We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended for an early flight” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Cottage Suvarnabhumi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Cottage Suvarnabhumi to your Saves list
The Cottage Suvarnabhumi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   888/8 Latkrabang road | Suvarnabhumi International Airport, Bangkok 10520, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #305 of 764 Hotels in Bangkok
Issaquah, Washington
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Recommended for an early flight”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

We stayed at the Cottage Suvarnabhumi for one short night. We were disappointed when there was no one waiting for us at the airport as we had scheduled. We asked at a nearby deskabout the Cottage, and they said that this particular hotel was always late. But, when I called them on the payphone, they said someone was on their way; they arrived in about ten minutes. They ride to the hotel was only about 10 minutes. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. Our little room was clean and was just what we needed for a short 5-hour sleep before heading back to the airport. We left early in the morning, and the shuttle was prompt. This is not a hotel close to the sites in Bankok. But, I highly recommend it as an inexpensive, but cute and clean place to stay before heading out early to the airport.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    170
    91
    24
    16
See reviews for
58
158
58
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Okinawa, Japan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

When our taxi first brought us to the hotel, we weren't quite sure we were in the right place. It was down an alleyway and I guess we were thinking it would be a busier area being that it is close to the airport. There was a 24 hr. McDonald's down the street, an MK Restaurant (?) and a few other places to eat including an Italian restaurant within walking distance.

The hotel lobby is intimate and small, but there is a larger room to congregate on the right after you first walk in. The rooms were very small and probably most suitable for couples or single travelers. It was just big enough for me and two small children, but if my husband were with us, we would have been too crowded. The pool has some interesting bean bag type chairs, but the pool is much too deep for little ones to swim in so beware of promising the kids the pool if they are little. Outside the hotel, it was a 90° humid day, yet they had all the doors open, making the hallways and rooms unbearable. We had to turn on our air conditioning units and then leave for a while so the small rooms could cool down.

The rooms, themselves, were tastefully decorated with nice dark curtains and dark wood blinds...the furniture was kind of cheap-looking and everything did feel sort of college dorm-like. I couldn't put my finger on what it was. The very small TV only had a few English-speaking channels, including MTV. We were commenting that it was a mistake to put tile down in the hallways instead of carpet because the hallways echoed badly so you could hear every door opening and closing up and down the hallway. The bathrooms were nice, though, and they did have outlets that worked with American-style appliances. The whole "feel" of the hotel was an independently-managed place that was trying hard to match up to their big chain competitors and I do admire them for that.

The big problems came when it was time for bed that night. I pulled back the blanket and there were dark hairs everywhere. I went into the bathroom and they were on the floor in there, too. I don't want to immediately assume the hotel was "dirty" because there could have just been a housekeeper shedding as she cleaned...but we slept on top of the sheets, that night, just in case there was some oversight and our linen wasn't changed. I was too tired to complain. I just hope this isn't a regular occurrence. The air conditioner also blew straight down on one side of the bed, but missed the other side. As a result, one side of the bed was roasting hot and the other was freezing. If my flight was not so early, I would have sat up trying to figure out how the AC controls worked. There were people all drinking beer and shouting in the alleyway outside the hotel and this went on long into the night. I probably got about two hours of sleep before it was time to get up and catch our flight, but the bed was comfortable enough.

Another very important thing for those for whom security is most important - they operate with REAL keys for the rooms - not electronic cards to enter. This means that you must remember to manually lock your door every time you leave your room. It also means that I wouldn't leave any valuables in your room as those are locks easily picked. Maybe after the hotel gets more business, they will consider making this upgrade to make guests feel more safe and secure.

The shuttle van was really nice and seated about 10-11 people with plenty of room for luggage. It is awesome that they offer this for free and that is why we picked this hotel over some of the others. They were willing to take us to the airport at 6:30 a.m. to catch our flight. I've covered all the negatives and some of the positives, but the most positive thing I have to say was that the hotel staff was very friendly. There weren't any women on staff and I never really realized how much safer that makes you feel for some reason, but the men who did work there were very kind and helpful and check-in was quick and easy. They did make photocopies of our passports, which I thought was kind of strange, though. They didn't do this at other hotels we stayed at. For couples or single travelers on a budget, this is a great hotel to stay in, but if you were looking for someplace to stay for longer than a night or two, I would definitely splurge and go to one of the hotels closer to the action with more amenities and real locks on the doors. If I make the trip to Thailand, I would consider giving this hotel another chance because of the affordability and airport shuttle. I agree with previous reviewers who also think wifi should be free with the price of the rooms as it doesn't take massive resources to use.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linkoping, Sweden
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

Plus: A nice little shoppingmall with many restaurants about 7 minutes walk away.
Very nice helpful staff in reception.
Thats all.

