We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bangkok Loft Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Bangkok Loft Inn to your Saves list
Bangkok Loft Inn
55 Somdet Phra Chao Taksin Rd. | Bangyeerua, Thonburi, Bangkok 10600, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 766 Hotels in Bangkok
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The best thing about the Bangkok Loft Inn was that all the good things we had read about it were absolutely true! From arrival to departure, the staff were courteous, reliable and efficient. The double room was fantastic with a huge bed. Our room faced the back of the building and was very quiet. There was an excellent choice for breakfast and friendly service. On our first full day we got a tuk-tuk as far as the Grand Palace, after receiving helpful advice as to how much to pay. The Sky Train does not take you to everywhere you need to see, but getting a tuk-tuk is so simple, although getting back to the hotel involved showing the driver a map of where the hotel is situated. One useful recommendation they gave us was a new night market called Asiatique The Riverfront, which involved getting the Sky Train 2 stops to the Taksin Bridge and a free ferry down the river.
Altogether this was an excellent place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    736
    304
    42
    5
    6
See reviews for
112
577
127
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sousse
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed at the Bangkok Loft Inn for 11 days in March 2013,at the end of a 5 weeks holiday in Malaysia and Thailand.We booked with Agoda and chose it because we had already stayed in other areas of Bangkok on other visits(Lumpini,Khao San,Pratunam,Sukumvit x 2 etc) so we thought this would be a new area to discover and hey!Thonburi is advertised as the Venice of the East and the pollution is less this side of the river,etc.??Or so we thought.!

We had good contact with 'Rin' by email beforehand.The accommodation offers a free pick up taxi transfer one way from Suvannabhumi aiport if you stay more than 3 days.
However Airasia, which is the main low-cost airline in the region NOW flies into Don Muang airport.Perhaps their offer should apply to BOTH airports,seeing as a lot of the trade will now be coming into Don Muang.??
Anyway,as we were departing from Suvannabhumi airport it was agreed that the return transfer would be free,under their scheme,and the pick up at Don Muang on arrival we would pay for(500TB) We decided to book these transfers as we thought there might be difficulty in taxis finding the place.We would not even dream of doing public transport with a big suitcase and a roller.(Are people mad,?)
The plane was scheduled to arrive at 13.30,according to our paperwork;but this was incorrect.It actually arrived at 13.00.We were at the appointed new place(gate 6) at 13.30(baggage and immigration were quick) but there was no driver waiting for us.We rang the hotel,and the driver appeared 5 minutes later.(Airasia's fault perhaps,not his?).It took us exactly 1 hour to get to the hotel,with a nice clean ride.
The first shock was to find the BLI is situated on an 8 lane autoroute with 24 hour traffic!
Their website neglects to mention this and other reviews don't exactly spell it out either.(So much for choosing Thonburi!) The area is a big suburb of Bangkok,with major roads and no cultural interests that we could walk to,and none of the conveniences of a tourist-oriented area.
The other major problem was the lack of anywhere to eat in the evening.The hotel does not have a 'restaurant' AND 'terrace restaurant',both of which are advertised on their website.It has a breakfast room where only breakfast is served,with no adjoining kitchen judging by the way the used crockery had to be stacked on a table on the terrace.Apart from being vegetarian,we would have had difficulty eating locally even if we weren't. Another tripadvisor review said there was a food court nearby.There isn't.
There is a 7/11 shop within walking distance but this only sells snacks,drinks,etc;The stalls of Thai food opposite meant you had to stand (and didn't look very salubrious),the newish little restaurant near to the hotel appears to be run as a hobby,as they had no menu but said they could do spaghetti(tiny portion) and salad which cost us 140TB.(expensive by Thai standards) No other choice offered.
There was a street cafe with tables on the pavement which served good value fish and chips and fried chicken and steaks.We ate there 3 times out of desperation (but it was a very limited menu,all fried,and non vegetarian)There is a Robinsons store a 15 minute walk away and presumed there would be a Food Court there(as in the Sukumvit 16 Robinson)but no!They had an Oishi Ramen outlet(Japanese noodles etc..ate there once), a Swensens(just ice cream) and a MK which features cooking your own meal in a steam boat(meat orientated)a KFC and a Donut place.
So this really had a negative effect on our stay at the Bangkok loft Inn,and the first time we have come across an eating problem in our hotel area in Thailand.Usually you are spoilt for choice.After a tiring day sightseeing,you hope to find some place that you can eat reasonably cheaply within close proximity of your accommodation that doesn't involve a 10 minute walk to the Skytrain station and the 20 minutes to get into town and look for a place+the return journey.

