We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and modern rooms - great breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   518/8 Ploenchit Road | Lumpini, Bangkok 10330, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive Discoveries!
Ranked #32 of 761 Hotels in Bangkok
Bern, Switzerland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice and modern rooms - great breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

Came to Bangkok for a conference located in the Hyatt Erawan next door to the Renaissance. I enjoyed the 4min walk every morning & evening to the venue, creating some distance between a busy day and a quiet room. Stayed in a room on floor 15, nice and quiet, although the glass walled bathroom may not be everybody's cup of tea, it makes the room appear very spacious and bright. The decor is decent and modern, with sufficient storage available (stayed here for a week). Staying here on business, I particularly liked the full-size office table and (for once!) enough electrical plugs in all the right spots. In-room WiFi worked well and, although you had to renew it every 24hrs, it was complimentary for all my 4 connected devices when I joined the Marriot frequent lyer program. Housekeeping was flawless, laundry services faster than expected and the staff was very friendly and helpful.

The downside of this hotel is certainly its "rooftop" pool, which is actually located under the roof, with only limited views to the city through glass walls. Reception staff was very friendly but too slow, both on arriving and when checking out. Given the somewhat elevated terror warning level during my stay, there was a metal detector installed in the lobby - but nobody really cared, so I guess that was pretty much for the show.

Would stay here again on business when in town.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    942
    350
    66
    18
    13
See reviews for
215
487
123
271
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wollongong
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

Arrived close to midnight after flying from Sydney. Staff were eager to greet and get us to our room quickly. From the minute I stepped into the foyer I was impressed. It is very modern and screams luxury & quality. The decor is beautiful, huge foyer, lots of glass. The rooms aren't huge but they are extremely well appointed, once again the decor in the rooms was impressive. Art and furniture tasteful and the bed was amazing. Really funky bathrooms with glass walls & huge bath, ultra modern. Breakfast in the restaurant was good with lots of choices and plenty of staff available to refill coffee cups etc. I also did an inspection of the conference facitlities which are fantastic. Roof top indoor pool is amazing with a view of pretty much all of Bangkok. Location is perfect in downtown Bangkok, shopping malls all around and sky train close by. Renaissance Bangkok is a fabulous hotel, my only regret is that we were only there for 1 night.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

The hotel is centrally located in the heart of Bangkok. It is within walking distance to various shopping centres - Central World, Siam Paragon, Amarin and further down to MBK and Siam Centre. The Ocean World is located near to Siam Paragon, while Madame Tussaud is near to Siam Centre. These shopping centres have all the high end designers’ brands, while the MBK is more towards middle class items.

There is also a nearby MRT station – Chit Lom, where you can get on it and travel across the city. It is cheap, efficient and clean. However try to avoid peak periods when it is jam packed with travellers – as with most others rapid transport system across the world.

The hotel is located about 150m from the main road – Phloenchit Road. In between the main road and the hotel is an open space parking lot, so you can see the hotel from the road. The only thing is that you may miss the entrance to the side road leading to the lobby if you travel fast on the main road – my cab driver missed the entrance.

The hotel itself is modernly designed with chic items here and there. The lobby does not occupy too large a space, and can be a bit congested during peak periods eg while checking out. There are sofas at the centre of the lobby, away from the check in counters. Security is pretty tight – all vehicles entering the compound is checked, as well as any person entering the lobby.

I had the 1 bedroom studio – the room was nicely decorated. As you enter the room, to the left is the closet area, to the right leads to the bathroom. The room itself is huge – ample space. There is an L shaped sofa on one corner. The bed was firm and very much to my liking. A wing chair is placed next to the window. The AC was really good – not much noise even at high speed. The internet connection was also fast.

The bathroom is also nicely decorated and huge. The big bathtub sits by the window, and you can basically see the outside buildings while in you are in the tub ... and vice versa, unless of course the vinyl curtain is drawn. It has a separate shower area with good pressure of hot water. The only comment is that the pipe outlets on the sinks are way too low, thus making it quite difficult to wash the hands, especially for a tall person, and even worse when you want to fill up the kettle to boil some water.

The buffet breakfast spread is quite OK – nothing to shout about, typical for this sort of hotel. One thing stands out is that you can have a fresh fruit juice squeezed upon your order. The restaurant is well lit due to the high glass surrounding. However, this also attracts heat by mid morning. While I was there, the hotel had some problems with the AC in the restaurant, so it got stuffy after a while.

I had the opportunity to sit in the lounge in the early evening – there were plenty of mosquitoes enjoying the lounge as well. It was really a nuisance that after a while I decided to leave the lounge area. This may also be due to the hotel ambience which, to me, is somewhat dimmed in some areas. It is not really brightly lit like some other hotels. The walkway to the rooms from the elevator area is another example of poor lighting. Since there is no window at the walkway, or the public areas on my floor, I was totally dependent upon the lighting, and to me, it was very poorly designed.

