We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   518/8 Ploenchit Road | Lumpini, Bangkok 10330, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Year Anniversary Deal
Ranked #36 of 773 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Loved it! Checked in for three nights. Beautiful but quiet hotel even though it is located right in the middle of everything. It is just a short walk from the skytrain station.
Get access to the executive lounge. Breakfast is delicious and so varied. We ate so much we were full up till 3pm every day. We were given a king room and offered an upgrade to a suite the following am. We actually preferred the regular room to the suite as it felt more open and had a beautiful view since it was a corner room. So try to get a corner room if possible.
It took us by surprise that the bathroom had glass walls. yes, there are shades that come down :)
I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Corner room on high floor.
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkvanderWielen, Assistant Director of Rooms Operations at Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Frabika,

Thank you for staying with us and for your compliments about our hotel location, and our room.

We are happy to read that you have discovered something new in regards to your experiences at our Club Lounge and yes our hotel is centrally located that help you exploring Bangkok for the first time here.

We agree with the comment about the suite room that you occupied. The suites are located by the corner of each floor that allows our guests to enjoy the spacious stay and fantastic views of the city.


We hope that you will choose us again on your next visit to Bangkok and we really look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Thanida Pisarn
Assistant Director of Rooms Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,080
    422
    73
    21
    15
See reviews for
248
555
138
326
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

This is a lovely hotel located near a big mall and other "western" hotels. The mall has many, many restaurants inside. You go up to the 7th floor to find the restaurants. It is a short cab ride to the night market and other attractions. The concierge have a folding card with information on sites to consider and to share with your cab driver to communicate where you want to go and where you want to return to. The service was fabulous and the room was clean and well appointed. I wish I had had time to soak in the tub! Sadly our stay there was only one night. I will return to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkvanderWielen, Director of Operations at Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear JDPK,

Thank you for staying with us and for your compliments about our hotel location, our Navigator (concierge), the room, and our service.

We hope that you will spend more time with us when you travel to Bangkok next time. There are other facilities available for you to discover such as our Quan Spa, Swimming pool, and a choice of 3 fantastic restaurants.

Look forward to welcoming you back for a longer stay again soon,

Kind regards,

Blair Fowler
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

I spent 3 nights here with 3 friends in two suites. The hotel is located in a great location near shopping and the metro. For my fellow Americans there is a Starbucks and a McDonald's less than a 3 minutes walk. Check-in and departure were smooth.

If you are able to get concierge lounge access, I highly recommend it.

We did eat at the Italian restaurant one night, it could of easily fit into Las Vegas and was very reasonibley priced.

Room Tip: Treat yourself to a suite, they are a little more but completely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkvanderWielen, Director of Operations at Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear scherzva,

Thank you for staying with us recently and we are glad to know that you and your friends had a memorable stay with us. The hotel is centrally located and easily accessed to the major shopping malls in town. Also the BTS sky train that is just right in front of the hotel that ensure the convenience for our guests to connect to anywhere in Bangkok.

We agree with the comment about the suite room that you occupied. The suites are located by the corner of each floor that allows our guests to enjoy the spacious stay and fantastic views of the city.

We hope that you will try our hotel when you travel to Bangkok next time.

Until then, safe journey home.

Kind regards,

Blair Fowler
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Great service from an ever friendly, helpful staff. The room was very comfortable, clean and spacious with only a few very minor niggles that could easily be ignored (e.g. wardrobe light had a bad connection and flickered when one door was opened.) There were all the usual room fixtures and fittings you would expect to find in a Marriott property, which is always good to find.
The immediate surroundings once you walk out the main entrance are not great and it is a little way (50m/150ft) off of the main road, but these are of little consequence once you get there and no barrier to getting out and about.
The concierge lounge is very comfortable and offers an excellent selection of food at breakfast and in the evenings.
We will certainly be staying again on our next trip to Bangkok.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkvanderWielen, Director of Operations at Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Brian M,

Thank you for staying with us for your recent visit to Bangkok. We are pleased to read that you had an enjoyable time with us. We appreciate your comments about our staff service, the room, and the concierge lounge on the 21st floor.

Thank you for your feedback about the wardrobe light. Our team of Engineering ambassadors are on hand 24 hours a day to fix these issues should they occur and I hope that it did not inconvenience you too much.

