We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   518/8 Ploenchit Road | Lumpini, Bangkok 10330, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Year Anniversary Deal
Ranked #37 of 772 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

I'll keep this short....we are two mid 20s English people from Manchester.

On a two week stay in Thailand, had one
Night here.

It is exceptional service, rooms are top quality, breakfast buffet had an unbelievable selection and you can order stuff from the chefs.

Only about 8 to 10 GBP from the airport.

Went to khao San road at night which cost about 1.50 GBP in a taxi!

Definitely, definitely stay here again.

A great hotel

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,068
    419
    73
    21
    15
See reviews for
247
551
136
320
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We really loved this place. The staff made sure we were always satisfied. They helped us with tours and shopping, drivers and whatever we needed. The managers were excellent and always made suggestions for dinner or anything we needed. The rooms were very clean and the food excellent. It totally exceeded our expectations

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

This hotel is very new, it was completed redone couple of years back, but due to the riot, they didn't do the grand opening till just very recent, so many taxi and Thai is still unaware of this hotel. The lobby is very trendy, and rooms are very modernly done. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the front desk girl walked me to my room upon checking which is very nice, not to mention they are not shy of upgrading you to a nicer and bigger room if you ask.
The gym and swim pools are on the top floor, very nice. There are two pools, and the gym is very nice.
The rooms are very quite because although the hotel is located in the CBD area, but it is a little bit tucked in. It's only one minute walk to the Skytrain station E1, and to the nice highend shopping mall. It's about 2 to 3 minutes walk to the Intercontinental and new St. Regies, and 3 minutes taxi ride to the Conrad and JW Marriott. It's also very short tax ride to the bar areas.
Because it is in the new business area, so it's not so close to the Grand Royal Palace and such, especially during the traffic, but so are most of other high end hotels.
the Club Lunge is nice, have pretty good breakfast and happy hour. Internet is free if you are a Marriott member.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrad for a club level room or a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

I have booked Renaissance suite on the arrival day they have upgrade us to executive suite which is very nice I usually book at the Interconetental Hotel when ever I come to Bangkok because of the location but the location of Renaissance is just what I prefer ,the location of the hotel is excellent is about 50meters away the BTS and most of the shopping malls are just walking distance (Central is about 70 meters away) , the Siam shopping complex is just 200 meters away and the MBK is just 250 meters so I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Selected this hotel as it has easy access (by walking) to a wide variety of restaurants and malls. The skywalk over the street makes it safe and quick to get around. The hotel itself was of a very modern decor - sleek and a little bit dark. The room was large - comfortable bed - interesting glass bathroom. Very clean - everything as it should be. My room was on the 17th floor with a nice city view. Ate in two of the restaurants. In one, I had the feeling most of the staff did not speak much English - it took several tries (and several people) to get my request correct for more syrup for my waffle. I was surprised. One other thing that was odd - when I arrived, I found out my entire stay (four nights) had already been charged to my card (not typical for Renaissance in my experience), and their documentation (with my name on) showed I'd booked through a web site I'd never heard of... (I had booked via telephone direct to Marriott sales, and not a pre-paid rate.) I had checked in with only my passport at first, but after seeing the above, I dug out my confirmation number/e-mail. They were not able to explain what had happened. At any rate, the hotel was very good overall - I would recommend it to those who like sleek & contemporary.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

We stayed at Renaissance Hotel Bangkok which truly exceeded our expectations. Our room was modern and we had a good view of the city. The breakfast buffet was one of the best that we've had, mind you, you can never go wrong with food in Thailand. We also had dinner buffet which was pretty good also. We did one breakfast via room service, not worth it, buffet breakie was way better. The location was very good as well, you can walk to the shops. I won't try to pronounce the hotel's name to taxi driver, the show them the card it's much easier. Overall, it's a good hub for your stay in Bangkok.

Room Tip: Make sure you check if breakfast is included, their food is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

how is this hotel only rated about 16th of 5star bangkok hohels? this is the purfect hotel for a stay in bangkok.some reviewers didnt like the all glass bathrooms.what wingers.get into the 21st century please!rooms very spacious lovely big firm king bed.some i saw winged these were too hard.they are not.breakfast was the best i have ever had other than gritti palace in venice.very handy toshopping centres and train station for trip to chao phraya river.dinner was spectacular.crab was feature of buffet.beautiful seafood thai dishes and my wifes favourite,the deserts.all terrific.waitresses wouldnt let you carry your selection back to your table.wonderfull place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel

Address: 518/8 Ploenchit Road | Lumpini, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#22 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#32 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#37 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel, guests are greeted by a 200 metre exotically landscaped driveway that leads them to our iconic blue glass building. Set back from the hustle and bustle, you're in Bangkok's most vibrant neighbourhood yet secluded in your very own oasis. The hotel is a stone's throw away from Central Chidlom, Central World and Siam Paragon, Bangkok's swankiest malls, and just around the corner from the Chit Lom BTS Station. โรงแรมเรเนซองส์ กรุงเทพฯ ราชประสงค์ยินดีต้อนรับคุณด้วยทางเข้าน้ำตกยาวกว่า 200 เมตรสู่ตัวโรงแรมซึ่งมีความเป็นเอกลักษณ์ด้วยตัวตึกสร้างด้วยกระจกสีน้ำเงิน ใจกลางย่านธุรกิจ และเป็นศูนย์รวมแหล่งช้อปปิ้ง ทั้งห้างสรรพสินค้าเซ็นทรัลชิดลม ห้างสรรพสินค้าเซ็นทรัลเวิลด์ สยามพารากอน และร้านค้าอื่นๆ อีกมากมาย เดินทางสะดวกสบายโดยรถไฟฟ้าบีทีเอสสถานีชิดลม ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.