We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel! We'll be back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salil Hotel Sukhumvit - Soi Thonglor 1

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Salil Hotel Sukhumvit - Soi Thonglor 1 to your Saves list
Salil Hotel Sukhumvit - Soi Thonglor 1
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   44/14-17 Sukhumvit 53, Sukhumvit Rd., Klongton Nua | Paidee-Madee, Bangkok 10110, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #185 of 766 Hotels in Bangkok
San Francisco
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great hotel! We'll be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

There are many nice restaurants and cafes in the area worth visiting!

we found the hotel extremely good value and well designed for a hotel of its size.

- The rooms are very clean and well designed and include extra features such as DVD player, bath tub and balcony

- Staff offer very good service and are very helpful and the restaurant where breakfast is served daily is quiet and serve a basic menu but is quite adequate for the price.

- Shuttle Tuk Tuk to BTS Thonglor station which is only a 5 minute walk away

- The hotel is very peaceful located at the end of a small Soi (lane) which is great and helps to create a tranquil environment

- The housekeeping staff do an amazing job in this hotel and every day you can return from the hot steamy Bangkok streets to a clean room and bathroom.

- Another bonus is air con is quiet and works very well and also plenty of water pressure and decent lighting throughout the room.

Have to give this hotel a 5 out of 5 well done Salil, we'll be back!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    93
    44
    21
    9
See reviews for
35
72
63
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

The best of this hotel is the location, price & beautiful room, what else would you expect! Overall it's a ideal hotel to stay at with easy access of BTS & taxi very near by.
The only problem is with the Restuarant/room service staffs, very lousy & unprofessonal. However, the manager, Wa was great. Speaks excellent english, very professonal & she's hot ! . I really have to thank her for fixing the problems right away.

Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

i was staying there during last few weeks, fiund a great firendly staff who can help me out when i need information of flooding sutiation in Bangkok, room is cleaned as well as swimming pool. Fortunately, the hotel is closed to BTS whihc i can travel along through CBD area. i wish for another time to stay in Bangkok and i will choose this hotel as i was feel like "Home sweet Home".

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

This is the closest hotel to Thong Lor BTS (Sky Train). only 2-3 min walk. if you never been to Bangkok, Thong Lor is one of the best locations, awesome trendy new bars and restaurants nearby.

Secondly this hotel is an absolute bargain for what you pay for. its free WiFi, the bed and rooms are extremely clean, which is an absolute must for me, the customer service always appear to bend over backwards to cater to my needs, the little cafe at the hotel has a nice outdoor setting and you can watch your kids play at the pool from there.

the pool is reasonable and large enough for a dip, but lets be honest, your in Bangkok, you hardly want to spend too much time in a hotel, you just want to come home to a clean room.

its Guest friendly and also family orientated. I have been to many Hotels in Bangkok, and for the price you pay, its an absolute steal.

I had an issue which was resolved by their Manager immediately with the friendly Thai smile and warmth. Though to be honest the Manager was drop dead gorgeous, which may have titled this opinion, the hotel must of taken a leaf out of Richard Branson's book. but the rest of the staff were jsut as helpful.

but a note, this hotel is very busy, so a little patience may be needed, but staff will endevour to serve you asap.

Room Tip: if you plan to have guests, ask for the 1st building by the cafe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

This hotel has a nice appearance - it is modern, clean and stylish. It is a 5 minute walk to the BTS station, it is in a quiet area and the breakfast was ok.

However, these are the only good parts....

When we arrived, it took them a long time to serve us and they didn't seem happy to do so. Then they told us they didn't have any double beds left (though we had made it clear we wanted this) and instead we got a twin room with no windows! It made it had to wake up in the morning - make sure you don't get a room like this if you stay there.

Despite all the advertising, the two tuk-tuks were 'out of order' and just sat out the front of the hotel. The staff hardly ever smiled and we had to ask several times for toilet paper and other bits for our room (as the daily cleaning was not always that good). Their internet connection is painfully slow and the staff then directed us to another internet cafe - that didn't exist!

They will hold your bags for you if needed though and make you a boxed breakfast if you need to go to a tour early in the morning. We found it ok - but would not return or recommend it. Avoid the restaurants out the front of the BTS too - they rip you off and are not very nice!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a window or balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

This hotel has so much potential but all ruined by the staffs working there. Check in at 3pm for 2 rooms took more than 30mins when there's no one there at all. They just can't seems to figure out all the check in voucher and rooms availability. Ask for 2 queen room and told to wait till evening but when we returned, only 1 queen room available. Was given a key card that doesn't work. TWICE! My friend checked in in the afternoon and had the same experience! When i check in to my only queen room (for the 3rd time), the bathtub water was still there uncleared (YUCKS) and aircond not working! Drag all my luggage again to front desk and was given another room. To be honest, I like the size of the room and the interior. The hotel looks quaint and pool though small, still pretty inviting. Breakfast not much variety but sufficient. Location is good if you're taking train most of the time. We took cab to Pratunam and due to the jam, It took us 90mins journey! Cost us min 100bt -200bt!
Thonglor area is good with restaurants, massages and nearby Emporium mall. Overall, it is a good hotel if you travel mostly by train. It's not as near to the train station, probably gotta walk like 15mins! Not a good choice if you intend to take cab to airport during peak hour. No taxi would wanna drive you there as it'll probably takes u 2 hr ride to airport due to the jam. Oh ya, while we were checking out, we saw a group of girls struggling the their check out. One nearly got a free night stay due to the staffs mistaken them for another customer. Good luck for those who intend to stay here.

Room Tip: Sukhumvit soi 38 got lotsa good hawker food. And if you intend to have massage at the Asian Herb ass...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

The personnel in Salil Hotel is friendly. The breakfast is fairly good. The location of the hotel It is good. It is just 5 to 10 minutes walk to the BTS train station.There are some good food around the areas and a nite food market just opposite the BTS that have some good food too. There are also some good clubbing place around Thonglor if you love clubbing. But their computer can only use till 10pm, hope that they can extent till 24hrs since there is someone at the reception to look after.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Salil Hotel Sukhumvit - Soi Thonglor 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salil Hotel Sukhumvit - Soi Thonglor 1

Address: 44/14-17 Sukhumvit 53, Sukhumvit Rd., Klongton Nua | Paidee-Madee, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #185 of 766 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Salil Hotel Sukhumvit - Soi Thonglor 1 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in serene area and only a 3-minute walk from Thonglor BTS station. The hotel provides easy access to the best in business, dining, shopping, leisure and entertainment. Salil Hotel combines the comforts of home, convenience with the facilities and services of a superior hotel, which is suitable for executive and leisure traveler wishing to have a quiet retreat in the heart of Bangkok. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Salil Hotel Sukhumvit - Soi Thonglor 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salil Hotel Sukhumvit - Soi Thonglor 1, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.