We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   518/8 Ploenchit Road | Lumpini, Bangkok 10330, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #30 of 750 hotels in Bangkok
Vienna, Austria
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stopped over in Bangkok for 4 nights.
Location of the Hotel is great, the rooms are nothing special but clean and in good shape with a wonderful bed.
Staff is nice as you would expect it in this sort of Hotel, but nothing to get over exicted.

Room Tip: high floor room for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,188 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    816
    295
    50
    16
    11
See reviews for
180
426
106
229
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We booked a Club Room for our short stay in Bangkok, mainly for the city views as rooms are higher up, but what we enjoyed most was the access to the club lounge for a fantastic selection of complimentary drinks (including alcohol) and snacks/canapes throughout the day. This was just what we needed after a 12 hour flight when we really didn't feel like venturing out into the busy streets of Bangkok. Club rooms also offer 1 piece of laundry cleaning per night which we made use of. Would highly recommend paying the extra for a club room.

The hotel is well located for the street markets and Siam Square, with a metro station right outside the entrance for access to other parts of town - we used this to get to the river for a boat up to the main temples of Bangkok.

We sat by the pool one afternoon which is on the top floor. Although not open air, the sides of the building are open. The pool area is very clean and modern. I didn't swim however as found the water too cold. It was also quite noisy as the street and construction noises can be heard from the city below.

The rooms are of a high quality - luxury bathroom with bath as well as dual shower (wall attachment and rainfall). My only gripe would be that the hotel walls seemed very thin - unfortunately we had a noisy family in the room next door who we could hear very clearly. However, the hotel were very good at contacting the family and asking them to be more considerate which seemed to do the trick!

All in all I'd say this was one of the top city hotels I have stayed in and would highly recommend, echoing all positive comments beforehand.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Club room for access to the Club lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

The Renaissance is conveniently located in the center of everything - close to public transportation, shopping and fine dining. The rooms are large and the staff provide great service and are quick to respond to your needs. Great for both business and leisure.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I had the great pleasure of staying here while attending an onsite USG conference with 100+ officials. I don't remember the room as much as the bottomless happy hour cocktails and vast lunch buffets. Staff were cheerful and check-in/check-out was painless. I'd stay here again anytime.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

As was getting a good corporate deal , stayed in this hotel for 2 nights.. Very centrally located hotel and very near the mrt..lounge is also decent and as my room was on the higher floors we get a nice city view ( though we mostly see other skyscrapers :)).
Breakfast options also very good and for me it was good value for money since we had preferred rates and I was a MR Platinum at that time, so also got a complementary room upgrade..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

As the title suggests, best part about this hotel is the location. It is located in heart of city, with metro right in front of hotel, and all the major city attractions nearby.

About the hotel, as other reviewers mentioned, it is a nice city hotel. Rooms are good. Being platinum member, we got access to lounge which is very good. They had a mix of thai, continental and cuisine from different places.
Swimming pool is on the top floor, which provides an awesome view. When we went there (10PM), the water was freezing cold, so we were unable to take a dip. I provided this feedback to management, and hopefully it will improve.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better view of the city. Anything above 16th floor is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

First - location, location, location!!! From food to shopping, everything is literally one par 3 distance away!!! The Chit Lom BTS is a short 50m stroll from the hotel entrance yet is out of ear shot.
Room - The room was large, clean and well appointed - electrical outlets had built-in converter sockets!! The bed was oh so comfortable. The bathroom was spacious, with seperate shower and bath. The toilet was equiped with a hand held spray.
Staff - they don't get any friendlier, more professional or helpful than the crew at the Rennaisance. The welcome was warm, checkin was prompt and efficient.
The Rennaisance will be my hotel of choice when I return to BKK.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel

Address: 518/8 Ploenchit Road | Lumpini, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#17 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#20 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#26 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#27 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel, guests are greeted by a 200 metre exotically landscaped driveway that leads them to our iconic blue glass building. Set back from the hustle and bustle, you're in Bangkok's most vibrant neighbourhood yet secluded in your very own oasis. The hotel is a stone's throw away from Central Chidlom, Central World and Siam Paragon, Bangkok's swankiest malls, and just around the corner from the Chit Lom BTS Station. โรงแรมเรเนซองส์ กรุงเทพฯ ราชประสงค์ยินดีต้อนรับคุณด้วยทางเข้าน้ำตกยาวกว่า 200 เมตรสู่ตัวโรงแรมซึ่งมีความเป็นเอกลักษณ์ด้วยตัวตึกสร้างด้วยกระจกสีน้ำเงิน ใจกลางย่านธุรกิจ และเป็นศูนย์รวมแหล่งช้อปปิ้ง ทั้งห้างสรรพสินค้าเซ็นทรัลชิดลม ห้างสรรพสินค้าเซ็นทรัลเวิลด์ สยามพารากอน และร้านค้าอื่นๆ อีกมากมาย เดินทางสะดวกสบายโดยรถไฟฟ้าบีทีเอสสถานีชิดลม ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.