We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Stay at Sofitel Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   189 Sukhumvit Road Soi 13-15 | Klongtoey Nuea, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 750 hotels in Bangkok
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Happy Stay at Sofitel Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I would like to say that my stay at Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit was very pleasant. I like it especially for its location, its swimming pool and gym. However, I would be appreciate if they offer a copy of the Newspaper for the day of stay. The counter staff didn't ask if we need a copy of the newspaper. Thank you for having us on 14 April 2013.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelSukhumvit, Manager at Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear sohjoel,

Thank you so much for your honest review of Sofitel Bangkok Sukhimvit.
I am glad that you enjoyed the location and our health & wellness facicities. However I am very sorry that you did not receive a daily newspaper delivery to your rooms. Our guest who stay in Club Millesime and Suite room will receive a daily newspaper of thier preference. Upon request for Luxury room, we are glad to provide a daily newspaper for you; please request it at the time of reservation or upon checking in.
Thank you again for your feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon to our property.

Sincerely,

Manasnarth BOONYONG (Ms)
Guest Experience & Quality Manager
Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,081 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    694
    267
    81
    27
    12
See reviews for
159
389
148
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Park City, Utah
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Third time at this property and I cannot find the superlatives to describe my stay. Stayed in a Prestige Suite with Club benefits for 9 days and the club level service is par to none. We chose to have our breakfast in the main dinning room as we prefer the additional choices over a long stay,the staff remembered our preferences every morning and the service was stellar.
I love the location on Sukhumvit, close to the Terminal 21 mall and the SkyTrain, I took advantage of the pool every day and it was like having your own private oasis. We have stayed at most of the 5 stars in Bangkok and the Sofitel seems to go that little bit further to make this our number one choice.
Thanks everyone for the wife's birthday surprise, and the memorable service and great accommodations.

Room Tip: The Club level is well worth it,we do not drink and still found it a great additional value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelSukhumvit, Manager at Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear nukenriles,

We are glad you choose the Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit to celebrate your wife's Birthday. Thank you very much for this glowing review regarding your recent stay. We are delighted to hear such great words about our Ambassadors, and it is a pleasure to see you had an amazing experience at Voila.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon at the Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit.

Sincerely,

Manasnarth BOONYONG (Ms)
Guest Experience & Quality Manager
Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I have stayed in many hotels in Bangkok and my favourite is now the Sofitel. It has a great location, great rooms, a great pool but mot importantly a great staff and a great sense of service. They really do their maximum to accomodate all your requests :) I will be returning during my next trips to Bangkok

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelSukhumvit, Manager at Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear marquis51,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a positive review about your stay at the Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit.
We are glad you felt that our hotel is your “second home”, and enjoyed the comfort of our rooms and all the facilities we are offering.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon at the Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit.

Sincerely,

Manasnarth BOONYONG (Ms)
Guest Experience & Quality Manager
Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KARACHI
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I had the privilege of staying in Sofitel Bangkok for 2 nights in an Upgraded room with Club Lounge facilities. I went round and discreetly inspected the hotel hence my views are based on actual experience.
This new hotel is ideally located and is indeed a 5 star property with exemplary service standards.The room is very well furnished with superb king size bed (more like an Emperor size). I have never seen a bigger rain shower with a powerful pressure;it was a joy and a pleasent relief to take a shower. The Club lounge was a treat offering more than mere continental breakfast. The staff of the hotel deserve accolades for their super services which reflects on the training level.I have only one observation that a daily newspaper is not delivered in the room which should be a routine matter and disappointing when not done. I hope the hotel management reads this and takes note of my observation. All in all I had a perfect stay in this hotel and whenever I go to Bangkok this will be my choice hotel

Room Tip: Try to take a higher floor and if possible go for the Executive Floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelSukhumvit, Manager at Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear AKBAR S,

Thank you so much for your comments on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are sorry that we missed deliver daily newspaper to your room. We have noted on this point you have raised. With your valuable comments, this will help us improve our products and services in order to create a wonderful and memorable experience for every guest.

We are looking forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel.

