We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, but is it worth the money in comparison??” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   518/8 Ploenchit Road | Lumpini, Bangkok 10330, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #37 of 755 Hotels in Bangkok
Wichita, Kansas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Amazing, but is it worth the money in comparison??”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

In no way, am I giving the Renaissance a bad rating. It was a wonderful stay, the rooms were very high end. Our room was a corner room with windows on two sides and a nice view of downtown Bangkok. The bathtub was very picturesque with a huge window to look out, though it looked into another building. The bed was amazingly comfortable and most of all, the staff was extremely helpful, from helping us so we wouldn't miss our flight to directions and restaurant recommendation, etc. The location was right in the middle of Bangkok.....nice!
BUT.....I would compare it to the Chatrium where we also stayed. Though the location was not as good at the Chatrium riverside, the view was better, the suite and bed was just as good, the staff just as helpful and it included breakfast. The only significant difference other than the location and number of stars was the price. The Renaissance was twice as expensive.

Now, this was my first 5 star hotel, so perhaps those of you that will use all the amenities and are not just looking at the room and general service, then you might find the price difference worth it. I did not.

Would I stay here again? Yes, if I got a big discount. But for the money, I'll choose differently.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    853
    315
    58
    16
    12
See reviews for
194
444
113
241
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Recently stayed here for a business trip in Bangkok for 6 nights. Nothing bad to say about the property. As mentioned its location is great, and though it seemed odd having a parking lot between the hotel and the main road, I am sure this kept the noise down.
Rooms were well laid out.
I only ate breakfast at the hotel but the buffet everyday had enough new additions to keep things interesting. A highlight was a red curry Eggs benny and the custom juices they served every day.
Gym was on par with other hotels.
The highlight was the service though. Staff were friendly and attentive and were on top of whatever you needed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.S.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We've stayed here many times, so that says a lot right there. The hotel is set back from the road by almost a block, but it's right at the Chitlom BTS. If you walk into Maneeya center (3rd floor) you can take the elevator down to the first floor (a blessing if you have luggage). It's easy to get anywhere on the BTS and you can walk to several malls and Big-C (great for buying snacks and supplies). There's also a Watsons (drug store), a McD's, a bagel bakery, and street food very close by.

The rooms are bright and cheery, as well as comfortable. The breakfast is quite good. The biggest strength here is the staff (especially in the executive lounge) and their consistency. Everything seems to go smoothly (elevators, internet, housekeeping), every time we stay. It's an efficiently run hotel.

The only knock is that the hotel has become quite expensive as it has become more popular, and the restaurants have always been expensive (but it's easy to eat out). So the value is questionable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Renaissance Bangkok was a nice retreat for us after long hot days of touring and exploring Bankok.

Location: Great - right across from BTS which we found was a efficient way to get around the city. The public transport to the airport as easy as well only requiring 1 transfer. Hotel is located in the middle of shopping utopia. Malls galore. You do need to venture out via train, taxi, etc to explore Bangkok, but we found it easy to do.

Accommodations: Rooms were nice, bed good, good shower pressure, and nice bath and body products. View from room was just OK. One of the best hotel gyms I have seen. Bring your workout gear, you will want to get up early for workout. Nice refreshing pool for cooling off, not for sun worshiping as it is covered.

Food and Beverage: As Marriott Gold members we were given access to concierge lounge. Service and food outstanding. 24 hour access to beverages and great breakfast and appetizers would make it worth the extra cost of an upgrade.

Service: All around outstanding.

Would stay here again and recommend to all of my friends.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Absolutely stunning hotel in the heart of bangkok. Service was incredible, a big thank you to the girls running the reception and the bar who really went above and beyond to ensure a great guest experience.

The drinks at the hotel bar were some of the best I had in my whole trip, the buffet breakfast was one of the best I have had, ever.

Highly recommended, would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agoura Hills, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights March 7-8. The hotel was beautiful and very clean. We were upgraded to a corner unit suite, it was huge with a great view of the city as we were on the 19 th floor. Our bed was super comfy. As Marriott platinum members, we had access to the club lounge. It was one of the nicest lounges we've seen. They had a happy hour from 4:30 a 8pm serving gourmet appetizers and great wine. They even made a martini for my husband. We also had breakfast at the lounge 2 mornings, the selection of food was good, Asian and western fare, lots of fresh fropical fruits, the cappuccino and expresso were amazing! The club lounge was a great place to relax after walking the streets of Bangkok and shopping. If you love to shop, the hotel is surrounded by major upscale shopping malls all connected by a walkway. Prada, LV, Chanel, Mulberry, Dior, D&G, Marc Jacobs, Burberry, Gucci, Hermes, etc., get the picture? Also Bts sky train in front oh the hotel. The staff was great! Always ready to help in everyway and always smiling. I highly recommend it! This is the place to stay in Bangkok.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paranaque
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is my first time to stay in this hotel in many many visits to Bangkok...even before I got to stay in this hotel i visited their website...i was not disappointed I should say, ..completely blown away by its charm!!.Its proximity to shopping centers and the BTS made it even more ideal and convenient for me...i love everything about this place...the lobby...the way its illuminated at night...my room ,was just excellent, ..food during breakfast had a good wide selection, ...dinner at their italian resto i truly enjoyed... and the staff...i always pay particular attention to the service..and they did a pretty good job making my stay both memorable and enjoyable, they were very courteous and helpful......now theres another good reason for me to visit Bangkok!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel

Address: 518/8 Ploenchit Road | Lumpini, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#22 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#28 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#34 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#35 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel, guests are greeted by a 200 metre exotically landscaped driveway that leads them to our iconic blue glass building. Set back from the hustle and bustle, you're in Bangkok's most vibrant neighbourhood yet secluded in your very own oasis. The hotel is a stone's throw away from Central Chidlom, Central World and Siam Paragon, Bangkok's swankiest malls, and just around the corner from the Chit Lom BTS Station. โรงแรมเรเนซองส์ กรุงเทพฯ ราชประสงค์ยินดีต้อนรับคุณด้วยทางเข้าน้ำตกยาวกว่า 200 เมตรสู่ตัวโรงแรมซึ่งมีความเป็นเอกลักษณ์ด้วยตัวตึกสร้างด้วยกระจกสีน้ำเงิน ใจกลางย่านธุรกิจ และเป็นศูนย์รวมแหล่งช้อปปิ้ง ทั้งห้างสรรพสินค้าเซ็นทรัลชิดลม ห้างสรรพสินค้าเซ็นทรัลเวิลด์ สยามพารากอน และร้านค้าอื่นๆ อีกมากมาย เดินทางสะดวกสบายโดยรถไฟฟ้าบีทีเอสสถานีชิดลม ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.