We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value of money!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Pearl Residences

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Pearl Residences to your Saves list
Golden Pearl Residences
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   69 Sukumvit 101/1 Road | Bangchak, Prakanong, Bangkok 10260, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #144 of 565 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 stars 71 Reviews
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“value of money!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

The room was so big and well - equipped given it is the junior one!
location might far away from the center of Bangkok
but many restaurants ,food vendors and convenience stores nearby!
The staff was friendly especially the door attendants
If you are looking for a trip of relaxing, enjoying yourself, out of the
noisy environment , I will definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    40
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
12
5
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
bangkok
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

I stayed at the Golden Pearl for two nights and was so impressed after i came back from Phuket i stayed another four nights, i have stayed at many Bangkok Hotels but this would have to be the best for sure.
The rooms ( junior room) was the biggest hotel room i have stayed, they even have a kitchen where you can cook if you like, seperate bedroom, two lcd tv's, big balcony, lovely clean pool, fitness centre, the hotel is spotless.
The staff at reception speak very good english which is a great help if your thai is poor.
They will help you with anything you want to know, they do not supply breakfast in the price which was not a real problem as we ate out except for one dinner, unfortunately the restaurant let them down, the service was slow and not friendly, this is mainly because they have male waiters, they should have female waitress's as they are much more efficient and friendly that thai men.
We ordered our drinks first and received the food first, it was very disappointing because everything else was good. There are many good restaurants close by to eat, so give the restaurant a miss. When we checked out they even called a taxi for us.
But i would stay here again for sure and recommend to all my family and friends.

Room Tip: The junior rooms are massive, all rooms are g
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

Dear Friends!

Golden pearl hotel is a perfect place to livein for a business trip.

Main advantage for me while staying in golden pearl was bigger rooms and kitchen. I am from india and love cooking vegetarian food. Here thay are providing microwave, a big refrigerator, most of the utensils used for food recipe.
Very cost effective compared to other hotels i 've been staying in thailand.

There are also street massage nearby for relaxation after a long walk for shopping.

Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

brilliant place .to suit all travellers ,more you know bkk the more you know localion to suit you ,

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

Whenever my family travels to Bangkok we try to stay at serviced apartments as we have children and tend to stay awhile (we have relatives and friends in Thailand). It's simply more convenient to have a full kitchen and furnished apartment to stay in than a small hotel room. These kinds of places seem to be growing in popularity within Bangkok. 5 years ago the options were fewer and more expensive. These days it seems like every year another operation opens up. Golden Pearl is one of the newer serviced apartments out there.

The good:
- Nicely decorated and spacious rooms.
- Well appointed modern kitchen with full utensils and decent-sized fridge
- 24 hr staffed security and front desk to assist you whenever needed.
- Convenient restaurant and pool on-site.
- Plenty of local street vendors and local businesses for most of your needs.
- Within walking distance to Piyarom Sports and Shopping complex
- Security guards at the gate were outstanding and very friendly and helpful.

The not so good:
- Phones in the room barely work. We thought it was just one room, but we switched rooms mid-stay and the phone in the new room was just as bad. You had to play and wiggle with the cord just to get a dial tone or be able to hear anyone on the line.
- We tend to eat and shop local when we travel, but I imagine most Western tourists would find this serviced apartment not ideally located. It is pretty far from downtown or central Sukhumvit areas and there is not a whole lot outside of Piyarom that caters to tourists or businessmen. There is a new BTS station (not yet open) that when opened will be a 10-15 minute walk from the hotel, so that will be an improvement at some point. But for now one would have to take a taxi to On Nut BTS station or some other method to get into town or go shopping.
- Floors could have been cleaner: They swept / vacuumed the floors every day but didn't bother to remove any stains or anything else stuck to the floors. For example, if there was some juice spilled on the floor and it left a sticky residue you could probably expect that residue to still be there a couple days later - they just vacuumed over it.
- No in-room laundry. We wrongly assumed the apartments would have their own clothes washer - every other serviced apartment we have stayed in has their own washing machine. Not here. They have a small laundry room with two washing machines on the ground floor, but it would have been much easier to be able to wash clothes within our apartment.
- While WiFi internet access was free (included in the room) they have this very annoying process of getting a username and password every single day. We stayed there for 2 weeks and every single morning we had to either call down to the front desk or pick up a piece of paper with the username and password for that day. We would wake up in the morning and fire up the computer and then suddenly the internet would stop working and we'd discover we needed another username and password. Very irritating to have to stop what you are doing and get new access to the internet and then login all over again. Especially struggling with the cheap in-room phones that don't work so well.

