We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic B&B in Old City Bangkok. AMAZING time.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bhuthorn

Save Saved
You added The Bhuthorn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bhuthorn
96-98 Phraeng Bhuthorn Rd., | Phranakhorn,, Bangkok 10200, Thailand (Old City)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1 NIGHT FREE PROMOTION!
Ranked #5 of 440 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Santa Monica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Historic B&B in Old City Bangkok. AMAZING time.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

My husband and I made The Bhuthorn our first stop on a 2-week trip to Thailand for our honeymoon. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and would definitely return.

We weren't looking for the sterile resort experience; we were in active pursuit of a comfortable, hospitable place to stay that offered us a real look at Bangkok without the tourism veneer.

The Bhuthorn is a true B&B. It's family-owned. There are only three units in total (ours was air-conditioned, to contradict a previous review). It's been registered as an historic building, and therein lies much of the charm-- exposed beams, antique furniture, original floors. Aesthetically, it was charming, colonial, quiet and relaxing. Amenities-wise, we had wi-fi, cable, toiletries, the whole nine. Zero complaints.

Chitlada and her family were exceptionally gracious. Our flight came in in the late hours of the evening, and they were up to greet us when we arrived. They prepared delicious breakfasts for us, recommended tour guides and offered their expertise for local food markets when we left by foot to explore. They checked in with us regularly, and made us feel well taken care of. On the way out, they helped us secure taxi transport to our next stop, and even sent us off with a lovely parting gift (a handmade scarf, which I wear regularly).

The hotel is walking distance (or short tuk-tuk ride) to a ton of viewing attractions. You can get to the Grand Palace, Wat Po or the river ferries in 15 minutes or fewer by foot. Again, Chitlada was a fantastic resource when we asked her for assistance.

If you've been accustomed to the typical "hotel" experience, however (bar/restaurant in the building, gym and pool, 24 hour concierge, nightlife-adjacency), you're barking up the wrong tree. This place (and its environs) is for the travelers who appreciate adventures off the beaten path, who have an open mind and welcome pleasant surprises.

If you're looking for affordable mainstream hotels, check Le Meridien or something. Leave this place to the folks who appreciate life's hidden gems. We certainly did!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    140
    15
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
96
18
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
34280
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

you feel like home and the service and the advices are perfect
it is the best place I know in bangkok after so many trips there

Room Tip: there is only three rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

We stayed in Bhurtorn and same as FlyinggirlLB's review, we are not sure about this place and totally agree with her review.
Some of things we really disliked:
1.Miniture place
2.During the evening, the hotel closes up quite early meaning that you need to find a member of staff to open up the shutters to let you out. We wanted to grab a late night snack and investigate the local nightlife but this was not possible.
3.They asked for full, upfront payment minute we arrived, that's definitely not a standard in Bangkok&the whole Thailand
4. We stayed in the most expensive room where we expected sitting area but instead of a sofa in front of the tv, we had a huge wooden low table with a single mattras on top of it, very strange and very uncomfortable and definitely not a thing to relax on after a busy day

There are too many rules and restrictions in this hotel. Go and stay somewhere else, so many wonderful B&Bs to find out there!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London/New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

I am very undecided about this place...mostly because for the same money we could have stayed in an amazing luxury hotel (with air conditioning! don't under estimate how much you will want it in Bangkok) that we could not have afforded elsewhere. It is charmingly decorated and the breakfasts are a nice touch, but I did not really feel the attention or hospitality others describe. It was hard communicating with the staff (owners' kids?), and it is difficult for airport taxis and tour guides to find the B and B, which is stressful for all involved. Overall, for a lower price, we would probably give it a higher score.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

The boss's smile is very frendly, everything here is fine make me just like at home. The feeling is so good, and the room is very quiet and very clean. Breakfast is very delicious and very abundant. Coffee is perfect, too. It's very closer to the Tai Palace, only 5-10 minutues.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

The Bhuthorn is a wonderful small, intimate B&B in what is truly "living Bangkok" you are surrounded by a neighbourhood that is rich in culture and history while co-existing with people going about their everyday activities. A perfect position to explore this amazing old town. The building itself is immaculate with tastefully decorated rooms and overall decor. The breakfast is superb and the sampling of a Thai dish each day was a real treat! Chitlada was an absolutely brilliant host and was on hand to provide advice and suggestions to all our enquiries, nothing was remotely difficult for her or her small team. Our room was lovely, it was the Nara, a split level set up with airconditioning and a good clean serviceable bathroom, all ammenities were available. We saw inside the Bhuthorn room, more open plan than the Nara and on one level but in a lovely sunny position looking out over the communal square. We did not stay in the downstairs room but It may have some foot traffic noise from upstairs? If your thing is getting away from huge chain hotels with pre packaged decor and smiles than the Bhuthorn is what you want, genuine care and great hospitality wrapped up in a well appointed building in a great location -

Room Tip: The 2 upstairs room would definitly be my pick!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

The Bhuthorn is certainly very different to what you normally stay in on any vacation. It is unique and is definitely worth the extra Baht. It is like a mini Aladdin’s Cave with interesting artefacts and antique furniture. They also serve the best Thai breakfast ever. Chitlada and her staff are very helpful in a way that is unique to Chitlada and you will need to stay here to know what we mean. We stayed 3 nights and followed Chitlada’s advice of what to see. We recommend her choice of evening river cruise and dinner. The boat was smaller and more intimate with Thai dancers, unlike the large modern boats that could be in any country. Do try Chitladas Thai iced tea it is very refreshing and very welcome. Do not worry about other comment regarding the taxi driver shaving difficulty in finding it, Chitlada is always at the end of her phone to help.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Bhuthorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bhuthorn

Address: 96-98 Phraeng Bhuthorn Rd., | Phranakhorn,, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Old City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 440 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bhuthorn,a newly operated hotel located in the heart of oldtown Bangkok, one of the well-preserved community registered to the Fine Art Department of Thailand. The Bhuthorn, a century-old shophouse has been converted into a boutique accommodation with exclusively 3 guestrooms. Each room has been decorated in their own individual characteristics with a colonial atmosphere. Our main targets are travelers who, while traveling, love to enjoy arts, history, people, and places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Bhuthorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bhuthorn Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bhuthorn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.