We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Modern Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   518 / 8 Ploenchit Road, Bangkok 10330, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free ABF & Late Check-out
Ranked #27 of 746 hotels in Bangkok
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very Nice Modern Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Decided to try this hotel after my usual locations were booked out and was pleasantly surprised. Hotel is quite new and so everything is still in excellent condition. The location of this hotel is also very convenient, next door to Amarin Plaza and Erawan Shrine, pretty much across the road from Gaysorn Plaza and Centralworld. Then a 10-20 minute walk to places like Siam Square, Siam Paragon, MBK, Platinum Fashion Mall, Panthip Plaza etc. So ideally located for shopping. It is also directly next to the Chidlom BTS Skytrain station.

The checkin staff were very efficient and helpful. The initial room I was given was not cooling down very well and there was no problem changing me to a cooler one. The rooms are very modern and nicely decorated and the beds extremely comfortable. The room was spacious and had plenty of sockets with built-in adaptors and a good desk area for work. Bathrooms are a good size and have a separate bath and shower.

Didn't get to use any of the other facilities such as the gym, pool or restaurants so cannot comment on these.

Would definitely stay again, one of the better hotels in Bangkok.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,105 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    758
    275
    48
    13
    11
See reviews for
170
399
92
217
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
College Station, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

From the time we walk in the lobby until we leave, our experience is always a big plus to our vacation. The staff is very kind. The rooms are large and relaxing. The hotel is very clean and well kept. I am a big gym rat...therefore the gym is a focus for me. It is large with plenty of cardio, weights, and well stocked with water. My only complaint is it was alittle warm in there, but I do go there to sweat. The staff in the gym is very helpful as well. Next to the gym is the pool with a great view of the city. Such a nice place to sit and relax.
The hotel is located right next to the train. So getting around is made easy! This hotel has everything to make a vacation simple,relaxing,and enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Bangkok has MANY hotels to choose from for a business traveler. Was not expecting much but the longer I stayed and explored the hotel, the more it grew on me. From the nicely furnished hotel bar with a BIG-SCREEN TV showing football (what else), to the rooftop swimming pool with a terrific city view, and the buffet breakfast, I think I have now found another "home away from home" in Bangkok.

Room Tip: Check out the swimming pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

my first experience in Bangkok was in January 2008 at the newly opened Courtyard by Marriott (excellent hotel).
Then I tryed the vary famous touristic area Khaosan/Banglampu but I was really very disappointed because it does not represent the Bangkok I love, being more "Octoberfest" than Thai way of life.
I tried also the Chao Phraya's hotels, may be the most famous in Bangkok, and South Satorn, the most elegant residential area, but Siam Square's area is definitely my preferred.
The Renaissance (a Marriott's brand) is perfectly located, and I spent a week there in 2010 during Christmas.
The hotel was opened only few months before, and it is simply my preferred hotel in Bangkok for many reasons: perfect service, good food, reasonable prices, a very "posh" swimpool at the 22nd floor, very comfortable club lounge and, last but not the least, it is attended by Thai people too creating a unique atmosphere.

Room Tip: executive lounge access
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Ours was an early morning flight from new delhi, the hotel reception was gracious enough to accomadate us at 7 a.m. without extra charge on chek in. Being a first time traveller to bangkok, what struck us the most was the hotel's proximity to the "to do" things in bangkok .Everything was just a stroll away or if didnt want to venture into the heat , then cheap cab is available on call at hotel doorstep.The rooms and the hotel lobby was exocticly designed. Room service was swift with a special mention of late night dvd player sent for our son's favourite cartoon.Breakfast was an elegant spread,they even packed a take away meal of idli for our 3 yr old.Would surely recommend it for a short stay in the city.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed for 5 days-4 nights with the missus and never regretted staying there since it is right at the heart of the shopping district which you can just walk back to the hotel after a long day of retail therapy. It is also not right next to the road hence it is not as noisy as the other 5-star hotel across the road. I did have a problem with the taxi driver on the way there from the airport. So it might be good to have the map on hand, or better still have the address in Thai. The weather was punishingly hot during our stay in Bangkok and we requested for ice and water almost every night when we returned from our shopping forays. Impressed with their fast room service. I might just stay there again during my next trip to Bangkok.

Room Tip: Request for a high floor with a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

RENAISSANCE- Bangkok, March 2013

I always try to tag along with my husband on his business trip abroad Hence, i m always task to book our flights and check on best rate hotels with the best possible service.
This time, he will have to attend a trade fair in Bangkok, Thailand. We have been to this beautiful place several times, actually, almost every year for the past 10 years or so. Bangkok is almost like Manila in terms of weather and people, both friendly and hospitable.
Anyway, needless to say, I also tried almost all their 5 star hotels, even stayed twice in one of them, thinking it was one of the best...until I checked in at Renaissance.

I was smitten by the wonderful service all their staff had accorded us. The room may not be perfectly modern or zen as the trend is now but comfortable and very nice. I love the pool, so awesome with the view of Bangkok.
Renaissance is well located. Walking distance to the big malls and market areas where good bargain is at its best. And with the Sky train station just infront, you can simply tour Bangkok in a bliss.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel

Also Known As:
Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel Bangkok
Address: 518 / 8 Ploenchit Road, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#18 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#18 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#25 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel, guests are greeted by a 200 metre exotically landscaped driveway that leads them to our iconic blue glass building. Set back from the hustle and bustle, you're in Bangkok's most vibrant neighbourhood yet secluded in your very own oasis. The hotel is a stone's throw away from Central Chidlom, Central World and Siam Paragon, Bangkok's swankiest malls, and just around the corner from the Chit Lom BTS Station. โรงแรมเรเนซองส์ กรุงเทพฯ ราชประสงค์ยินดีต้อนรับคุณด้วยทางเข้าน้ำตกยาวกว่า 200 เมตรสู่ตัวโรงแรมซึ่งมีความเป็นเอกลักษณ์ด้วยตัวตึกสร้างด้วยกระจกสีน้ำเงิน ใจกลางย่านธุรกิจ และเป็นศูนย์รวมแหล่งช้อปปิ้ง ทั้งห้างสรรพสินค้าเซ็นทรัลชิดลม ห้างสรรพสินค้าเซ็นทรัลเวิลด์ สยามพารากอน และร้านค้าอื่นๆ อีกมากมาย เดินทางสะดวกสบายโดยรถไฟฟ้าบีทีเอสสถานีชิดลม ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Marriott, Orbitz, Tingo, Expedia, Venere, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.