We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy place, good value, many vegie options” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hemlock

Hemlock
56 Phra Arthit | Chanasongkram, Phra Nakorn District, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
+66 2 282 7507
Improve this listing
Ranked #373 of 8,076 Restaurants in Bangkok
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: Thai, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The first art restaurant in Thailand with deep Thai foods root.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Classy place, good value, many vegie options”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Really enjoyed our dinner here in early March 2013. The restaurant seems small but I think there's possibly an upstairs section. You might want to call ahead, we did. There's a bit of a Frenchy vibe about the place. Extensive and interesting menu with heaps of vegetarian options. It's not fine dining but really nice nonetheless. Would be very happy to dine here again if I ever return to Bangkok.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    50
    11
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good food, nice relaxed atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

A nice little restaurant on the outskirts of the backpacker ghetto. Large menu with extensive selection of thai food including some 'ancient' recipes one would assume you'd struggle to find elsewhere. Friendly well spoken staff. Quick service and really delicious food. Would recommend the Grand Lotus stir fried rice!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I made reservations for dinner and had a great experience. The service was fine and the prices were good. The leaves with mango to start were really good and different. The grilled steak with cilantro over rice with chili sauce was very good. My wife had a wide noodle with chicken(I can't remember what it was called) and it was good. We would definitely eat here again if we return.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Better than most in the area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is a cozy little restaurant which fills up quickly around dinner time. Spring rolls are good but a little too sweet with the dipping sauce. The curries and stir fries are pretty good too.  Prices are reasonable for the location and atmosphere. 

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“A new favourite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We went here after a recommendation from another friend who returns to Bangkok year after year. Hemlock did not disappoint. Great food, AC, quiet, nice ambience, good selection of food, attentive satff and at good value prices. Looking forward to going back already;

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hemlock also viewed

 

Been to Hemlock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hemlock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.