We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed with Trader Vic's, Bangkok” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Trader Vic's

Trader Vic's
257 Charoennakorn Road | Anantara Bangkok Riverside, Bangkok, Thailand
(66) 2 476 0022
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #357 of 8,044 Restaurants in Bangkok
Cuisines: Barbecue, Caribbean, Polynesian, Pacific Rim
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Pattaya, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Disappointed with Trader Vic's, Bangkok”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

I had previously dined at Trader Vic's in Bangkok on several occasions over the past 6 - 7 years. Prior to my most recent experience on Saturday evening January 5, 2014 I was always exceptionally satisfied with everything they offered. Their previously outstanding barbecued spare ribs with the finest sauce you can imagine is no longer offered. Their once fabulous barbecued spare ribs are now served with a very disappointing poor tasting overly salty flavored "fake" sauce. I found the service offered to be lacking. Very unusually long wait for the items we ordered. The once famous Mai Thais were not the ones that we ordered. Poor bar-tending. Needless to say I will opt for another restaurant to dine at when in Bangkok.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorsten K, Manager at Trader Vic's, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent visit to Trader Vic’s and your constructive feedback. I noted your comments regarding the ribs, service time and Mai Tai cocktails, which did not exceed your expectations and is certainly the opposite of what our Trader Vic’s team, is striving to achieve. I would like to assure you that your comments regarding the food quality have been taken into account and are validated against the original Trader Vic’s recipes.

Thank you once again for your thoughtful feedback and please feel free to discuss your recent experience personally and I am more than happy to be contacted under tkratschmer@anantara.com.

Yours Sincerely,

Thorsten Kratschmer
Director of Food & Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    22
    13
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
“Good food, live Spanish band, go for the Mai Tai cocktails”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Tried Mai Tai for the first and simply loved it. The food was good, service is nice and the live band was awesome. If you are living in Anantara Riverside, this one is a must-go.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Still Pleasant and Original”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Enjoyed going to Trader Vic's enormously. Still pleasant and original after all these years. It was the second time for us at Trader Vic's Bangkok. Previously, decades ago, I visited the Trader Vic's in Encino, London, and Tokyo. Thoroughly enjoyed the interesting drinks and rather strange food on the menu every single time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“Very good dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Though I have been to other Trader Vic's restaurants, this was my first visit to Anantara Riverside.

Overall I liked it. The cocktails were very good. The wine list is limited and they didn't have the Chilan red that I asked for though the French second choice was probably better.

There was also a rather limited menu but that didn't matter as there was enough choice and we were both very happy with what we got. The Hawaiian pork dish was particularly well done.

The atmosphere was nice though perhaps not quite as exotic as the other Trader Vic's I have been to, though of course it was pleasant being on the riverside. The band was excellent and we stayed after dinner for a couple more coktails to listen to them.

I will go back - probably for their Christmas Eve special dinner.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorsten K, Manager at Trader Vic's, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to thank you for your feedback and recent visit at Trader Vic’s.
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit and food in general and would like to apologize that your first choice of wine was not available. I would be more than happy to make the booking arrangement for your next visit personally and please do not hesitate to contact me on tkratschmer@anantara.com.

Once more thanking you for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor and looking forward to welcoming you back.


Yours Sincerely,

Thorsten Kratschmer
Director of Food & Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bromma
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“ullaoarne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Best Sunday brunch in Bangkok! Best we ever had ! Seafood , sushi, thai , BBQ , cheesees
and dessert ! Good wines and bubble! We really recommend it !

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorsten K, Manager at Trader Vic's, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to thank you for your visit at Trader Vic’s and we highly appreciated the time you took to share about your recent experience. We are glad you liked and enjoyed all services offered and looking forward to welcoming you back soon, here at our Sunday's Brunch.

Yours Sincerely,

Thorsten Kratschmer
Director of Food & Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trader Vic's also viewed

 
Bangkok, Thailand
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Trader Vic's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trader Vic's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.