We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great apartment and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anantara Bangkok Sathorn

Save Saved
You added Anantara Bangkok Sathorn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Anantara Bangkok Sathorn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36 Narathiwart-Ratchanakarin Road | Yannawa, Bangkok 10120, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay longer with FREE Spa
Ranked #92 of 751 hotels in Bangkok
uk
Top Contributor
373 reviews 373 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
250 helpful votes 250 helpful votes
“Great apartment and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed here one night in a 2 bed apartment. It was spacious, clean and had a balcony. There was a lovely lounge with great views of Bangkok by night ( Bangkok is so much more attractive by night!) where you could enjoy a cocktail or two. I hear the massage was awesome and there's a pool and gym. Service was v good and staff helpful. I would have given full marks but the location in sathorn means a taxi ride rather than monorail but this is not a big disadvantage.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,099 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    565
    393
    98
    29
    14
See reviews for
270
371
67
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite at the Anantara for 4 nights in September and were not disappointed. We were 3 adults and 1 infant and the room was perfect for our needs. The rooms and bathrooms were modern and clean and the kitchen was nice to have even though we didnt use it much. Our room on the 34th floor had spectacular views of the city from both balconies. We used the pool once, it was a little chilly.

We upgraded to have access to the club room on the 37th floor where we ate breakfast 2 of our mornings (preferred it to the main breakfast area though selection wasnt quite as large but the food and atmosphere was much better) and also took advantage of the happy hour every evening. The food and drinks were good with eggs cooked to order for breakfast along with fried rice and other breakfast items, and different appetizers every evening with happy hour. The views from the club are spectacular, especially at night. We ordered room service late one night, the mango sticky rice is delicious and the curry we ordered was quite good as well.

We all had massages at the spa, they werent bad but werent fantastic either. We had asked for deep tissue massages but ended up getting the relaxing massage which were nice just not what we had hoped for. The foot massage wasnt long enough and the tea before and after was nice but it was awkward sitting and drinking tea while the masseuse was standing there waiting for you to finish. Next time we'll get massages elsewhere.

The hotel isnt really near the major tourist areas but we ended up taking a taxi everywhere since we were traveling with our 7 month old son. There was a shuttle to the BTS that we never used but would have had we not had the baby with us. There's a outdoor restaurant near the entrance to the hotel that was pretty good and there's a nice grocery store ~5 minute walk from the hotel.

We will definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here beginning of September, and thought being nearly a 5 star hotel it should be perfect.

The reception is very nice looking and always smells nice with water lilies, however when we got to our room we were surprised to find just how shabby and unkempt it was. We booked a two bedroom suite for the week as there was 3 of us. Yes the place was as big as my apartment back home, but I would have suggested it was more 3* than 5....

There were stains on every surface you can put a cup/glass on, the sofa was stained and had cigarette holes in it (and it's a nonsmoking room?!)

All of the furniture was looking old and chipped around the edges.

My room (the twin) had never been vacuumed as old nut shells and food were all over the carpet.

The facilities I cannot really comment on. I did try and use the pool, but it was more like an ice cold plunge pool (in 35 degree Celsius heat)
I know they can't help the location of the hotel, however we arrived in the pouring rain having to drag cases from the subway station around a mile away.

One of our party had an electronic stolen from our room, and even though they checked the CCTV and key card records, we never got to the bottom of it. They made me write a statement (with security, the maid and the desk manager standing over me after they completely tipped our room over including going through two weeks of dirty laundry!) and stood watching whilst I opened the safe and took everything out....

We didn't believe it was the maid, however there was something very odd going on...

Breakfast was very good, however they catered for every nationality except British. We only had baked beans once in a whole week, and the bacon you could not chew.

We travel long haul at least once a year, and if I come back to Bangkok I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naowarat A, General Manager at Anantara Bangkok Sathorn, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Rheyes2420,

Thank you for sharing with us and TripAdvisor's community the experiences of your stay.

I'm sorry to learn about your disappoint of our room, the hotel and room cleanliness is our highest priority as this to ensure that we provide a clean environment to our guest which we have always been successful in this area. I have share your comment amongst our team as well the retraining on room cleaning will be done to ensure we maintain the high standard of cleanliness. I am sorry that your disappointment about the room has never brought up to our attention during your stay here so that we can ensure the comfort of your entire stay.

As for your comment about the lost of electronic, as soon as we received a report of lost, we have done all possible to check the potential which included room searching, electronic key reading, CCTV record as well locker seach with our room attendant as this is the only person enter your room to clean. We could not find any evident of involvement from any staff and we have informed you the resulf of investigation. Please do not hesitate me personally if you need further clarifications.

Thank you for your comment about breakfast, please note that we do a rotations of breakfast menu and we try our utmost to appreciate all guests.

Once again, thank you for sharing a feedback with, in the meantime, please do not hesitate to contace me personality if I can be further assistance.

