We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel but not the perfect one...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sukhumvit Park, Bangkok - Marriott Executive Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sukhumvit Park, Bangkok - Marriott Executive Apartments to your Saves list
Sukhumvit Park, Bangkok - Marriott Executive Apartments
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   90 Sukhumvit Soi 24 | Khlongton, Khlongtoei, Bangkok 10110, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 757 Hotels in Bangkok
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
358 helpful votes 358 helpful votes
“A good hotel but not the perfect one...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The previous time I came to Bangkok it was JW Marriott in Sukhumvit, 2. This time I decided to try another Marriott and it was probably a mistake even the hotel was not bad at all. There were 3 facts we didn't like at all:
1. The room. I have booked the smoking suite as I am still smoking. I can assure you that I have never stayed in a room that was totally smoked like a smoking room at the airport. It is really strange as there are modern cleaning detergents that can eliminate almost any smell.
2. The location. It is rather far from the main street where the Sky Train station is situiated: it is more than 15 minutes walking time that is not so easy when it is around 35C in the air. The hotel offers a free tuk tuk shuttle service to the station that really helps but JW is only 100 meters from the station that is much more convenient.
3. The check in. I had asked for the smoking suite on a higher floor much in advance when I booked the room in August and it was confirmed. Nevertheless it was not noted at all when I checked in. Besides, my membreship number has disappeared from the system and I was lucky I asked them about that when checking in.
All the rest was OK. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, the room service was in time and the delivery to the airport was also well arranged.
There are several Western styled coffee shops around the hotel so you can go there in case you don't like the breakfast at the hotel. Besides there is a fantastic fish restaurant just opposite the hotel that looks perfect for a dinner.

Room Tip: Never stay on a smoking floor even you smoke: ask for the non smoking one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    87
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
78
70
25
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, WA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

For our short two-night stay in Bangkok we had King bed Studio unit #1104. This was a beautiful large space. The television provided BBC and (unfortunately) Fox News in addition to many sports and business channels. The large bathroom had a separate tub and a shower with one rain head and a second regular shower head. The towels were nice and thick.

The kitchen had a clothes washer, dishwasher, coffee maker, electric kettle, toaster, stove top, full-size refrigerator and a convection oven. My only real complaint was the many small items lacking. There was no detergent for the dishwasher or the washing machine. Nor was there any liquid detergent or scrubber for hand washing the dishes. Although coffee, tea, and sugar packets were provided, there was no salt and pepper. There were a few overpriced mini-bar items and an order form (due in at 10am) if you want them to shop for you.

The breakfast buffet (normally 400 THB) was fabulous with a huge assortment catering to all nationalities. If you have an early departure as we did our second morning, they will prepare a boxed breakfast for you to take along.

There is a charge for WiFi and the Business Center was only open from 8 am-5 pm which was not convenient at all.

The hotel provides a free shuttle service to the Emporium Mall and Skytrain. The Mall has a fifth-floor food court and grocery store. We used the shuttle both days, but it’s tricky to remember what exit to come out of the mall to find the shuttle stop for returning to the hotel. There are a 7-11 a few blocks away and a large seafood restaurant across the way. An ATM is located right across the street.

In all a very comfortable stay, but it would be nice if they did add those few missing necessities.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake in the Hills, Illinois
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

this hotel (i had a suite) has huge rooms. it is financially a good option for long trips as it has kitchen amenities, laundry, etc. the location for late night dining is so so, it is near the emporium mall and you can take free tuktuk to mall for dining and some other optons. for most food options you need to hop in a cab. the pool is very nice super clean and underused this time of year. all in all a very good option.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

A bit fancy for my taste, being truthful, but the apartments are equipped better than the average serviced apartment, especially in the kitchen area.
The staff is very friendly and knowleadgeable, the food at the restaurant is quite good [did not try the breakfast], and both pool and gym are very well maintained.
A shame that there is no wi fi in the rooms, which would be the one con I can mention, but their connection is still quite fast.
I do not think you need to take the tuk tuk to the main road; it's just 5-6 blocks or so.
Highly recommendable for a long stay.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The Marriott apartments are well kitted out and maintained. The gym and pool facilities are decent and the service has been friendly and helpful. It's definitely worth being a member of their rewards program for the upgrade and various freebies (internet, etc) that come with moving up the tiers, though you do have to stay quite a few nights for that.

