We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Have to Stay here if you are in Bangkok” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dang Derm Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Dang Derm Hotel to your Saves list
Dang Derm Hotel
1 Khaosan Road, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #415 of 772 Hotels in Bangkok
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“You Have to Stay here if you are in Bangkok”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

If you are going to Thailand for the craic, nightlife, drink and the odd bit of cultural activities, you have to kick off your trip by staying in the Dang Derm.

Very reasonably priced at around €12-15 a night, the rooms are quite modern, flat screen TV, good aircon and comfy enough. The beds are actually just matresses on the floor but who cares. There is a roof top pool where the sun is always belting down and you can get a few drinks at the bar as well.

It is located right in the middle of the Khao San Road and all the activity. It is very loud as there is music being blared on the road just beside the hotel, personally I loved this as its good music and adds to the buzz when you are there purely for the craic. Don't stay here if you're the type who wants to get up at 8am and do a walking tour of the area of anything like that. It is a party place.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    172
    122
    42
    55
See reviews for
37
155
49
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Just if you are looking for a convenient place for cruising the streets of Khao San Road, this is a very good location. If you are not worried about noise in the evenings, this place is a good price and the rooms are nice. HOWEVER, if you do wish to sleep before 4am...you might want to look at other hotels.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a quiet room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

it's a good place if you want to be on Khaosan. Rooms are nice and they have a good pool on the roof top opened until 2am!! Wifi and breakfast are also included, price is ok. Also good pizzas at the pool...

Of course don't take a room on the front because it's very loud at night. Don't come here if you want something very quiet.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

After a disaster on chooseing bad hotels our few nights in Bkk, we choose this one the last night there. A little more pricey than some around, but well worth the extra money. Clean, centeraly located & has a nice pool on the roof to cool off in. Free breakfast is a joke unless you want bad spaggetti first thing in the morning, but other than that, not bad considering its compitition in the area. Beds were alright, but its amazing what you would consider "alright' after backpacking for an extended amount of time in Thailand. Lucky enouph to get a room on the back side away from Khao San Rd, front rooms may be a bit noisy I would guess. Be sure to go up on the rooftop pool area at night with a drink & watch the circus down below, great view of the end of the street below, makes you feel out of the crazieness for a minute. If your an older traveler ( not 21 or younger) wanting to experience Khao San Rd for a night but dont want to stay in a complete dump, I would recomend it. Its no Hilton, but does the trick.

Room Tip: get there & book early in day, looked pretty full after noon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

I actually used the wifi in Dang Derm to find out about the horrible comments and ratings and realized it is all about luck and strategy to get a great sleep here at dang derm. Here are the tips

1.) Always request for a room NOT facing the Khao San Road.
2.) Do NOT be unhappy if the front desk treat you as a suspicious person who wish to steal and cheat them. I believe they had many bad experiences with the foreigners in the past thus having little trust even when you are the one who pay them money.

With 1 and 2, you can be a happy and satisfied guest just like me!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel and had a couple of guests in my room. We were only provided two glasses so i went to the front desk to request a couple more. The man at the front told me that we already have two and that if i broke one it'd cost me 500 baht. I explained the situation to him a second time and he told me to go buy some cups at 7/11 and walked off. At this point, i told him that i didn't appreciate his attitude toward me. His reply "If you don't like my attitude, we go outside." I could only laugh and walk back to my room.

On the other hand, the rooms are fairly nice but as others have mentioned it is located on a very noisy street.

TLDR: The front desk manager threatened to fight me.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

We worried that this hotel would be too loud for us (having experienced this in the nearby Khao San Palace) but asked for a quiet room (we were given one on the 5th floor, towards the back). The room was great and while we could hear a little of the noise of Khao San it was certainly not enough to disturb us....not even on a Sataurday night. Great pool/bar area. Staff were accomodating. The breakfast was ok but not the best and finishes at 9:30. That said, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dang Derm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dang Derm Hotel

Address: 1 Khaosan Road, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #415 of 772 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dang Derm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dang Derm Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.