We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No regrets!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bangkok Loft Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Bangkok Loft Inn to your Saves list
Bangkok Loft Inn
55 Somdet Phra Chao Taksin Rd. | Bangyeerua, Thonburi, Bangkok 10600, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 766 Hotels in Bangkok
Caloundra, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“No regrets!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Over the past few years we have stayed at Bangkok Loft Inn on 2 occasions. We heartily endorse all the good things set out in previous reviews. Most comments related to position – good and bad!
We were in Bangkok recently and I ventured one morning to revisit this old haunt.
My wife didn’t like the walk home from Wongwian Yai BTS station in the heat of the afternoon sun, after a full day in the city proper. This explains why we elected to stay in BangRak, Riverside area recently. Ever so sorry Pat, Bob and Co of BKI, but she must be obeyed.
HERE’S THE GOOD NEWS, there is now an 8 metre wide, covered walkway which connects the station above street level to Taksin Intersection. Once there, (its signposted), its down a set of stairs on the right to the road where BKI is located some 200 metres further along the footpath (which I liken to an obstacle course in one part). Also, taking the overhead walkway takes the hazards form the very busy traffic at this very busy intersection, so getting to the wonderful seafood restaurant across from BKI is a breeze now. Try their Steamed Mud Crab @ about 450 Baht.

I sincerely hope this review helps when it comes to deciding whether to stay there. It has our recommend.

Room Tip: When booking request a upper level room at the rear, away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    736
    304
    42
    5
    6
See reviews for
112
577
127
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Nice budget hotel with friendly staff. All personal doesn't speak or understand basic English but an effort is made to help you out with any question you might have. (at least one lady with huge smile and very friendly makes your stay worth it) Included breakfast is a good deal with enough choice to vary if longer stay. Very small rooms but still nicely furnished. Cleaning team might surprise you if you have the habit to make an afternoon nap (2 - 3 pm) and doens t like to be remembered to clean the room. Very strict non smoking policy even if you smoke outside your window but still remaining in room. A pity internet (free) connexion is really BAD (alot of interruptions and just good enough to retrieve mail) Full of attentions but not allways well sheduled (received birthday cake day after the birthday) so still appreciated the gesture . Stayed 9 nights and don t regret it but might look for other solution due to several little disappointments. Well located for skytrain even better now then two years ago with new walkingbridge. Rather busy and noisy road in front of hotel but if your room is located the small behind roadside you are fairly happy. Big plus a free transfer to or from airport if you stay at least three nights. All over a correct stay for a very nice price which makes the journey worth it.

Room Tip: ask for twin bed room who is quiet (not main road)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

This was a great hotel for a whole host of reasons...

The staff were very friendly and assisted us with a number of things (such as booking travel etc.), the place was very clean and tidy and the breakfast was superb too.

The only problem is the location. Yes there is the Skytrain only a short walk away, but apart from that you have to walk a fair distance along the road to get to any decent shops.

That being said, if you're wanting to experience more of the 'real' Bangkok then this area is pretty good for that as there's hardly any tourists around at all. There's a nice coffee shop nearby (left out of the hotel, next left and walk a short distance), there's an absolutely amazing food court over the road from the hotel which serves amazing food until the small hours and was really cheap too.

Overall, if you fancy somewhere where you want to just sit outside the main doors with a few beers watching the world go by whilst talking to other hotelliers or the comical security guy, this place will suit you. It is a bit of something different and as mentioned, if you want to head to the tourist areas, the Skytrain is just two minutes to the left out of the hotels main doors.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Spent three nights here recently and we were really pleased with the quality of the hotel.

Without repeating other entries we enjoyed a good breakfast, complimentary fruit on arrival and used their good value laundry service.

Our only negatives would be that it really is quite far out of central Bangkok. The transport links are good and we did know the location when we booked but it's worth being aware that it probably takes around 1 hour to get from the centre to the hotel. We had a night bicycle tour booked and realised that we'd have to head back mid afternoon to ensure we arrived at the tour on time.

The only other thing to be aware of is that whilst we were there the wifi was dreadful. We weren't able to load simple pages online. A solution however is the excellent Good Luck cafe nearby which has the fastest wifi we've found in Asia yet (about 5MB!). We can also recommend the breakfasts and iced coffees.

A good hotel but doubt we'd stay again if we only had a short time in Bangkok based solely on location.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We booked this hotel to be away from the protests that were going on in Bangkok and because of its proximity to the Skytrain. The hotel itself is great with good breakfasts, nice amenities, super friendly staff and clean rooms. The wifi is spotty, but okay. The main problem with this place is its location which is in an area of Bangkok with little to do and lots of very noisy traffic. It's really necessary to get on the Skytrain if you want to go anywhere and the walk to the station is very noisy with a major, heavily-trafficked road right there. Still, the people, the breakfasts and the lovely rooms make this an option if you don't mind the noisy street in front.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argentina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Clean, a little far from the centre but near a Skytrain station. Friendly hosts and an excellent breakfast make this hotel a very smart choice. Free drinking water, fruits on reception desk, nice rooms. I totally recommend it.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Since we were staying here during the protests I thought it was the perfect location, well away from all the protest sites but the city was still easily accessible via the sky train, the nearest station being a five minute walk away, and one can be at the Siam Square area within 15 minutes. A taxi ride to the Khao San Road area was well under 100 baht, on a week night. There are local street restaurants right across the street, and a department store and grocery store, along with some more Western-style chain restaurants, about a 10 minute walk away. There are some small, very non-touristy markets close by, if you choose to explore the neighborhood. The room was clean and basic; we weren't able to get hot water at the sink, and the faucet was kind of loose. The staff are helpful and friendly, though don't expect fluency in English. The breakfast is simple, you choose the night before, either Thai or American style, supplemented by a buffet of fruit, yogurt, breads.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bangkok Loft Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bangkok Loft Inn

Address: 55 Somdet Phra Chao Taksin Rd. | Bangyeerua, Thonburi, Bangkok 10600, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
#47 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#90 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bangkok Loft Inn is the city’s newest luxurious boutique sanctuary, which is newly opened in October 25, 2009. The hotel is just a stone’s throw from the BTS Skytrain station so most of the city’s prime landmarks and the Sathorn, Silom and Sukhumvit business districts are right on your doorstep. Also, guests will enjoy easy access to all parts of the city, whether they choose to navigate by road or rail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Bangkok Loft Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bangkok Loft Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bangkok Loft Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.