We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit to your Saves list
Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   189 Sukhumvit Road Soi 13-15 | Klongtoey Nuea, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
So relaxing package
Ranked #37 of 766 Hotels in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 stars 1,342 Reviews
Bristol
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We booked this hotel via Kuoni as part of a two centre stay in Thailand. We stayed for three nights and were thoroughly impressed with everything about this hotel. Kuoni had informed the hotel that it was our wedding anniversary during our stay, so on arrival after being presented with a cold towel and refreshing drink, we were also told our room had been upgraded. I was not to a more superior room but to a higher floor level and so better views over Bangkok. We stayed in a luxury room with a park view, room 2506 which also meant we had late check out included. The room was modern, clean and included everything that you would expect, including a small plate of fruit on arrival.

The breakfast was fantastic with such a varied selection of hot food such as an English cooked breakfast to noodles, sushi, pancakes, waffles, fresh fruit, pastries and cereal. There was also a good selection of fruit and juices, including freshly made smoothies. The only thing we found a little inconsistent at breakfast was that on our first day we were presented with pastries and breads at the table, this did not happen on the second or third day and clearly as the table had been reset, it did not include replacing the butter or jam and so we had to ask for this on our second and third days.

The location of the hotel could not be better, a two minute walk from Nana BTS Sky train station giving easy access to the Chao Phraya river and various shopping centres. It was also very close to the well-known restaurant 'Cabbages and Condoms' (see separate reviews on tripadvisor) which we also thoroughly recommend. It was also very easy to get a taxi, the hotel organised this for you, ensuring it was on the meter, and also giving you a card to hand to a taxi driver on you return explaining which hotel to go to in Thai.

On our actual wedding anniversary, we were extremely surprised and delighted to return to our room to find that the housekeeping staff had decorated our room with paper chains and a card that they had hand made for us. It was such a lovely touch, we also returned later to find swans and rose petals on the bed after it had been turned down.

I found the staff so welcoming and always ready to help with a smile. I would not hesitate in returning to this hotel and have already recommended it to friends travelling to Bangkok in October.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view across Bangkok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelSukhumvit, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear SFS83 ,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this wonderful review . We hope you and your partner enjoyed your stay with Sofitel Sukhumvit Bangkok .

We would like to apologized for the inconvenience caused during your stay . Regarding the inconsistency of breakfast buffet , I will share this feedback with the rest of the team to prevent it from occuring in the future .

In sofitel , our ambassador are well-trained to deliver uttermost service to ensure guest comfort and to satisfy our guest needs .

We are really looking forward to welcoming you soon at the Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service.

Sincerely,

Christian Schlegel
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    882
    318
    96
    30
    16
See reviews for
186
483
191
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Pleased we gave Sofitel a try, stayed 3 nights and coming back for another night before flying back to Australia. Anything you want to do Bangkok is right at your doorstep, but if want a place for some quiet time out with excellent air conditioning, comfortable huge beds then this hotel is it. Stay on the executive floor in Club Millesime, excellent breakfast cocktail drink in early evening to set your night off right.Close to Asoke and Nana BTS and the underground train is 5 mins walk via Asoke station.When you go to a hotel you want things to work, and it does here, everything does what it is suppose to do. Stayed as couple with another couple friends. The Long Table restaurant is a must it is only a 60 Baht taxi fare away (5 mins). The pool is good, clean and not over chlorinated.

Room Tip: Stay in Club Millesmie rooms, we saw several and all are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelSukhumvit, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Lookingnorth ,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your stay .We are glad that you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us here in Sofitel Sukhumvit Bangkok .

We are delighted that you enjoy the benefits we offer at Club Millesime .

As for our swimming pool , we replace chlorine with salt . It minimize the used of chemicals which are harmful to our guest .

Our ambassador are well-trained to deliver uttermost service to ensure guest comfort and to satisfy our guest needs.

We look forward to welcome you back to Sofitel Sukhumvit Bangkok for your next trip to Bangkok .

Sincerely ,

Christian Schlegel
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is the second time that we have stayed here and once again it did not dissapoint. We stayed for 7 nights this time and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The location is superb, right in the thick of Sukhumvit Road, with easy access only metres away to the BTS. My partner was unwell during our stay (nothing to do with the hotel) and we ended up having to get a doctor in. The staff were fantastic, they organised for the doctor to come to our room and we were sent up a bunch of flowers. The breakfast was fantastic and we enjoyed the use of the pool. The rooms are great, hard to fault anything. In summary we really like this hotel, the staff are fantastic, rooms great and we are now looking at returning in January.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelSukhumvit, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Glenn555 ,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us on Tripadvisor . We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us .

We are sorry to hear that your partner is unwell during your stay with us .I will share your feedback with the rest of the team . I am sure they will be delighted to hear such positive comments .

It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service.

Sincerely,

Christian Schlegel
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawker, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Spent 2 weeks in executive floor room with good views over Bangkok. Hotel is well located for mrt and bts access, and is close to good shopping and restaurants. With club access there come good benefits with a quiet breakfast room, great drinks selection at happy hour and really good service.
Rooms are modern as fits a new hotel, and high tech with Bose surround sound system and smart tv. Bathroom is well appointed
All up a good place to spend a few weeks for business trip, and after hours the hotel is well located, especially if you don't need to commute across town too far.
Highly recommended

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelSukhumvit, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Philip R ,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor . We are glad you chose to stay with us for your recent business trip in Bangkok .

