We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   518/8 Ploenchit Road | Lumpini, Bangkok 10330, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #28 of 750 hotels in Bangkok
The Villages, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed at the Renaissance Bangkok after a cruise of Asia. What wonderful experience we had. The service at the hotel was excellent. If your stay includes access to the Club, it is wonderful. They breakfast is the best of any Marriott property I've stayed at. The staff at the Renaissance was extremely courteous and helpful. Our room was very spacious and new. The location is great also. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a top floor. You will have a very nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,196 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    823
    296
    50
    16
    11
See reviews for
181
426
107
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tbilisi, Georgia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed here for a week in April and loved it. I have never seen better service. The hotel was beautifully decorated and located right in the middle of downtown right next to the Sky Rail for easy access to anywhere you want to go. If I had to come up with a negative it would be the cost of the restaurants. The food was fabulous but it was far from a bargin. That being said, the room rate included breakfast and it was always top notch. The next time I'm in Bangkok, it will be the first place I consider. A couple of our favorite adventures in Bangkok were: Wat Po, Wat Arun, the tiger temple, the snake farm, the MBK mall, the night market, the weekend market, the Jim Thompson House, and a VIP movie night that included sushi, wine/beer, and fresh popcorn. Thanks for the fun times.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the golf course and don't forget your clubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This hotel is by far one of the better 5 star hotels in Bangkok. Modern and chic upon arrival with very friendly and helpful staff, check in was seamless. We stayed club level and all food and beverage offerings within the club lounge along with the exceptional service attitude of the staff was over and above. Just steps from the Sky Train and within easy walking distance to most of the good shopping - is in a great area. Family friendly, I had my two children with me - who absolutely adored the roof top pool. Club access is not allowed for children from 4.30pm - totally acceptable in a business hotel. Could not fault this hotel at all.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We visited Bangkok for a quick weekend getaway on the 5th of April this year. I've been to Bangkok on several occasions (we really love the city, not the heat!) and I must say I am once again wow-ed by the sheer number of value-for-money hotels with excellent service quality and accommodation. The Renaissance Bangkok is an obvious addition to my list of good experiences in Bangkok to date.

The location is hard to beat. The hotel is situated off a quiet spot just minutes away from the Chidlom BTS station, which makes it effortless to walk to the prominent shopping malls via the all-weather skybridge, which starts at the Chidlom station (where Central Chidlom is just across the street and can be accessed via another exit in the station). Thereafter, the Amarin Plaza, Erawan Shrine, Central World mall and even Siam Paragon can be reached within 10-20 minutes by foot. We were thankful for the various food and shopping options available within easy reach before we headed back to rest, given the searing hot weather conditions during the month.

The service was impeccable from the doorman to the room cleaning crew and the service staff on the Executive floor, who were always quick to greet guests and ask if we needed any assistance. Our room was very clean and well-appointed, with a free-standing bathtub (excellent for a soak after a long day) and a comfortable bed with really soft sheets. I appreciated the thoughtfulness of the rain-shower option in the shower stall, the lovely smelling toiletries and most importantly, the multi-country power point installed at the desk area for to recharge our appliances. The only gripe I had was the pillows, albeit many, were too soft for the neck to be well-supported (I noticed this may be a similar problem at the other Marriott hotels I have visited).

Although the hotel rates are a little on the pricier side, the hotel is as good as it gets for the higher-end accommodation options. We were very satisfied with the overall experience of our stay and would really like to return for another short vacation in the future.

Room Tip: The Executive room option will be great for business travellers. We visited the Club lounge frequent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This was our first time in that hotel, and I have been to 4 other 5 stars hotels in Bangkok in the past, and The Renaissance is the best so far.
First it is beautiful and very classy. The location is great if you are here for the shopping. It's close to Central world, Siam and Big C and Gaysorn. There is an unknown mall very close to the hotel and all kinds of shops you may need.
Breakfast was out of this world. If you eat everything they serve, it is breakfast, lunch and dinner altogether.
The room is spacious and very comfortable. They are very nice and go out of their way to please you.
The swimming pool, located on the roof is a piece of art, although the water is a bit cold.
Food was delicious, even the simple things we ordered in room service.
If and when I come to Bangkok I will definitely stay there again.
We celebrated our anniversary and they had a nice cake waiting for us in the room. That was lovely. Well don't hesitate, book the Renaissance .

Room Tip: Even the simplest room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stayed here back in December 2012 and had a Club Level room. The service was fantastic. Room was wonderful. I would highly recommend this for business travelers or couples. If you can swing the Club Level, do it. The lounge has a quiet and peaceful breakfast, tea and snacks in the afternoon, open bar in the evening, and appetizer-like tapas in the evening. When you are busy in meetings all day, it's a perfect place to relax.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed in Renaissance Bangkok in early April. Location is great as it is within minutes' walk to BTS station and major shopping centres like Central World and Zen. Water of swimming pool is freezing as it is in fact an indoor pool and so almost no people is swimming. Varieties of breakfast buffet is limited and does not commensurate its 5-star rating. Yet, it is worth mentioning that staff can make fresh juice upon your request. They are of good taste.

Room has been renovated and is of moden style. The most unacceptable thing is slippers are re-used as confirmed by hotel staff (they said that slippers will be cleaned). I support environmental protection in other aspects but not re-using slippers as it is not acceptable from hygienic point of view. Hope the management can think about it.

Last thing, the door cannot really block out the sound outside. Not sure if it is because we stayed in a room next to elevator or not.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel

Address: 518/8 Ploenchit Road | Lumpini, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#18 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#18 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#26 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#26 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel, guests are greeted by a 200 metre exotically landscaped driveway that leads them to our iconic blue glass building. Set back from the hustle and bustle, you're in Bangkok's most vibrant neighbourhood yet secluded in your very own oasis. The hotel is a stone's throw away from Central Chidlom, Central World and Siam Paragon, Bangkok's swankiest malls, and just around the corner from the Chit Lom BTS Station. โรงแรมเรเนซองส์ กรุงเทพฯ ราชประสงค์ยินดีต้อนรับคุณด้วยทางเข้าน้ำตกยาวกว่า 200 เมตรสู่ตัวโรงแรมซึ่งมีความเป็นเอกลักษณ์ด้วยตัวตึกสร้างด้วยกระจกสีน้ำเงิน ใจกลางย่านธุรกิจ และเป็นศูนย์รวมแหล่งช้อปปิ้ง ทั้งห้างสรรพสินค้าเซ็นทรัลชิดลม ห้างสรรพสินค้าเซ็นทรัลเวิลด์ สยามพารากอน และร้านค้าอื่นๆ อีกมากมาย เดินทางสะดวกสบายโดยรถไฟฟ้าบีทีเอสสถานีชิดลม ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.