We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep returning” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   518/8 Ploenchit Road | Lumpini, Bangkok 10330, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #27 of 750 hotels in Bangkok
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Keep returning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

I have returned to Renaissance at lest ten times this year. Twice in December along.

The Marriott Gold/Platinum treatment has always been fantastic and all the ladies working in the club lounge extremely nice.

Like the fitness center on the top floor and taking a proper Finnish sauna afterwards. I haven't been to the urban pool on the same floor but for sure it looks nice.

And you really cannot beat the location. Siam Paragon and Central World as well as the Gaysorn are all within walking distance.

Will keep returning in 2013 as well!

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,181 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    811
    294
    49
    16
    11
See reviews for
179
425
104
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, India
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I travel to Bangkok on holiday atleast every year and have tried a number of hotels in the city. This is definitely the best that I have stayed at.... the hotel is very centrally located and right next to the Sky train station.

Rooms are large and comfortable; there's a concierge lounge which has a nice cocktail hour and breakfast is very good. Absolutely loved the pool on the roof, the well equipped gym and the spa.

Service is nice and the staff a very pleasant.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

5 nights--Nov 18-23, 2012

Hotel dated already--ceiling at the bathroom was falling apart.

Upon checked in the room--there was only one set of towels and slipper while the room was reserved for 2 people--"begging" housekeeping.

Moroever, more frustration with housekeeping--wrote to get more bottles of water--yes they gave---then next day--even though there were 4 empty water bottles--they only gave two bottles of fresh water. Common sense would suggest 4 empty ones automatically equated to 4 fresh bottles rather than having the guest writing every time--"begging." I know hotel wanted guests to spend on mini-bar.



Location is great--near BTS train--and short walk (10-15 minutes) to the mall.





.

Room Tip: All rooms are same size based on the fire route diagram
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Made a right choice staying in this TA award winner hotel. Love the hotel as it is near to major shopping complexes such as Amarin, Central World, Siam Paragon and other places. The hotel has superb breakfast, beautiful Christmas decoration and the plus point is that on Christmas night, a bunch of Christmas carollers were there to sing even though I thought they could've been better. The interesting thing was from the day of checking in 23rd December 2012 till the day of checking out 26th December there was a wedding going on each night. The rooms were fantastic and everything worked fine. All in all, will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I was very satisfied with my stay in the past and went back again with my parents during the x'mas holiday which is my 4th time at this hotel but I was a bit disappointed.
We arrived midnight and check-in was smooth, we requested a non-smoking room but found out not the whole floor is non-smoking, there's smell of cigarettes at the corridor and my mom can't stand it and change room next day, the lady at front desk is friendly and did her best to accomodate my mom's request eventhough the hotel is pretty full due to holiday season.
When we entered our room, we found that the slippers had been worn before, so we called housekeeping to bring us two new pairs but they were also not new, the ankle part were even in greyish color. This happened to my parents' room as well so we complained to the front desk manager the next day, she replied us that some of the slippers were washed and will reuse, I understand this is more eco-friendly and I always reuse my towels when staying at hotels, but the slippers that the housekeeping showed us didn't seem being washed, and after complaining they still didn't bring us new pair :( This is more a hygiene reason and I do not expect this happen from a five star hotel.
Other than that, location is still perfect, breakfast is good with freshly squeezed juice; but with the price I'm paying, I may consider trying another hotel next time.

Room Tip: If you want a non-smoking room, make sure the whole floor is non-smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porirua, Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in early December and the quality of the stay was top class. From the moment the taxi dropped me of to the moment I left was fantastic. I don't have a bad word to say and everything was attended to as expected. The room was spacious and beautifully laid out with a great selection of TV channels.

I have to add that I did not use the WIFI or did not eat there.

Room Tip: My room was superb and it was on the 8th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was centrally located to great shopping. The staff were very helpful. The pool was cold which I was very surprised about. The pool had a great view but I couldn't stay in it long because it was cold. I found the lunch buffet to be pricey. The rooms themselves were okay but I looked at upgrading to a suite and it wasn't that much bigger for the amount being paid. All in all, the hotel was okay. When I go back to Bangkok I will try a different hotel.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel

Address: 518/8 Ploenchit Road | Lumpini, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#16 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#17 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#25 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#26 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel, guests are greeted by a 200 metre exotically landscaped driveway that leads them to our iconic blue glass building. Set back from the hustle and bustle, you're in Bangkok's most vibrant neighbourhood yet secluded in your very own oasis. The hotel is a stone's throw away from Central Chidlom, Central World and Siam Paragon, Bangkok's swankiest malls, and just around the corner from the Chit Lom BTS Station. โรงแรมเรเนซองส์ กรุงเทพฯ ราชประสงค์ยินดีต้อนรับคุณด้วยทางเข้าน้ำตกยาวกว่า 200 เมตรสู่ตัวโรงแรมซึ่งมีความเป็นเอกลักษณ์ด้วยตัวตึกสร้างด้วยกระจกสีน้ำเงิน ใจกลางย่านธุรกิจ และเป็นศูนย์รวมแหล่งช้อปปิ้ง ทั้งห้างสรรพสินค้าเซ็นทรัลชิดลม ห้างสรรพสินค้าเซ็นทรัลเวิลด์ สยามพารากอน และร้านค้าอื่นๆ อีกมากมาย เดินทางสะดวกสบายโดยรถไฟฟ้าบีทีเอสสถานีชิดลม ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Marriott, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.