We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for Bangkok stopover” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   518/8 Ploenchit Road | Lumpini, Bangkok 10330, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Year Anniversary Deal
Ranked #36 of 777 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great hotel for Bangkok stopover”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We booked a Club Room for our short stay in Bangkok, mainly for the city views as rooms are higher up, but what we enjoyed most was the access to the club lounge for a fantastic selection of complimentary drinks (including alcohol) and snacks/canapes throughout the day. This was just what we needed after a 12 hour flight when we really didn't feel like venturing out into the busy streets of Bangkok. Club rooms also offer 1 piece of laundry cleaning per night which we made use of. Would highly recommend paying the extra for a club room.

The hotel is well located for the street markets and Siam Square, with a metro station right outside the entrance for access to other parts of town - we used this to get to the river for a boat up to the main temples of Bangkok.

We sat by the pool one afternoon which is on the top floor. Although not open air, the sides of the building are open. The pool area is very clean and modern. I didn't swim however as found the water too cold. It was also quite noisy as the street and construction noises can be heard from the city below.

The rooms are of a high quality - luxury bathroom with bath as well as dual shower (wall attachment and rainfall). My only gripe would be that the hotel walls seemed very thin - unfortunately we had a noisy family in the room next door who we could hear very clearly. However, the hotel were very good at contacting the family and asking them to be more considerate which seemed to do the trick!

All in all I'd say this was one of the top city hotels I have stayed in and would highly recommend, echoing all positive comments beforehand.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Club room for access to the Club lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,059
    413
    73
    21
    15
See reviews for
243
548
136
314
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

The Renaissance is conveniently located in the center of everything - close to public transportation, shopping and fine dining. The rooms are large and the staff provide great service and are quick to respond to your needs. Great for both business and leisure.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I had the great pleasure of staying here while attending an onsite USG conference with 100+ officials. I don't remember the room as much as the bottomless happy hour cocktails and vast lunch buffets. Staff were cheerful and check-in/check-out was painless. I'd stay here again anytime.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

As was getting a good corporate deal , stayed in this hotel for 2 nights.. Very centrally located hotel and very near the mrt..lounge is also decent and as my room was on the higher floors we get a nice city view ( though we mostly see other skyscrapers :)).
Breakfast options also very good and for me it was good value for money since we had preferred rates and I was a MR Platinum at that time, so also got a complementary room upgrade..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

As the title suggests, best part about this hotel is the location. It is located in heart of city, with metro right in front of hotel, and all the major city attractions nearby.

About the hotel, as other reviewers mentioned, it is a nice city hotel. Rooms are good. Being platinum member, we got access to lounge which is very good. They had a mix of thai, continental and cuisine from different places.
Swimming pool is on the top floor, which provides an awesome view. When we went there (10PM), the water was freezing cold, so we were unable to take a dip. I provided this feedback to management, and hopefully it will improve.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better view of the city. Anything above 16th floor is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

First - location, location, location!!! From food to shopping, everything is literally one par 3 distance away!!! The Chit Lom BTS is a short 50m stroll from the hotel entrance yet is out of ear shot.
Room - The room was large, clean and well appointed - electrical outlets had built-in converter sockets!! The bed was oh so comfortable. The bathroom was spacious, with seperate shower and bath. The toilet was equiped with a hand held spray.
Staff - they don't get any friendlier, more professional or helpful than the crew at the Rennaisance. The welcome was warm, checkin was prompt and efficient.
The Rennaisance will be my hotel of choice when I return to BKK.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
291 reviews 291 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 157 cities Reviews in 157 cities
390 helpful votes 390 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed in an upgraded room on the 22nd floor. The room was large and modern with a nice city view. The bathroom is glass walled that gives you the impression of being in a fishbowl but it has motorized drapes. I crashed into the glass wall the first night heading to the facilities after which I lowered the powered shades 50% at night to avoid any more accidents!

As others are mentioned the location is excellent 5 minutes walk from the Chit Lom MTS Sky Train Station. The MTS system has an integrated elevated walkway below the tracks so that it is also a pleasant 15 minute stroll to the major modern malls located between Chit Lom and Siam central station.

The service was excellent and the bar had nicely mixed cocktails and snacks after a busy day shopping or sightseeing. Once my wife requested a passion fruit martini and our waitress hurried off to the kitchen to collect fresh fruit as none were available at the bar!

The pool is open to the outdoors on the 23 floor with lounge chairs in the water and an excellent bar service.

Overall an excellent hotel for business or city vacation

Room Tip: Higher floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel

Address: 518/8 Ploenchit Road | Lumpini, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#21 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#32 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#37 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel, guests are greeted by a 200 metre exotically landscaped driveway that leads them to our iconic blue glass building. Set back from the hustle and bustle, you're in Bangkok's most vibrant neighbourhood yet secluded in your very own oasis. The hotel is a stone's throw away from Central Chidlom, Central World and Siam Paragon, Bangkok's swankiest malls, and just around the corner from the Chit Lom BTS Station. โรงแรมเรเนซองส์ กรุงเทพฯ ราชประสงค์ยินดีต้อนรับคุณด้วยทางเข้าน้ำตกยาวกว่า 200 เมตรสู่ตัวโรงแรมซึ่งมีความเป็นเอกลักษณ์ด้วยตัวตึกสร้างด้วยกระจกสีน้ำเงิน ใจกลางย่านธุรกิจ และเป็นศูนย์รวมแหล่งช้อปปิ้ง ทั้งห้างสรรพสินค้าเซ็นทรัลชิดลม ห้างสรรพสินค้าเซ็นทรัลเวิลด์ สยามพารากอน และร้านค้าอื่นๆ อีกมากมาย เดินทางสะดวกสบายโดยรถไฟฟ้าบีทีเอสสถานีชิดลม ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.