We hope that you will choose us again on your next visit to Bangkok and we really look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Blair Fowler
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Breakfast buffet manager Chaiporn Sangsrijan is extremely helpful esp as I was in a wheelchair and he helped me immensely. All staff are very great at service... Spa is excellent,, great ambience...one of the best I have experienced in the world (although the service lift elevator entry needs serious cleaning and renovating)

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkvanderWielen, Director of Operations at Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear hb01142014e,

Thank you for staying with us and for the great compliments to our Flavors Manager, Khun Chaiporn and our ambassadors at the Renaissance Bangkok.

I am pleased to read about your great comments about our spa you experienced. We appreciate your constructive feedback about the cleanliness & condition around the service lift entry area and apologise that it was not up to our usual standard of cleanliness.

We hope that you will choose our hotel while you are in Bangkok next time.

Kind regards,

Blair Fowler
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

I've been at Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel last Christmas and I have to stay this hotel is amazing.
The rooms are big (I was in a standard on, so I guess the suites are huge), always clean and tidy.
There is a pretty big choice of good food in the hotel, as they have 3 amazing restaurants.
The "buffet" restaurant (which usually doesn't sound interesting to me) is absolutely AMAZING with a huge choice of international food.
The chinese restaurant is the n.1 in the city for the Chinese duck, make sure you guys don't miss it...and the italian restaurant will serve you real italian food (trust me..).
The staff was always very nice and helpful, the location is very good in the center of the city, also there is the train station of the sky train right in front of the hotel..very convenient.
Last thing but not least...there is an amazing pool, spa and gym in the mezzanine floor...go and enjoy it!
If I come back to Bangkok (I think so) I will definitively come back in this hotel.
Thanks Ross, Fabio and all the staff for the amazing welcome, see you guy soon!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkvanderWielen, Director of Operations at Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear filobraccs,

Thank you for staying with us during your Christmas break and for the compliments to our ambassadors.

We are glad to read you enjoyed the room and food from our 3 restaurants (Flavors, Fei Ya, & La Tavola), also the location of our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel for your next visit to Bangkok.

Kind regards,

Blair Fowler
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Upgraded to a suite for our anniv. The room was quiet and comfortable, if not plush. I took advantage of most of the amenities offered to Marriott Elite guests...the welcome drinks and massage, the pressing, etc., which made our stay very enjoyable.
The concierge lounge is superb. It offers amazing views whether you're there for breakfast, snacks, heavy hors d'oeuvres/ supper and/or cocktails. It puts every Marriott concierge lounge in the USA to shame. I preferred their lounge to some of the Ritz Carlton lounges I've experienced.
The location was superb. This was my first time in Bangkok, and I had no issue finding the hotel. This was the perfect base for exploring Bangkok.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkvanderWielen, Director of Operations at Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear MaxA00,

Thank you for staying with us and for the great comments about your stay. We trust that you had a wonderful celebration while staying with us. We are happy to read that you have discovered something new in regards to your experiences at our Club Lounge and yes our hotel is centrally located that help you exploring Bangkok for the first time here.

I hope you will stay with us next time you are in Bangkok, hopefully on your next anniversary!

Kind regards,

Blair Fowler
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel

Address: 518/8 Ploenchit Road | Lumpini, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#23 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#31 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#35 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel, guests are greeted by a 200 metre exotically landscaped driveway that leads them to our iconic blue glass building. Set back from the hustle and bustle, you're in Bangkok's most vibrant neighbourhood yet secluded in your very own oasis. The hotel is a stone's throw away from Central Chidlom, Central World and Siam Paragon, Bangkok's swankiest malls, and just around the corner from the Chit Lom BTS Station. โรงแรมเรเนซองส์ กรุงเทพฯ ราชประสงค์ยินดีต้อนรับคุณด้วยทางเข้าน้ำตกยาวกว่า 200 เมตรสู่ตัวโรงแรมซึ่งมีความเป็นเอกลักษณ์ด้วยตัวตึกสร้างด้วยกระจกสีน้ำเงิน ใจกลางย่านธุรกิจ และเป็นศูนย์รวมแหล่งช้อปปิ้ง ทั้งห้างสรรพสินค้าเซ็นทรัลชิดลม ห้างสรรพสินค้าเซ็นทรัลเวิลด์ สยามพารากอน และร้านค้าอื่นๆ อีกมากมาย เดินทางสะดวกสบายโดยรถไฟฟ้าบีทีเอสสถานีชิดลม ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Marriott so you can book your Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.