The hotel runs a free tuk tuk service to the Emporium shopping centre where you can do everything from high end brand shopping to your groceries. Mind you, it's not cheap; the markets are the place for that. Right in front of the Emporium is the train station, making it very easy to get around.

Room Tip: If you're a frequent traveler, make sure you're in the rewards program to get an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The suite was spacious, very clean and has everything u need including a washing machine n dryer. The bathroom is huge. The staff were so hospitable n friendly n i would have to say that it was where i experienced the best customer service in my two weeks in thailand. The pool was great as was the kids room. Kandara Spa was amazing and worth every penny. My only criticism is that my hubby got an upset stomach from the club sandwich he ate from the hotel. He ate cheap street food so many times with no problems but fell ill from a 400baht club sandwich from the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This is the best hotel I have stayed at in Bangkok. The hotel is situated in an affluent area in Sukhumvit, the "main" road in Bangkok. The area occupied by the hotel is perceived by locals as the most luxurious section of Sukhumvit Road - the Chelsea/Toorak equivalent of high-rise Bangkok. The hotel is within easy reach of the skytrain (BTS Phrom Phong station) and the high-end Emporium shopping mall, which contains a multitude of luxury brands and restaurants.

The hotel is a 10 minute walk from the skytrain and a 2 minute ride on the complimentary hotel tuk tuk service. The red hotel tuk tuk drops/picks up guests at the Emporium Suites entrance, near the Hermes shop outside the Emporium shopping mall. The tuk tuk usually comes every 5 minutes or so. Guests can also call the hotel to have the tuk-tuk pick them up at Emporium shopping mall.

The surrounding area is quiet and safe at night. Traffic congestion is a big issue in Bangkok and the location of the hotel is very good in this regard. It is convenient but without the heavy traffic congestion issues of Chitlom, Siam and Asoke on Sukhumvit Road. Car and taxi access to the hotel is therefore very good.

The rooms are immaculately clean and come with a fully-equiped kitchen and complete laundry facilities. The bathroom is huge and impressive, containing a separate shower and bath. The size of the room is double that of standard 1 bedroom and some 2 bedroom luxury apartments in Bangkok - it is very spacious.

The gym is not as well equiped as other gyms (e.g. JW Marriott) but was sufficient for a good workout. The pool was not large or overly impressive. I have seen better pools elsewhere. The breakfast buffet was a bit of a hit and miss. Due to the size of the restaurant, there is only a limited range of food available and this changes every day. Some mornings it was fantastic, other mornings it was only average. The fancy dishes change but the standard breakfast fare is always on offer (eggs, bacon, sausages, congee, fruits, toast, etc.).

There are two flat screen TVs in the deluxe suite with access to cable TV, including National Geographic, TLC, cartoon, premier league soccer and news channels. A DVD player is also provided. Tennis, badminton, squash courts are also available at no charge to guests (although Marriot charges for equipment rental). A small golf putting course and an interactive golf simulator is also available for the golfers. The internet wifi service was reliable and fast (internet access was included in my package so I cannot comment on the outright cost).

The service at the hotel is fantastic and so far, the best I have experienced in Bangkok. The staff are polite, attentive to detail and highly competent. Between entering the hotel and reaching our room, we were showered with greetings and smiles from every member of staff we came across. House keeping was thorough - we did not have to wash even one piece of cutlery.