Minus: No chairs in the room and no chairs in the balconies. (We got two woodenchairs when asking in reception. Nice try)
No chairs or sunbeds at pool, only some low "beanbags" to sit in. No poolbar.
No cocktailbar.
Only one soup and a few rice-dishes in restaurang. Absolutely nothing for farangs. You can not get wine, drinks or cocktails.
(No free use of computer)
Nothing in surroundings but the shoppingmall

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coombs
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2011

a 10 minute drive to the airport. clean, modern hotel. Resteraunt was very limited. Not much close by but you can walk to a little mall area , a 10 minute walk for pizza, mcdonalds etc. there was a pool but I got in too late. They charge for wifi and internet. The room is clean and they have a free shuttle to the airport.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2011

We just used this hotel for sleeping and freshening up after long flights, so we didn't check out the restaurant or the pool in this place. The place felt clean, and the pool looked very nice from the window.

At arrival the hotel shuttle was not at the airport, and i was nearly giving up on them when they showed up. They wanted to wait another 20 minutes for another guest (that never showed up). When we finally arrived at the hotel they could not find my booking, but after a little while they got it right.

After a shower i called the reception and asked them if they could get me a taxi, and the guy told us to come down 30 minutes later. When we came down with our luggage we were told to sit down as the taxi was not yet there.

Ater waiting for another 30 minutes i asked about the taxi and they said it would be there in 10 minutes. 10 minutes went by - no taxi. They said 5 minutes more - still no taxi. I was forced to go out on the street and get a taxi on my own, nobody lifted a finger to help.. Disappointing.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pistoia, Italy
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

I chose the hotel for its location near the airport due to an early flight.
Free shuttle to the airport can be arranged.
Friendly and helpfull staff good breakfast and meals.
Relaxing atmosphere.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

This is very basic stay. Which may be exactly what you are after. It was great for us. It is economical with ~1400THB, neat and clean and the staff is very friendly. Free airport transfer in a large new van. When you arrive at Suvarnabhumi Airport, you need to locate the area where all the airport transfers are, which is easy - close to the exits, just ask. Our one night stay was quiet. However, with hard floor and little soundproof you do rely on people behaving. All in all, if you want cheap, convenient, clean and neat stay, it is a great alternative.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cottage Suvarnabhumi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage Suvarnabhumi

Address: 888/8 Latkrabang road | Suvarnabhumi International Airport, Bangkok 10520, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cottage Suvarnabhumi 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a reasonable price and a relaxing place to stop over near the airport after a long flight or to catch an early morning flight? Or looking to stay away from the busy streets of Bangkok? If yes, then The Cottage Suvarnabhumi is your hotel of choice.The Cottage Suvarnabhumi is a brand new 3 stars airport hotel, located only 5 minutes from Suvarnabhumi International airport and only a few minutes away from Bangkok airport link in to downtown area. The Cottage Suvarnabhumi offers 96 rooms and 3 suites in a two low rise building designed in tropical modern style. All rooms and suites have their own balcony and 7 rooms have their own pool access. The swimming pool is situated in the heart of the land so most of the rooms have the view of the swimming pool and landscaped garden. Our guiding principles are to provide all our customers with excellent products and services by using the most convenient, secure, and efficient way possible.Location and near by attractions: Conveniently located within 5 minutes from Suvarnabhumi Airport and just a few minutes’ walk to The Paseo community mall with 42 outlets including 24 hours Tesco Lotus, MacDonald, Pizzeria, Hairdresser, Karaoke, Dental, Optical, and fashion zone.Date of Opening: March 2010 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Cottage Suvarnabhumi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cottage Suvarnabhumi Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cottage Suvarnabhumi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.