Sincerely yours,

Naowarat Arunkong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Me and my Fiancée started our 3 week tour of Thailand from here and what a way it was to start the journey. We wanted to do Thailand in a bit of style and didn’t really want to go down the whole backpacking/hostel route so choosing this hotel wasn’t difficult upon reading other TA reviews. Although our budget was limited we still managed to stay in very nice hotels throughout our stay, the Anantara being one of the best. I’ll start this review by mentioning the travel time and how far away this hotel is from the airport. We wanted to be pretty close to Pat pong and the Lebau state tower as we had plans to visit these places before we decided on where we were staying, so location was key. One major thing I will mention is the fact that we arrived on a Friday in rush hour, now as other people have mentioned previously, the hotel is situated in Sathorn and getting here causes you to hit most of the major Toll roads and motorways (never have I seen so much traffic in all my life). So avoid getting into Bangkok on a Friday at rush hour. Took us nearly 2 hours to get to the hotel, but this was also due to the fact the taxi driver had problems finding the hotel. Still the journey only cost us around £13. If you avoid rush hour and travel to or from the airport to the hotel before 6pm then it will take roughly 45 minutes, as the journey back was no problem.

Now onto the hotel itself. Location is ideal for all major sightseeing stops, although some taxi drivers do have difficulty in finding the hotel (just take one of the hotel cards, avoids explaining). Pat pong night market is literally 10 minutes away by tuc-tuc or taxi and the metro is literally 5 mins walk, left out of the hotel. There is McDonalds and 7/11 very close by for snacks also. Rooms are clean and very spacious, beds very comfy and also great views across the city if you request a high floor. I’m sure I upgraded our room prior to our arrival, recommend doing this as the bathroom and rainfall shower was very nice after a long hot sticky day sightseeing etc.
Breakfast was a bit disappointing and very over ran, the dining area in which you eat can become a cattle market and is way too small to accommodate the amount of guests the hotel has. If I was to stay at this hotel again I would be definitely eating out on a morning.
The pool area is of a good size and the pool is very cooling. Towels are kept pool side in a rack and are free of charge to use which is good. The bar can be pricey so make use of the happy hour. Cocktails were fantastic. To conclude, I would certainly recommend this hotel to others and have done since. The Anantara resorts across Thailand really do standout and I cannot wait to return to Thailand to check out their other resorts.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The hotel is excellent in all aspects, Rooms are spacious, Service is efficient & courteous, Food is excellent especially the buffet.
Well connected to the city and the Concierge is helpful - will do all your bookings for show tickets and travel arrangements.

Room Tip: Take the two bedroom apartment type room with sitting, dining and kitchenette Great for a family of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Royal
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

With so many options of where to stay in Bangkok i think we were really lucky to have picked this one. Everything was great from the minute we stepped out of the taxi till we left. The room was huge with views of the skyline of Bangkok so no need to waste money going to a skyline bar. The beds are big and comfortable with lovely linen. There is absolutely nothing to find fault with this hotel. We had a great 4 nights here.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed at the Anantara Bangkok Sathorn for a recent 3 night getaway with our kids. We upgraded and did the Kasara package which was a great option firstly for a great view of the Bangkok skyline but also an option for those in between meals of where a quick drink and meal with the kids might have been a good option after a long day being a tourist. Bangkok has a huge amount to offer and the staff on Concierge and Drivers were fantastic. They had great advice and ideas and were more than happy to assist. We ended up getting a driver for 4 hours to take us around the sites and he was fabulous. It is a great way to be ferried around without the hassle and it is really not that expensive. Overall great option. If stuck for ideas for something different in Bangkok check out Spice Road bike tours. We did a half day with the kids (youngest 8) and it was great.

Word of Note though. There are 3 Anantara hotels in Bangkok and we ended up booking this one when perhaps we had been advised the Anantara Bangkok Riverside was a great option but we didn't know there were 3 hotels to chose from - we booked in haste clearly. Anyway we stayed at the Sathorn and it was excellent but make sure you check.

Room Tip: Kasara Option - for a little more you get the option of the club lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Anantara Bangkok Sathorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Bangkok Sathorn

Address: 36 Narathiwart-Ratchanakarin Road | Yannawa, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#79 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#85 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#136 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Anantara Bangkok Sathorn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Bangkok, moments from the city’s business and shopping hubs, Anantara Bangkok Sathorn offers the perfect urban sanctuary. Unwind in the seclusion of the hotel’s fastidious designer surroundings. Explore the city’s most vibrant, traditional and contemporary areas. Replenish with a host of world class services and facilities. Anantara Bangkok Sathorn makes the most of its fantastic location with incredible panoramic views across the city, courtesy of floor-to-ceiling glass windows in each well appointed room and suite. Matched with the hotel’s unrivaled services and facilities, Anantara Bangkok Sathorn becomes the capital’s ultimate retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Anantara Bangkok Sathorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Bangkok Sathorn Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anantara Bangkok Sathorn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.