We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick drink in the clouds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Sky

Red Sky
999/99 Rama 1 Road | 55th Floor, Centara Grand at CentralWorld, Bangkok 10330, Thailand (Siam)
6621006255
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #99 of 9,493 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $56 - $112
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Siam
Description: It's the perfect location to celebrate life's happy moment. Fifty-five storeys above the bustle of central Bangkok. It's the one of the city's top dining destinations, serve up jaw-dropping panoramic vistas, an inspired menu, and a remarkable well-balance wine list. So what better place than Red Sky to impress an out-of-town guest, celebrate the closure of a business deal, or even pop the question? With its spectacular setting, outstanding food, and jazzy music it is the perfect formula for a great night out. Happy hour at the bar is daily from 4PM-6PM.
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quick drink in the clouds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

On my last night in BKK I've decided to have a drink in this rooftop bar (drink is 10€). I came there around 10pm so the views were not so pretty as when sundusk but still the feel was ok. Sat at the bar and ordered caipirinha. The wind blew, music in the backgroud played, the colours of neons changed smoothly. Dress code was not strict - smart casual is fine. The staff was great. Next time I would go up the stairs and chillout on big pillows with cold drink.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lukas1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGCW, Manager at Red Sky, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor Reviewer,
We are happy that you are happy. Looking forward to welcoming you back next time.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Western Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Better views to be had up at the Red Sky Bar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We ate here to make our last night in Bangkok a romantic one. The views were beautiful, although disappointed at how the seating is arranged. One of you has to have your back to the view. It is a shame the tables are not positioned sideways so that both can take advantage of the view. The service was excellent and the food was absolutely delicious. Dress code was quite lax with people arriving in running shoes and shorts. On a previous visit we had eaten at the Vertigo Restaurant in the Banyan Tree Hotel. I definitely preferred the Vertigo for the seating arrangements, view, dress code and the pricing. Had we realised that we could have just gone to the Red Sky Bar to have a drink and have a far better position to see the view we would have done just that.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank patti6281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGCW, Manager at Red Sky, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear tripadvisor Reviewer,

It's good to hear from you and to know that you have enjoyed your Centara experience. We are always pleased to receive feedback from our guests, and we thank you sincerely for letting us know.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“When you need the wind in your hair!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

On most nights Bangkok can be sultry and rather stifling. The Red Sky Bar however offers some respite as it does some 57 floors up ensuring a breeze in sometimes quite a strong one. Though there is a restaurant the main pull is the bar split on two levels. With the day-glo lighting and neon its not the the subtle of venues but certainly one that ensures stunning vistas. Sadly as with many other places it closes at 1am which is just about when you want to stay. The drinks are not too expensive and my dirty martini was not too bad. Staff are friendly, and help you to a seat. However, the bar is looking like it needs a spruce up. If you stay at the Kempinski as I did, the buggy will take you to the centera and back, but there are plenty of taxis on hand to take you to your next destination.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGCW, Manager at Red Sky, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission. We are always pleased to receive feedback from our guests, and we thank you sincerely for letting us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very expensive, poor food and no atmosphere”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

Sorry to say another poor roof top restaurant with hoards of staff, fancy lighting and jazz bands that attach a massively inflated price tag to poor dishes in a place with zero atmosphere. Over 100GBP fro a meal which was a main course and a few nonalcoholic drinks. Shocking.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ayesha l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGCW, Resident Manager at Red Sky, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor Reviewer,

We thank you for your comments dated 13 May 2013. At Red Sky Restaurant, we position ourselfs in line with other rooftop restaurants in Bangkok and we are sorry that you feel the prices are inflated. Our resident live jazz trio along with the spectacular 360 degree views over Bangkok skyline located on the 55th floor is extremely popular and very well-reviewed. And again we are sorry that you felt the atmosphere didn't meet your expectation.

Kind Regards,
J.K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, England
Level Contributor
128 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Best Rooftop bar, Happy Hour, Relaxed, Great views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

On a recent trip to Bangkok my husband and I visited both Redsky bar on the 55th floor of the Centara Centralworld hotel, and also the Sky Bar on the 63th floor of the Lebua State hotel (Famous due to the Hangover 2 Movie). Overall we actually preferred this bar at the Centara due to the less crowds, relaxed atmosphere and cheaper prices.

Located in the central shopping district of Bangkok we arrived just after 5pm when the bar opened. There is a happy hour between 5-7pm where you get the second same drink for free. Although they do not offer cocktails as part of this deal we found the drinks to be good value for the location and views. My husband had a Gin & Tonic which was B300 (around £6.50) but for this he got 2 drinks as the second was free. I only had a fresh coconut juice which was B180 (around £4), but the same offer applied.

We sat here on the chilled out sofa's for over 2 hours enjoying the sunset views. The service was good and the furniture is a little worn but this doesnt matter. We didnt find it crowded at all but nearer to 7pm more people started to arrive so it is recommended to visit early to get a good spot. Please note that at the Skybar at Lebua State tower, there are no seats for guests having a drink. We visited the Lebua the second night and found it very expensive and full of tourists, we also felt extremely rused in comparison to the Centara where we were left to relax.

Overall, the views are more spectacular at the Lebua as it overlooks the river but this hotel rooftop bar was perfect for us all round and to be honest we will return here on our next visit to Bangkok.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sazkebab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGCW, Manager at Red Sky, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant.
Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission.
We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Sky also viewed

 

Been to Red Sky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing