We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel but....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit to your Saves list
Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   189 Sukhumvit Road Soi 13-15 | Klongtoey Nuea, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Chic Aperitif
Ranked #27 of 778 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Chonburi, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Hotel but....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

This is an excellent Hotel situated in the heart of the popular Sukhumvit Road. The Rooms are big and well equipped, the staff are friendly and very eager to help in any way. However, as good as the hotel is, the surrounding area leaves a little to be desired. About a 2 minute walk from the Hotel is a 7/11, outside this shop are several African gentlemen who are blatantly selling drugs. Also, there are quiet a few ladies of the night loitering around the area. However, if the above does not bother you, which it did not me, then this is a good place to stay. I shall be staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William J, General Manager at Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Dear thomasbroad,

Thank you for your comment on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our comfortable room and the friendly services. Regarding the surrounding outside the hotel, as you know it is safe and secure to stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back again.

Sincerely,
William Haandrikman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,224
    395
    120
    34
    23
See reviews for
252
662
249
310
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Iwaki, Japan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Every time I visited Bangkok I stayed sofitel bangkok sukhumvit. The reason of often staying here was the staff, I felt their kindness and warm welcoming. Two years has passed since this hotel opened, still charming.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William J, General Manager at Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Yasuhiro K,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit every time you visit Bangkok.

We are pleased to know that you appreciated the service provided by our ambassadors. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Sincerely,

William Haandrikman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

I always expect a Sofitel to exceed its sister group hotels, hence the 4/5.

We had a corner room on the 20th floor for 4 nights. Club Milliseme. Bedroom was perfect, bed cosy and well equipped with eg coffee maker, cafetiere, music system, Hermes bathroom amenities. On the 3rd morning we were woken at 9.00am by the heavy drilling at the construction site next door. And 8.35 on the final day. We had a turndown service 3 out of 4 nights ( not something to get worked up about )

The lift was incredibly slow - sometimes waiting for 6 minutes to get one of the 6?
The pool was not really big enough for everyone. (Particularly if you actually want to swim) The maximum use of the small area had been made. Fruit, water and cold towels were brought to you. Sunbeds and cabanas beautiful but with kids jumping in all around it lost the ambience. The pool staff were continually having to tell kids not to jump in (over other guests) There was no designated smoking area so people would pick up ashtrays and start smoking on top of you. The sides of the pool also need a good scrub.

The Club lounge had an excellent breakfast and superb drinks menu in the evening. Staff excellent. Snacks in happy hour were limited ( compared to eg Novotel Siam / Subvanaphumi)

The staff excelled in customer service. From the security guard who saluted us whenever we left, the door openers/greeters, amazingly patient pool staff and superb lounge team.

Great location - 5 mins walk to Nana and Asok, Terminal 21.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William J, General Manager at Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear martine_floridahome,

Thank you for taking the time writing your comment on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to see that you appreciated the service provided by our ambassadors. However we regret that you were distubed by the noise from outside construction. We are deeply sorry for the inconsistency of turndown service and for all inconveniences caused to you.

Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit is committed to providing a high level of service to our guests and we promise to work even harder to regain your trust and confidence in us.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and it is our hope to see you again soon where you can withness the improvements we have made.

Sincerely,

William Haandrikman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

The hotel itself is great in terms of location and style and finishes..
It is sad the desk has only one outlet, no CNN on the TV, AC controls end up hot or cold..
Elevator music in the Club Lounge is terrible ..
Housekeeping was inconsistent in replenishing teas and soaps.
All little things that detract from what the hotel could be...
Much better options in the area..

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William J, General Manager at Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear R L,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us your experience in our hotel, we really appreciate it.
To reach a great guest experience is a must for us and at every Sofitel around the world, and we work very hard for it, we believe that having the chance to know what you have experienced is the best tool we can have to improve and like this reach our promises.

We are sorry for all inconveniences caused to you; please accept our apologies. We take these issues seriously and we are taking significant steps so that the similar situations do not take place again.

Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit is committed to providing a high level of service to our guests and we promise to work even harder to regain your trust and confidence in us.

Sincerely,

William Haandrikman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

It is a first time stay at this hotel, the hotel room is big enough and very clean, i stay in a city view room. the location is very good, it between two sky train station, it take 3-4 mins to the station on foot, hotel near a shopping mall T21, it;s great,

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William J, General Manager at Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Timokinkin,

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit. Thank you very much for your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Sincerely,

William Haandrikman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

The club rooms and package are excellent value.

The roof bar is amazing and had views across tre city

I will stay again

I have stayed in many hotels in Bangkok and I would say this is one of the best.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William J, General Manager at Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Richardawelland,

Thank you for sharing your comment regarding your recent stay at Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the room, our Club Millesime benefits and the amazing view from l'Appart.

We look forward to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

William Haandrikman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

This hotel was absolutely magnificent! The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, welcoming you in such a lovely manner whenever you entered the hotel after a long day of sightseeing. After a few hiccups at check-in that were resolved very quickly we were escorted to our room. The room we were given was gorgeous, situated on the corner of the hotel, relatively high up on club level. It was very large and spacious and well appointed. The whole package was wonderful, making for a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William J, General Manager at Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear CheCheRose,

Thank you for your positive feedback on TripAdvisor.

I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcome you at Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit in the near future.

Sincerely,

William Haandrikman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
1.3 mi away
Sofitel So Bangkok
Sofitel So Bangkok
#17 of 778 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 stars 2,097 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
0.1 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Bangkok, Sukhumvit 15
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Le Meridien Bangkok
Le Meridien Bangkok
#13 of 778 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 stars 2,357 reviews
1.2 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok
1.0 mi away
Hotel Muse Bangkok Langsuan - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit

Address: 189 Sukhumvit Road Soi 13-15 | Klongtoey Nuea, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 778 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit 5*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit is centrally located on Sukhumvit road. It surrounded by major business, shopping and entertainment venues, a short walking distance to Asoke or NaNa BTS (skytrain) and MRT Sukhumvit (subway) stations. The luxurious 5-star Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit hotel features a 23-meter (75-foot) outdoor swimming pool, a 24-hour gym and Le SPA with L'Occitane. Along with free Wi-Fi, the hotel also kid friendly, has 24-hour room service and free parking. Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit is 2 miles from Lumpinee Boxing Stadium, 2 miles from Jim Thompson House and 3 miles from the Thai National Museum. It is 16 miles from Suvarnabhumi International Airport. The exclusive Le SPA with L’Occitane features a hydrotherapy bath, sauna facilities and relaxing massage services. The hotel also provides a business center, tour desk and laundry services. Sunday brunch, buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as international dishes can be enjoyed at Voilà Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit. The stunning rooftop Sofitel Sukhumvit L'Appart French restaurant offers a champagne lounge and beautiful Bangkok views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, ACCOR, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.