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us in Sofitel Sukhumvit Bangkok . In Sofitel Sukhumvit Bangkok , we try our best to strive for excellency and to deliver uttermost service to ensure guest comfort and satisfaction .

We look forward towards your next stay with us .

Sincerely,

Christian Schlegel
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Great location. Lovely looking rooms, pool area and gym. Everything here looks great on the surface, including the hospitality. Friendly and enthusiastic staff greet you on arrival, in the club lounge and at the pool. Beyond then, however, the service drops to a standard level of courtesy only received upon self instigation. The impression of top quality hospitaly is quickly revealed as being skin deep. The club lounge is the best example of this..You walk in and are greeted by at least three or four staff in a very lovely space - your expectations of excellent service are established - but then they forget your drink order, chatter amongst themselves, and are slow to remove empty plates. Another example is the hotel restaurant Voila, which they claim is the hotel's premier restaurant. You are greeted immediatley by an eagre and friendly lady who seats you but then you are left in the hands of keen but clearly inexperienced staff who stare, top up your drink unnecessarily, and can't answer simple questions. An order for wine by clearly pointing to it in the menu is responded to by a completelty different bottle without explanation. I also recommend passing on the buffet, which is underwhelming. It is the same in the bar on the roof - nicely greeted, seated and expecting service but then forgotten about. They try at this hotel but something is seriously deficient with training or availability of qualified staff. In a hotel that doesn't sell itself as a flagship and amongst Bangkok's finest this wouldn't matter so much, but this hotel does just that and in doing so sets expectations well beyond what it is able to deliver. The airconditioner also leaked through the roof, consistent with the facade of quality across the whole hotel.

Room Tip: The club room leaked so maybe a suite would be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelSukhumvit, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear 12345678966 ,

Thank you for sharing with us your feedback regarding your recent stay at our property .
We take our guest feedback seriously . Your feedback serve as an indicator of the area we need to work on .

We apologise for the level of service you received throughout your stay with us. Your feedback will be shared among our ambassadors and with the Food & Beverage Department . We will work on those issues you mentioned , and will do our best to increase the standard of our hotel inorder to meet guest expectation .

Also , we would like to apologize for the water leakage occured in room during your stay . We have informed our maintainence team to fix this immediately .

We hope that you will return to try out Sofitel Sukhumvit again . Please contact our Quality Control & Guest Experience Manager at H5213-GM2@sofitel.com for your next stay .

In Sofitel Sukhumvit Bangkok , we try our best to strive for excellency and to deliver uttermost service to ensure guest comfort and satisfaction . We will put in even more effort to regain your trust and confidence in us.

Best Regards ,

Christian Schlegel
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaasa, Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I have to say that I have stayed in many hotels in Bangkok and it´s difficult to find a hotel which has everything in balance! I really have to say that Sofitel has it all figured out! Location is perfect: near Skytrain stations and you can also walk to restaurants and shopping malls. And location is important in Bangkok - you don´t want to use taxis very much. Rooms are spacious and full of facilities! Service is professional and felt luxurious. Gym is GREAT and the pool also! Usually in Bangkok hotels the pools are in shade and you can´t actually sunbathe as much as you could possibly want. In Sofitel there is enough sunbeds and nice luxurious atmosphere at the pool. We are definitely coming back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelSukhumvit, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Susietfinland ,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with Sofitel on TripAdvisor . We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us .

It seems like you manage to make full use of the facilities we have to offer here in Sofitel Sukhumvit Bangkok .

We certainly looking forward to welcome you back to our property for your next visit .

Best Regards ,

Christian Schlegel
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I hardly spent any time in the room but enjoyed the little time I did have in there. Upgraded to a Club Millesime room w access to the club floor although I only dropped by to grab a quick breakfast once, didn't try their other afternoon and evening complimentary offerings. Bathrooms have a glass wall that can be blinded off from the inside, excellent fittings although shower pressure wasn't very high. Bathtub was comfortable. Very modern throughout and location is great right on Sukhimvit rd.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelSukhumvit, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear sting800 ,

Thank you for sharing with experience with us. We are delighted that you decided to stay with us in Sofitel Sukhumvit Bangkok. We hope you enjoyed your stay .

It is such ashame that you did not manage to enjoy Tea Time and Cocktails that we have to offer during your stay .

In Sofitel Sukhumvit Bangkok , we try our best to strive for excellency and to deliver uttermost service to ensure guest comfort and satisfaction .

Sincerely,

Christian Schlegel
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit

Address: 189 Sukhumvit Road Soi 13-15 | Klongtoey Nuea, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 766 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit 5*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit is centrally located on Sukhumvit road. It surrounded by major business, shopping and entertainment venues, a short walking distance to Asoke or NaNa BTS (skytrain) and MRT Sukhumvit (subway) stations. The luxurious 5-star Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit hotel features a 23-meter (75-foot) outdoor swimming pool, a 24-hour gym and Le SPA with L'Occitane. Along with free Wi-Fi, the hotel also kid friendly, has 24-hour room service and free parking. Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit is 2 miles from Lumpinee Boxing Stadium, 2 miles from Jim Thompson House and 3 miles from the Thai National Museum. It is 16 miles from Suvarnabhumi International Airport. The exclusive Le SPA with L’Occitane features a hydrotherapy bath, sauna facilities and relaxing massage services. The hotel also provides a business center, tour desk and laundry services. Sunday brunch, buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as international dishes can be enjoyed at Voilà Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit. The stunning rooftop Sofitel Sukhumvit L'Appart French restaurant offers a champagne lounge and beautiful Bangkok views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.