We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel with friendly atmosphere in the old city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sourire @ Rattanakosin Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sourire @ Rattanakosin Island to your Saves list
Sourire @ Rattanakosin Island
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   235 Rachadumnurn Ave | Pranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 449 Bangkok B&B and Inns
1 review
“nice hotel with friendly atmosphere in the old city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

nice & quiet location. it's a short walk to the river or khlong to take a boat.
Rooms are simple but clean and have a nice bed.
we started our trip here and decided to come back here for the last days of our holiday.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    102
    16
    7
    3
See reviews for
19
100
25
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barrington, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in an AC double. Breakfast was fantastic and substantial, staff were very friendly and helpful when we needed directions around the city. We arrived at 2am and there was someone on the desk to check us in for our reservation. Air conditioning worked well and the rooms were lovely and quiet. It was easy to find because we had given the taxi driver their number and he called them twice, once dropped off it was a short walk down a dark road but felt safe because some friendly locals were around. It was a little pricey but Bangkok is in general. great location, right near long boat stop, Kaosan rd (if your into that) and not too far to walk to royal palace, museums etc.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue, France
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Initially difficult to find....that's for sure. Be sure you have their number to call as even the taxi driver became totally confused! Once there, down a little back lane, not far from the center of everything, I learnt later, things began to look up! My room was average size, small shower room, bit noisy, but clean and comfortable. The breakfasts (included in the super inexpensive price) were plentiful and excellent. Most often my lunch was a good coffee or two and I needed nothing more until dinner. The staff were very attentive though their English language skills were not good. Internet worked well. Once I got my bearings, I realised that this out of the way little spot was great for heading off in all sorts of directions. I'm happy to walk and quickly discovered so much so close...and when not so close, I spent many happy journeys up and down the rivers using the easy and incredibly inexpensive river transport system. So a little gem if you're happy to forgo the frills.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grouw, Friesland, Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Though it's hard to find, the first time you go there, it's worth while. The rooms were comfortable en quiet and the bed was good.
In the morning I was looking forward of the breakfast, cause the omelet was delicious. Staff was friendly and trips were easily to book at the hoteldesk.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Bathtub, free and fast wi-fi, desk.
The hotel is clean and cozy. I especially like this hotel because it's only five minutes to go to Khao San, and same time it's very quiet place without any rumor.
They have a small kitchen with kettle (no gas cooker)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

down a dark road, right by khao san road, so please be careful around this area. one of our party got her handbag stolen by a motorcyclist theif on first night of our holiday, so please please execute caution around this area. as for the hotel though - they were so lovely and helpful, especially during the ordeal. the rooms are clean and offers excellent value for money. would recommend as a good base for bangkok. also please do go to khao san road...it's an eye opener.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luneburg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

- regular sized clean room (cleaned every day)
- nice hard beds
- room with fridge, electric kettle, mini bar, nice furniture
- regular sized bathroom, with an interesting waterdrain system (wet floor after take a shower)
- noisy air con
- near the Democracy Monument, not far away to the touristy KhaoSan Road or if you need McDo.
- Not far from Bangkok's historic centre, but located in a green and quite back ally
- the woman at the recption could speak very well english, the other staff didn't
- free wifi
- nice but expansive breakfast

- stayed there in the end of low season, deluxe room with extra bed, ~2350 Baht/Night +200Baht extra for the third breakfast

Room Tip: first listen to the aircon!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sourire @ Rattanakosin Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sourire @ Rattanakosin Island

Address: 235 Rachadumnurn Ave | Pranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 449 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sourire @ Rattanakosin Island 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sourire @ Rattanakosin Island is a boutique hotel offering 38 charming rooms. Located in the heart of Bangkok's main historical attractions including Wat Phra Kaew and Wat Pho, the hotel is also just a few minutes from Khao San Road's shopping, eating and nightlife. The Sourire provides the personal touch and care which the Thai hospitality is famous for. Furnished with Thai golden teak wood, each bedroom has been individually restored to create its own charming atmosphere, combining traditional elegance with modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sourire @ Rattanakosin Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sourire @ Rattanakosin Island Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sourire @ Rattanakosin Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.