We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick drink in the clouds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Sky

Red Sky
999/99 Rama 1 Road | 55th Floor, Centara Grand at CentralWorld, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
+6621001234
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #273 of 7,883 Restaurants in Bangkok
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Private Dining
Description: Great innovative bistro dishes and wine on top of the world. Chic, urban bistro dining and lounging with breathtaking alfresco vistas located in the heart of Bangkok. Happy hour is daily from 5PM-7PM. Live jazz is played nightly from 7.15PM-11.30PM.
Krakow, Poland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Quick drink in the clouds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

On my last night in BKK I've decided to have a drink in this rooftop bar (drink is 10€). I came there around 10pm so the views were not so pretty as when sundusk but still the feel was ok. Sat at the bar and ordered caipirinha. The wind blew, music in the backgroud played, the colours of neons changed smoothly. Dress code was not strict - smart casual is fine. The staff was great. Next time I would go up the stairs and chillout on big pillows with cold drink.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGCW, Manager at Red Sky, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor Reviewer,
We are happy that you are happy. Looking forward to welcoming you back next time.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    98
    86
    32
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Western Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Better views to be had up at the Red Sky Bar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We ate here to make our last night in Bangkok a romantic one. The views were beautiful, although disappointed at how the seating is arranged. One of you has to have your back to the view. It is a shame the tables are not positioned sideways so that both can take advantage of the view. The service was excellent and the food was absolutely delicious. Dress code was quite lax with people arriving in running shoes and shorts. On a previous visit we had eaten at the Vertigo Restaurant in the Banyan Tree Hotel. I definitely preferred the Vertigo for the seating arrangements, view, dress code and the pricing. Had we realised that we could have just gone to the Red Sky Bar to have a drink and have a far better position to see the view we would have done just that.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGCW, Manager at Red Sky, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear tripadvisor Reviewer,

It's good to hear from you and to know that you have enjoyed your Centara experience. We are always pleased to receive feedback from our guests, and we thank you sincerely for letting us know.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“When you need the wind in your hair!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

On most nights Bangkok can be sultry and rather stifling. The Red Sky Bar however offers some respite as it does some 57 floors up ensuring a breeze in sometimes quite a strong one. Though there is a restaurant the main pull is the bar split on two levels. With the day-glo lighting and neon its not the the subtle of venues but certainly one that ensures stunning vistas. Sadly as with many other places it closes at 1am which is just about when you want to stay. The drinks are not too expensive and my dirty martini was not too bad. Staff are friendly, and help you to a seat. However, the bar is looking like it needs a spruce up. If you stay at the Kempinski as I did, the buggy will take you to the centera and back, but there are plenty of taxis on hand to take you to your next destination.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGCW, Manager at Red Sky, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission. We are always pleased to receive feedback from our guests, and we thank you sincerely for letting us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very expensive, poor food and no atmosphere”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

Sorry to say another poor roof top restaurant with hoards of staff, fancy lighting and jazz bands that attach a massively inflated price tag to poor dishes in a place with zero atmosphere. Over 100GBP fro a meal which was a main course and a few nonalcoholic drinks. Shocking.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGCW, Resident Manager at Red Sky, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor Reviewer,

We thank you for your comments dated 13 May 2013. At Red Sky Restaurant, we position ourselfs in line with other rooftop restaurants in Bangkok and we are sorry that you feel the prices are inflated. Our resident live jazz trio along with the spectacular 360 degree views over Bangkok skyline located on the 55th floor is extremely popular and very well-reviewed. And again we are sorry that you felt the atmosphere didn't meet your expectation.

Kind Regards,
J.K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, England
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Best Rooftop bar, Happy Hour, Relaxed, Great views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

On a recent trip to Bangkok my husband and I visited both Redsky bar on the 55th floor of the Centara Centralworld hotel, and also the Sky Bar on the 63th floor of the Lebua State hotel (Famous due to the Hangover 2 Movie). Overall we actually preferred this bar at the Centara due to the less crowds, relaxed atmosphere and cheaper prices.

Located in the central shopping district of Bangkok we arrived just after 5pm when the bar opened. There is a happy hour between 5-7pm where you get the second same drink for free. Although they do not offer cocktails as part of this deal we found the drinks to be good value for the location and views. My husband had a Gin & Tonic which was B300 (around £6.50) but for this he got 2 drinks as the second was free. I only had a fresh coconut juice which was B180 (around £4), but the same offer applied.

We sat here on the chilled out sofa's for over 2 hours enjoying the sunset views. The service was good and the furniture is a little worn but this doesnt matter. We didnt find it crowded at all but nearer to 7pm more people started to arrive so it is recommended to visit early to get a good spot. Please note that at the Skybar at Lebua State tower, there are no seats for guests having a drink. We visited the Lebua the second night and found it very expensive and full of tourists, we also felt extremely rused in comparison to the Centara where we were left to relax.

Overall, the views are more spectacular at the Lebua as it overlooks the river but this hotel rooftop bar was perfect for us all round and to be honest we will return here on our next visit to Bangkok.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGCW, Manager at Red Sky, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant.
Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission.
We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Sky also viewed

 

Been to Red Sky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Sky, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.