Many Japanese tourists and expats stay at the hotel and live in the surrounding area. The locals see the area as a "little Tokyo" as there are many restaurants, shops and other establishments that cater to the Japanese\. This is absolutely no problem for western tourists, as these establishments are typically very cordial, efficient, polite and english-speaking. Actually, I prefer this area to non-Japanese areas in Sukhumvit (Asoke, Ploenchit) for this reason.

There is a large seafood restaurant across the road from the hotel, where one buys the raw seafood ingredients and they will cook it however one wishes. Avoid the "Refresh 24" spa and massage shop, also located across the road, as the quality of service and massage is quite poor. Instead, try "Asia Herb Association", a Japanese owned massage shop that specialises in thai herbal compresses and thai massages, or "Centrepoint" massage. Both establishments are located on the same road as the hotel, towards the BTS station, and are clean and professional. A Japanese Onsen (traditional Japanese bathhouse) is located near the hotel (ask the concierge) and would make a worthwhile and relaxing visit. K-village, a lifestyle mall is also situated nearby, with many modern shops and restaurants, and provides a change of scenery from Emporium. Other types of "massage" shops are also located near the hotel for those so inclined.

There are a few minor things that are negative about the hotel - and I am being unnecessarily pedantic, for completeness. If you are reliant on the BTS skytrain system (and you should be, due to the speed, efficiency and convenience of it), you will need to rely on the hotel tuk-tuk service to ferry you to/from the BTS Station. This is generally not a problem, but a small wait may be required during busy times (5-10 mins). It is a 10 minute walk to the BTS station if you cannot be bothered waiting. The breakfast buffet is also limited with the selection of food quite small compared to other hotels. Aside from the above, the hotel is fantastic. It is so well run and managed. This is my new "go-to" hotel in Bangkok.

At face value, this hotel seems expensive compared to other hotels. However, for the standard of service and quality of accomodation that you get, it is actually very good value for money. This is something that I have found to be quite rare in Bangkok. Go on, spoil yourself. You can't go wrong with this one.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sukhumvit Park, Bangkok - Marriott Executive Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sukhumvit Park, Bangkok - Marriott Executive Apartments

Address: 90 Sukhumvit Soi 24 | Khlongton, Khlongtoei, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#17 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#25 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#27 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#75 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sukhumvit Park, Bangkok - Marriott Executive Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marriott Executive Apartments Sukhumvit Park – Bangkok offers you all of the comforts of home combined with the safety and flexibility you need, and can depend upon to make your stay in Bangkok stress free and productive, be it for a stay of a few days, weeks, or even months at a time. Conveniently located in walking distance to Phrom Phong BTS station and Emporium Shopping centre, or just a two minute ride in one of our two tuk tuks, which run regularly throughout the day, makes it easy to access all of Bangkok’s commercial areas and famous tourist attractions such as the Grand Palace, Jim Thompson House, the Weekend market or anyone of the numerous department stores in Bangkok. With a range of suites, starting from our spacious 45sqm Studio Suites, 65sqm One Bedroom Suites and 130 sqm Two Bedroom Suites, We have an option for families of all sizes, be it for a stay of one night or one year. All suites are extensively decorated, with large windows highlighting the panoramic views of the city, and comfortably furnished from the 37 inch LCD TV in every room, fully equipped gourmet kitchen, through to the spacious, dedicated work area designed to give you room to work and room to live. All public areas and rooms of the hotel are wifi accessible and every desk also has cable internet, allowing you to take advantage of our fast 65mb international internet connection. Extensive facilities throughout the hotel make it the ideal location to retreat from the hustle and heat of the city after a long day of sightseeing or a tough day at the office. Our 25m pool is located on the third floor, along with the Bar on 3, Kandara Spa and 24 hour gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Otel, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Sukhumvit Park, Bangkok - Marriott Executive Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sukhumvit Park, Bangkok - Marriott Executive Apartments Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sukhumvit Park, Bangkok - Marriott Executive Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.