We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   518/8 Ploenchit Road | Lumpini, Bangkok 10330, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #29 of 753 hotels in Bangkok
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent location in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed here for a few nights in November - December 2012. The hotel lobby is nice and modern, the reception staff are very attentive and polite. We had got an upgrade to the Club room on the high floor but the room is just for 2 people, not more. But there is a nice bathroom with the city view even though it is not a brilliant view from the 17th floor. The room interior is nice and simple, bed and pillows are comfortable. We ate most of our meals in the hotel and tried every restaurant except the Chinese restaurant ( no time to try). We like the Italian restaurant most, excellent dinner even if it's not cheap for Thai standard but it's worth trying. I also like the lobby bar, good band and great drinks.

I tried the spa too, good massage ( hot compress) and so relaxing. As I said, the hotel is in a good area, excellent location only a few mins walk to BTS( Sky train station) and surrounded by a few good department stores. Basically, if you want to go to Thailand for shopping, this hotel should be your first choice! Definitely it will be our choice for our next visit in Bangkok.

Room Tip: Request the high floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,220 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    837
    304
    52
    16
    11
See reviews for
185
434
109
235
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed at this location with my children for a Dr's visit. The location is perfect, the hotel is nicely appointed, the staff was wonderful and we were upgraded to a corner suite that accommodated my 3 boys and myself.

We enjoyed the upper level pool (although a bit chilly in February) and the room service was substantial.

My only non-positive comment would be that I had to use the phone to make some phone calls out of the country. I expect to pay a premium for this service, but the price was not listed ANYWHERE! I looked all over. I made the calls (2 of them). Checked out 2 days later and saw there was a $300 (not sure of the exact amount, it was in THB) phone bill!! I was SHOCKED. As a Marriott rewards member, I have spend plenty of nights in all different Marriotts around the world. The price has always been listed or easily found. I was able to get the manager to drop the charges in half without any coercing. She was very accommodating...and pleasant and helpful!! I did contact Marriott corporate and asked them about this, as in the USA, this would be considered highway robbery!!! They just said, good on the manager, call the front desk next time for rates...sooo...

The experience was great, the staff helpful and friendly and everything was great. Have learned my lesson on making phone calls!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

This hotel stands an excellent choice for sleeping. The executive level is so high that it is very quiet. Of course, the signature design is in the blood of Renaissance. I saw many couples spending weekends in Bangkok and I guess it must be a very popular. There are plenty of choices at the buffet, which is nice.

The imperfection is about the products at mini bar. Some of them are already expired for more than two months - and they are still lying there. This does not match the five-star quality of Marriott. They should really take it seriously.

Room Tip: Executive floor is nice - look out of the products at your minibar
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and it fit the bill for comfort and service. Its actually quite a stunning hotel and all staff were very helpful and friendly. We actually ate at their Buffet restaurant on our last night and were very impressed by the chef and his staff. They came out from behind their stations to help explain what all the different types of food were offered (and there were SO many) and definitely went above and beyond!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumberton, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

I was actually concerned about the hotel based on the extremely reasonable rates. The hotel was more than expected:
- extremely clean rooms
- courteous and attentive staff
- spa, pool and gym on 22nd floor
- three very good restaurants to choose from
- Chinese
- Italian
- Buffet style
- large bedrooms
- concierge with great hours, great food and drinks

The only one downside is that many of the taxi drivers are not familiar with the location. Other than that, the hotel was much more than I expected.

Definitely worth booking a stay. Great accommodations.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for business and I must say that they know how to take care of the guests… the food was amazing, rooms are very spacious, every evening someone brought a drink to the room with some local taste, it was a very nice gesture… Overall a great hotel..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Stayed for three nights in Dec. The hotel has the similar feel of the Marriott chain, clean and comfortable. Location is great but food in the hotel is average at best. Room overlook the Central World but also some uninspiring roof tops.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel

Address: 518/8 Ploenchit Road | Lumpini, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#17 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#18 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#26 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#27 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel, guests are greeted by a 200 metre exotically landscaped driveway that leads them to our iconic blue glass building. Set back from the hustle and bustle, you're in Bangkok's most vibrant neighbourhood yet secluded in your very own oasis. The hotel is a stone's throw away from Central Chidlom, Central World and Siam Paragon, Bangkok's swankiest malls, and just around the corner from the Chit Lom BTS Station. โรงแรมเรเนซองส์ กรุงเทพฯ ราชประสงค์ยินดีต้อนรับคุณด้วยทางเข้าน้ำตกยาวกว่า 200 เมตรสู่ตัวโรงแรมซึ่งมีความเป็นเอกลักษณ์ด้วยตัวตึกสร้างด้วยกระจกสีน้ำเงิน ใจกลางย่านธุรกิจ และเป็นศูนย์รวมแหล่งช้อปปิ้ง ทั้งห้างสรรพสินค้าเซ็นทรัลชิดลม ห้างสรรพสินค้าเซ็นทรัลเวิลด์ สยามพารากอน และร้านค้าอื่นๆ อีกมากมาย เดินทางสะดวกสบายโดยรถไฟฟ้าบีทีเอสสถานีชิดลม ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Marriott, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.