We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't expect much” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Miramar Hotel Bangkok

Save Saved
You added Miramar Hotel Bangkok to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Miramar Hotel Bangkok
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   777 Mahachai Road | Wangburaphapirom Phanakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #463 of 750 hotels in Bangkok
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Don't expect much”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

The some of the staff was friendly but spoke poor or no english. The doormen was helpful, going on the street in order to catch you a cab. Although the hotel is centrally lcated you still need to take a taxi, there is no public transport available near the hotel. Taxi drivers don't know the hotel (but this seems to be very common in Bangkok).
Rooms and services are OK but don't expect too much, no way this hotel is 4 stars, floors have a weird smell, the elevator is outdated and the internet was 60Bath per hours during our stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    30
    43
    14
    8
See reviews for
21
35
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin I
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Arrived late evening,pre-booked promised up-grade.Photograph of rooms must be as old as me! really could not be bothered to explain for tenth time. Staff were just about helpful, we seemed to be an inconvience rather than a welcomed customer, afraid to say for the next two days things didnt improve. only plus was parking and near KhoSan, Lifts, rooms and staff could all do with up-grade!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My family of four stayed one night and then I stayed by myself the second night due to appointments Monday morning in Bangkok. We pick this hotel for its proximity to the Grand Palace (and the Bangkok Marathon race start/finish). What a disappointment. I had used TripAdvisor to help pick a place but was not ready for how outdated this hotel is compared to other Bangkok hotels in this price range. I would say the rooms were clean except for the mold around the caulking of tub. My first room smelled of cigarettes and we were promptly moved and upgraded to bigger room - hotel is suppose to be smoke-free. You can hear when ever door on the floor is opened or shut at all hours of the day and that sounds like slamming doors. The doors are old school key style. There is no security box in the rooms. The is a huge lack of electrical outlets. In both rooms that I stayed in there are lamps that do not work. The reception desk was polite but not friendly. The best service was the doormen who would have to go out into traffic to try to find us a taxi. There is quite a bit of construction in the area so it is more difficult to get in and out of hotel at the moment. The worse service was when the front desk promptly called me when my family came up to grab their suitcases and I was told rudely that if they stayed in my room any longer that I would be charged for extra persons. Truly, they were just grabbing their overnight bags and returning to get a taxi to go home (while I'm still staying an extra night alone). Not that it's any of their business, I'm I not allowed to have guests in my room?? Very rude indeed. I would not recommend staying at this hotel. I will not be staying at any Miramar Hotels in my future.

Room Tip: There are not quiet rooms while construction is in the area and the hotel room doors echo through th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We got a special deal on this room and it still wasn't worth the money. The room was spacious, the decor was nice and it was clean. However, some of the lights didn't work, there was wifi but it costs 160 baht an hour. There was no swimming pool. There was no safe box in the room (or anywhere else that I noticed). There were two kinds of bottled water in the room and no indication as to which, if either, was complimentary, we had to ring the front desk and ask. There was also a kettle and cups but no coffee or tea, when we rang to ask if we were supposed to have any, the woman hung up on us.

Location is close to china town, but not as close as you are led to believe, best to get a tuk tuk and restaurants close by are scarce.

Overall, disspointed, not worth the money, would not recommend.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

Miramar located near the chinatown area, unfortunately eventhough its near, better take tuk tuk to go to chinatown area.

I got the biggest room which is room 640, they have 2 king size bed, bathtub, living room but small lcd tv and refrigerator.

Finding local food you have to walk a bit far but transportation is excellent, taxis and tuk tuks are available.

Surrounding area is kinda dusty due to they are building new routes of mrt, i can manage with that.

Overall this hotel is nice but old especially the elevator, bathroom is standard, the have wifi but have to buy the login, view depends on the room.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

The service was little disappointing, the receptionist had hard time speaking English, and they never smile.
The rooms are big and clean, but the toilet sink is old and ugly.
The restaurant within the hotel had good standard and offered good priced food.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Location - pretty poor; had read that it was near to chinatown/temples etc. In reality they were 15-20mins away or a few £ in a tuc-tuc (which can be hard to get given hotel's location)

Restaurant - food ok, small portions for the price though and service charge and tax are added on later. Lots of choice, but mostly Thai choice only. we had to wait over an hour one night when they had about 30people in for a set buffet menu - no idea why we were waiting cos the buffet food was all prepared!

Breakfast - very poor - 300tb/£6 for toast/porridge/bacon/egg/noodles/rice. No option for just toast and nowhere else nearby.

Room - clean and tidy but dark as the windows were near to the door and not the beds. wardrobe also by the door which was quite far from the beds. Strange!

Bathroom - small and not functionable for 4 people sharing for a few nights as nowhere to keep toiletries

Service - hit/miss. Many didn't speak english so we had to wait. Also needed a 2000tb cash deposit on arrival for key loss/mini bar. They had trouble getting a taxi for 10.30pm to go to airport.

Only 2 small lifts - not great when there's a coach load of people arriving early morning (could here the buses/passengers in the car park below our room) or early evening as we had to take the stairs to 5th floor.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Miramar Hotel Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miramar Hotel Bangkok

Address: 777 Mahachai Road | Wangburaphapirom Phanakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #463 of 750 hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Miramar Hotel Bangkok 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Tingo, Priceline, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Miramar Hotel Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miramar Hotel Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.