The hotel itself is 3 years old and is family run.The Reception is open 24 hours a day.The reception staff were a mixed bunch,however a lady called Pat was outstanding in being pleasant ALL the time,greeting you when you came in and out,and really giving you the impression she cared.Each day I read the Bangkok Post newspaper in reception,which was well airconditioned and contained 3 sets of chairs and tables,plus very clean toilets if you needed them,and a fridge offering drinks at very reasonable prices. There was a jar of free sweets on the table and you could have a free banana and longan as you passed by Reception.(Nice touch) I enjoyed people watching and it would appear that 3 days seemed to be the average length of stay?

There is also a 'business centre' on the mezzanine floor(free use of PC's and free wifi) plus a bookcase of books and some easy chairs.
The breakfast was also on this floor and the room was air conditioned and run by a delightful lady called 'Pear'.She was an absolute sweetheart,greeting every guest with a cheerful 'Morning' and serving the main course(which you had to order the night before) as well as keeping the breakfast buffet tidy.The breakfast was very good!Cereals,a fridge of yogurts from which to help yourself,bread to toast ,pastries and Thai special desserts,fruit juice, coffee, tea, chocolate,fresh fruit(and twice I was lucky enough to snag the mango and sticky rice option!)+ whatever main course you had ordered.There were Asian breakfast options,full American choices,as well as three different salads for vegetarians(hurrah!) and eggs in various shapes and forms.The breakfast room had a small terrace with a table and chairs and plants which made the place more scenic,and also allowed smokers to smoke outside!!

Our Room 310
The room was clean and the linen changed daily.We asked for 2 extra pillows and 20 more hangers,and they came up straight away.There is an empty fridge which you can stock yourself,or buy from the big fridge downstairs(at more or less supermarket prices),Although there is a cupboard with sliding doors for hanging things there is only one shelf in the room(high up above the hanging space)There is a flat screen TV and safe in the room as well as coffee and tea making facilities.Free wifi reached the room. The bed was a double with firmer than expected mattress. There was also a 2-seater couch, nets and blackout curtains at the window.The bathroom had shower cabin, toilet, washbasin,big mirror and was very well lit.There is bedside lighting if you want to read in bed,as well as pictures on the wall and a big mirror over the desk+ hair dryer.
We had asked for a room at the back which was fortunate after the surprise of the main road at the front of the property.We had a view of a little lane at the back.Room 310.It at the end of the corridor so we didn't have the noise from people getting out of the lift and walking by,but you could hear a throb,which was apparently the airconditioning units from the bank next door.(Reception said you would only hear it during the day!)

The night 'porter' had a lovely sense of humour and was helpful with luggage etc.
Reception would flag down a taxi for you,and could answer a lot of questions.

The hotel was fine for what it was,but their website needs to be corrected re restaurant facilities, and the room service mentioned does not involve food...just drinks.There is no food available in the BLI except breakfast!
The laundry tariffs were the same as the big 4 star(and I mean 4 star) Centara Duang Tawan in Chiang Mai. Prices10-40 TB depending on the item.Having been used to same- day laundry for 30TB a kilo,which included ironing,in other parts of Thailand,we decided to wash our clothes ourselves.A hook in the shower cubicle allowed for initial dripping,and then we put the hanger outside the window on the small balcony where the A/C unit was.Dried in a day usually.
Air con unit was remote controlled and thankfully was not aimed at the bed.
The taxi transfer organised by the BLI for the departure arrived nice and early and was clean and a pleasant ride at night through the heart of Bangkok.The driver helped us with our luggage and wasn't angling for a tip as well.