The only other somewhat bad experience we had was when checking out they tried to charge us for some instant noodles they claimed we ate (they have some snacks and food in each apartment that they call their "mini-bar" and will charge you if you eat any of them). I was in a hurry to get to the airport (we were running late) and the amount was not too much so while I wasn't happy I was prepared to just deal with it. But when my wife found out she flipped out - turns out she had purchased at the local grocery store and eaten the exact same brand of instant noodle at some point and when the maids saw it in the trash they wrongly assumed we had eaten the hotel's. My wife had already previously notified them (unbeknown to me - I was out at the time) that they better not charge her as she had noted the maid wrongly assumed we ate the hotel noodles. Long story short, after a total meltdown by my wife they refunded the small mini-bar charge. Lesson learned, check the mini-bar items every day and make sure they don't mark you for them - keep your locally purchased food well away from the room items the hotel provides you.


The prices for Golden Pearl are pretty reasonable compared to other serviced apartments we have stayed at, especially considering the newness of the place and the size of the apartments. And if you don't mind eating and shopping at mostly local restaurants and shops, you will find it somewhat convenient, but it's a hike to get to downtown or any western / touristy areas. I would recommend it to families or those preferring a more comfortable place for longer stays who are looking for a value. But i have stayed at better serviced apartments within Bangkok.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zhuhai
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

It was my first trip to bangkok that I chose to stay at Golden Pearl Residences. First, the negative: the location is quite far from city centre. Don't be deceived by the address Sukumvit. Sukumvit is a very very long road that runs all the way from one end of the line all the way through to the city centre. The nearest skytrain station is not within walking distance so you'll have to take a cab. It usually takes around 15 min even though it's only a five minute drive or less due to the heavy bangkok traffic. Always take the skytrain because the traffic will kill you. Also, if you are taking a cab home, always pay extra 45baht to take the highway because it's much faster that way. Remember to take a hotel card as taxi drivers may not know the residence. Remember also to remind drivers that it is 101 SLASH 1 (101/1) and not 101 as they tend to turn into the wrong street. That said, we really don't have much to complain about the hotel. The rooms are suite size with a living and dining area and the room service is prompt - average to decent food at affordable rates. The staff is especially commendable. I stayed there for a week and everyday, every single staff tended to all my enquiries helpfully to the extent they even made phonecalls or went onto the internet to answer all my questions. I can't speak enough about their politeness and initiative. I read other reviews about their English but I didn't find it a problem. They spoke better English than most of the other people I had to deal with in Bangkok. My aircon leaked quite badly on the second day and they sent someone to look to it and the problem was promptly settled. There is also a nice pool at the rooftop of the adjacent building so you can catch a nice nightview of Bangkok during a swim. The pool closes at 9 supposedly but we went in there after 10 anyway and had the whole rooftop to ourselves. So, all in all, highly recommended as long as you don't mind taking a taxi, followed by a skytrain each time you had to go to the city.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

brand new rooms , value for money, nice design of rooms, quiet area,
cons: staff spoken english poor, bit far from main shopping area,
overall price justifie to stay ,

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Pearl Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Pearl Residences

Address: 69 Sukumvit 101/1 Road | Bangchak, Prakanong, Bangkok 10260, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 565 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Pearl Residences 3.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Golden Pearl Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Pearl Residences Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Pearl Residences, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.