we took a taxi to town instead for 60-70 Baht.

We would definitely come back next time we're in Bangkok and recommend it to anyone looking for a quiet, friendly hostel.

Room Tip: The double deluxe room is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iamBique, Owner at Niras Bankoc Cultural Hostel, responded to this review, May 25, 2011
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for your time to write us the review with wonderful points of our small hostel.
It has became one of the most descriptive review we've received.
We all staffs were very grateful after reading your review and fulfilled to know that our mission was completed to make your stay the most enjoyable.

Importantly, you are the right type of travellers who fit with our cultural hostel's character .
The one enjoys historic spot and is looking for authenthic Thai culture like Thai people really do.

Thank you again for choosing our hostel and very pleased to take care of you both.
Hope to welcome you again in Bangkok.
Best regards,
Niras Bankoc team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Niras Bankoc Cultural Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Niras Bankoc Cultural Hostel

Address: 204 - 206 Mahachai Road | Sumranrat Phra-Nakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 608 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Genuine Local Experience (A perfect place for travelers who love culture) -The Country Winner of Hoscar Awards 2009 by Hostelworld-The World’s Best Boutique hostels 2009 by guardian magazine - To experience A Perfect Location The origin of the great city of Bangkok today is located 'Koh Rattanakosin' where Niras Bankoc is in the middle of which is close to many HISTORICAL and attraction places especially like Giant Swing and Golden Mountain. Other nearby places like Wat Po, The Grand Palace & Emerald Buddha, Democracy Monument and even Khaosand Road ... etc. you can travel JUST by WALKING! The hostel is located in peaceful neighborhood with several local food stalls and shophouses. The real escape from busy backpacker area and touristy places.- To experience A Unique Style Living in the old house which age is over 100 years. Until now, it has been declared as the cultural and conservation building. Feeling the charm of origin and experiencing the genuine local living way and homey atmosphere: Plus Lovely antique coffee shop offers premium gourmet coffee and beverages.- To experience A Warm Welcome We are not part of big chain hostelwith limited numbers of guests; we put more care in detail of all guests, consider everyone like a member in the house & help guests enjoy BKK even traveling alone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Niras Bankoc Cultural Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Niras Bankoc Cultural Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Niras Bankoc Cultural Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.