We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Got conned with ticket price at their window” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Calypso Cabaret

Calypso Cabaret
At Asiatique the Riverfront (Warehouse 3) | 2194 Charoenkrung 72-76 Rd., Prayakrai, Bangkorlaem, Bangkok 10120 Thailand, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
026881415
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #94 of 259 attractions in Bangkok
Type: Performances
Attraction Details
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Got conned with ticket price at their window”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

paid 1200 bhat per person at the window ..... later came to know the price are arnd 700 bhat of you buy from outside or agents...

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    151
    83
    36
    37
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Was not bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

For the first timer, it is interesting. It is decent show with free drinks on the table. Ask your hotel to book for you in advance and get early to get middle seats. Performance is based more on Korean and Japanese songs/acts so it might be funny if you know already however overall the show is beautiful. At the end of the show, you may take photo with performers by giving tips.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montmorency, Victoria, Australia
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Wasn't too sure what to expect, and we loved it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

A good night out
Everyone gets a free drink (:
The girls are stunning! I wish I looked that good in a dress!

They do lipsinc but to me that just adds to the over the top show y put on

Great performance and amazing production value

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Not the best in Thailand”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The theatre is well designed and every five people get a table,everyone will get a free drink,also you can choose fresh draft beer,but the show ifself is not very good. the performance is just so so and the performers is not the top class in Thailand. We think the Calypso is not better than the Simon show in Phuket and the ticket price is a little expensive.

the Calypso is located in the new Asiatique which is a good place to looking around ,relaxing and having a dinner. you can reach the place by taxi ,BTS plus shuttle boat and it is convenient

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A little disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I have heard about the transgender or lady boy community of Thailand and really admire those brave people. That what drove me to the show. The show was composed with broad-way style dance, and singing, and they tried to squeeze in traditional dance moves of many countries. The ladyboys were beautiful and the dance was great. They sure put a lot of effort to work on wardrobe and dance practice. However, I felt a bit disappointed as I was watching a Broadway copy version with lip synching. Perhaps I expected too much!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calypso Cabaret also viewed

 

Been to Calypso Cabaret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calypso Cabaret, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Calypso Cabaret to your Saves list