Apart from these small things, the hotel is OK, and the staff is very pleasant, accommodating and helpful – from the bell boy, concierge, door staff, front desk, waitress etc, they were friendly.

Room Tip: Nothing much on the rooms, but beware when you travel by cab. My friend and I were taken for a ride...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

My first impression upon entering the hotel was fantastic. I loved the interior decor. The room is well appointed and is spacious and airy. Check-in was efficient but impersonal. Security is tight which is good as central BKK is currently on alert for terrorist acts. Free WiFi (for Marriott rewards members) are available throughout the hotel and I had no reception issue in the room, you can also connect via LAN cable. My disappointment with the hotel began when I returned to the room from my night out after midnight to find the room uncleaned and not turned down (and the "Make-up Room" light was switched ON since 4pm). Secondly, the hotel is stingy with the provision of bath towels. So I had to make a phone call to the reception to request for fresh towels so that I can take a shower and go to bed after a long day. They turned up 30 minutes later with no apologies whatsoever. On the final note, the drain in my room (1604) was making noise throughout the night and I was forced to get out of bed at 3am to rectify the problem (which worked for an hour then the noise resumed and I decided I couldn't be bothered with it anymore). In conclusion, the hotel is good but the service can be better and they need to fix the shower drain issue.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on high floor as the view is amazing. If you like greens, ask for rooms facing the Ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

The Renaissance is quite security conscious. Guests need to pass through a metal detector each time they enter, and all bags are examined, even if you are just returning from shopping. Once in, the hotel is nice, although I found the rooms overdecorated. but the bed was quite nice, as was the A/C. Those are important things! I also enjoyed the breakfast. I noted that the quoted rates on the Marriott website are higher than can be found. For example, I paid $91 a night, while the website does not have that rate.
The entrance to the hotel is through a parking lot, which adds almost two blocks to your walk. Finally, I left the hotel at 4 am to make my flight. I checked the night before and again on leaving and was assured I owed nothing, yet today my credit card reflects a $63 charge for reason quite unknown to me. That alone should put my rating down to a one star!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

The Luxury of this hotel speaks for itself...Amazing design, very colourful but not disturbing. The staff is very helpful. Quan Spa is worth experiencing. All in all I had a great stay...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

Stayed for over 10 nights in December and January

+ Location: Centrally located in the shopping district of Bangkok with larger and more luxurious malls than we will ever have in Toronto, Canada. SkyTrain (which is very clean and easy to use) is located less than 5 minutes from the front door of the hotel and that provides easy access throughout the city.
+ New and modern hotel; fashion-forward design; very clean
+ Rooms were comfortable and bathrooms were very nice
+ Room service was excellent as was service in the R Bar (however music could have been better; they may want to talk to the DJ at the Renaissance Phuket beach bar as he was spinning some great music)
+ Front desk, bell, door staff all very friendly and helpful

- Far too many mosquitoes in the lobby -- I am not sure why they can`t keep that under control.
- Pool was far too cold to do laps at only 22C. Most lap pools in North America are kept around 28 C
- Walkway from the street to the hotel could be nicer -- one evening a garbage truck was parked nearby which is never good in the tropical heat.

I would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel

Address: 518/8 Ploenchit Road | Lumpini, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#22 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#29 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#30 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#34 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel, guests are greeted by a 200 metre exotically landscaped driveway that leads them to our iconic blue glass building. Set back from the hustle and bustle, you're in Bangkok's most vibrant neighbourhood yet secluded in your very own oasis. The hotel is a stone's throw away from Central Chidlom, Central World and Siam Paragon, Bangkok's swankiest malls, and just around the corner from the Chit Lom BTS Station. โรงแรมเรเนซองส์ กรุงเทพฯ ราชประสงค์ยินดีต้อนรับคุณด้วยทางเข้าน้ำตกยาวกว่า 200 เมตรสู่ตัวโรงแรมซึ่งมีความเป็นเอกลักษณ์ด้วยตัวตึกสร้างด้วยกระจกสีน้ำเงิน ใจกลางย่านธุรกิจ และเป็นศูนย์รวมแหล่งช้อปปิ้ง ทั้งห้างสรรพสินค้าเซ็นทรัลชิดลม ห้างสรรพสินค้าเซ็นทรัลเวิลด์ สยามพารากอน และร้านค้าอื่นๆ อีกมากมาย เดินทางสะดวกสบายโดยรถไฟฟ้าบีทีเอสสถานีชิดลม ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Bangkok Ratchaprasong Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.