Summary.This is a clean,safe,excellently priced accommodation with helpful staff and a good breakfast.However eating in the area can be a problem,and the main road at the front needs taking into consideration.I would give it 5 stars if it was situated in a more-tourist orientated area,or had it's own restaurant serving evening food!!
There is a covered roof top to the property....this would make an ideal 'food court '/restaurant for residents if the hotel decided to go one step further and fit a kitchen and serve cheap Thai food.But without that consideration I would unfortunately not return to this area.
Thanks to Pat and Pear for their lovely characters and the pleasant conversations!!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back quieter and view a lane(even numbers.) Rooms near the lifts can get a lot of traf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The hotel arranged for the airport pick up. We were welcomed with a drink. The rooms were clean. The service was prompt and friendly. The hotel is on a main thoroughfare so taxis and tuk-tuks can be hailed easily. Infact the staff will help you hail down a taxi. The hotel has a metro station within 5 mins walking distance. There are street food options within a 5 min walking distance for those who want to sample local food. We certainly did and enjoyed it. The only point that we were not happy about was that the hotel could not accommodate an early check for even one room even though we had four rooms booked. Overall pleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Our 3 day stay at the Bangkok Loft Inn was a wonderful experience.They picked us up at the airport & greeted us with a very welcome cold drink.Rooms were lovely & clean & the breakfast was great.Round the corner from a Skytrain station which was only 2 stops from the river.Don't know how they do it for the price! Not 4* but would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

My boyfriend and I loved our stay at the Bangkok Loft Inn and would definitely return. The hotel is located within walking distance of the Sky train. The rooms are very nice and comfortable. I would recommend to anyone.
The staff are incredibly helpful and friendly. Very clean and very nice hotel, perfect for our needs as we wanted somewhere centrally located so we could explore the great city.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

when we first arrived here, I was a teeny bit underwhelmed. I think this was because last time I stayed in Bangkok it was 4/5 star all the way. on a much tighter budget this time, the loft inn seemed rather basic. and it is (and a little bit shabby in places), but the staff were amazing start to finish, everything was spotlessly clean, the bed was really comfy, the breakfast options were pretty good and for me, the location was perfect. so easy to use the skytrain from here to zip around this manic city.
i'm a big Bangkok fan and I very much liked this hotel. would recommend and will stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Pros: Spotlessly clean throughout, large rooms with all mod cons, close to sky train, business centre.

Cons: Only one wifi user per room, sometimes unfriendly and abrupt staff, quite far out of main areas.

Basically this hotel is excellent in practically every area. The rooms are large, clean and have all the necessary amenities. It is located very close to the sky train (takes around 20-25 mins to walk and get train into central)

The only criticism - of the hotel itself - was that they only allow one wifi user per room. I realise that Internet is not the be all and end all but one user per room, really???? We asked if we could both have another password but they just said business centre.........end of conversation.

What let it down slightly for us was the service. We booked well in advance and had arranged an airport pickup which was confirmed over several separate emails. We were instructed to go to a soecific exit and look for our name card. When we arrived at the airport there was no one to pick us up. I rang the hotel and after spelling out my name multiple times they shouted down the phone that I had not replied to an email.

I must have been wrong to assume that the CONFIRMATION email that I had received and printed out was enough. Apparently they had sent me an email a couple of days before our arrival to confirm our airport pickup. Unfortunately we were in Vietnam with no Internet connection so we could not possibly have read it and replied.

When we arrived at the hotel via taxi (cheaper than they quoted anyway if you don't take the toll road) we were not given any apology, instead they thrust the chip and pin machine under my nose in order for me to pay.

At other times during our stay we found the staff to be rather abrupt and sometimes quite rude. This was not always the case though so it must depend on who you get or what you're asking for.

All in all, a lovely hotel which was clean and spacious. Unfortunately the service was not as good as it could/should have been

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bangkok Loft Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bangkok Loft Inn

Address: 55 Somdet Phra Chao Taksin Rd. | Bangyeerua, Thonburi, Bangkok 10600, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
#47 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#92 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bangkok Loft Inn is the city’s newest luxurious boutique sanctuary, which is newly opened in October 25, 2009. The hotel is just a stone’s throw from the BTS Skytrain station so most of the city’s prime landmarks and the Sathorn, Silom and Sukhumvit business districts are right on your doorstep. Also, guests will enjoy easy access to all parts of the city, whether they choose to navigate by road or rail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Bangkok Loft Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bangkok Loft Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bangkok Loft Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.