Sincerely,

Manasnarth BOONYONG (Ms)
Guest Experience & Quality Manager
Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borneo, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Hubby and I stayed here one night during our anniversary in Bangkok. We upgraded to executive and it was worth every baht!:) Had a wonderful lunch at the restaurant below, Thai food.. green curry, tom yam goong but the winner was a simple stir fried asparagus!perfection!cocktails and evening canapes was nice,busy but the staff handled the crowd well. Delicious chocolate chip cookies in the lounge and wonderful views!Didnt manage to try the top level restaurant this round but perhaps in future.pool is salt water which i like.wonderful surround system in room,hubby couldnt stop testing it!we bought DVDs from just outside and could test it inside. Only complaint was I called to request their normal toiletries, l'occitane as I didn't like the Hermes products, too masculine and musky smelling for me. They sent it promptly but when i was about to use the shampoo, i lifted the lid and there was a short hair wedged there.Really gross!:( think its great that they recycle but its really off-putting.ended up not using the shampoo and was apprehensive of the other toiletries. also no shaving kit in bathroom.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelSukhumvit, Manager at Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Ann2C,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit to celebrate your anniversary in Bangkok.
I am delighted to hear you enjoyed the upgrade to Club room and the delicious food served in Voila restaurant.
I am sorry to hear, however, that you were not entirely satisfied with your experience as you found a piece of hair at the shampoo bottle. I assure you this is atypical of our standards. As we always use a new set of bathroom amenity for each new arrival guest. We do not use the recycle for this. I have passed your comment to our head of housekeeping. And she will prevent the future problem.
We hope to welcome you back soon to enjoy a true Sofitel experience.

Sincerely,

Manasnarth BOONYONG (Ms)
Guest Experience & Quality Manager
Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Met the family at Sofitel after a long trip, hotel staff had carried out my requests to a tee, wife and baby were treated like royalty, we stayed in the premier suites and could not have asked for anything more suite was first class, plenty of space and late check out was a great bonus,

We will definitely return to Sofitel Sukhimvit

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelSukhumvit, Manager at Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Richie7749,

Thank you very much for sharing this lovely comment regarding your recent stay at the Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit after your long trip with your family.
We are delighted that you feel like "royal”, we are doing all in our power to make our guests feeling special and the most comfortable. We are glad you liked our suite room and enjoyed our staff efficiency.
We are looking forward to your return on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Manasnarth BOONYONG (Ms)
Guest Experience & Quality Manager
Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Overall a very good experience at the Sofitel Sukhumvit, made most memorable by the attentiveness of the club lounge and spa / fitness centre staff and the efficiency of the concierge team who are always on hand to give quality tourist advice and support.

The whole team and the ambiance of the whole hotel made the noise and craziness of the streets of Bangkok seem a million miles away - an oasis of calm!!

I would definitely recommend the club lounge bedrooms. Beautifully appointed with everything you need and high quality furniture, fixtures and fittings.

Add to this the convenience and great value of using the exclusive lounge for complimentary afternoon tea and evening cocktails and you will appreciate the value in the upgrade. The quality of the furnishings in the lounge are excellent too.

On our morning of departure we overslept (our fault we didnt book an alarm call) the club lounge staff prepared our final bill in record time and organised a taxi that was waiting for us by the time we had got to the main lobby - a big thank you to the club lounge team as we made check in at the airport with about 30 seconds to spare!

In our haste to pack and leave in double quick time, we left some swimming shorts and cosmetics in the room. A quick email to the concierge and two days later they had been express couriered to our hotel in Koh Samui as requested - that's great service!

If I had any dissatisfaction at all it was the sleep quality. Unusually for Sofitel the bed was rather on the hard side (I have always experienced a really comfortable sleep in other Sofitel hotels). This plus the quite loud ring of the lift bell meant that sleep was quite troublesome (I'm sure that jet lag was a factor too).

I'd definitely return to this hotel, always in a club room, but with a request for a room with a softer mattress and further from the lifts.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelSukhumvit, Manager at Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear redpaolo,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback regarding the service received in Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit.
The ambassadors are very pleased to hear how much you have enjoyed your experiences.
 We regret to hear you did not feel so comfortable with the mattress. We would like to inform you that we can put additional over-mattress for you to give the softer feel to bed. Be sure for your next visit to speak to one of our ambassadors and we will be able to prepare this for you.
We hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,


Manasnarth BOONYONG (Ms)

Guest Experience & Quality Manager

Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit

Address: 189 Sukhumvit Road Soi 13-15 | Klongtoey Nuea, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 750 hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit is centrally located on Sukhumvit road. It surrounded by major business, shopping and entertainment venues, a short walking distance to Asoke or NaNa BTS (skytrain) and MRT Sukhumvit (subway) stations. The luxurious 5-star Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit hotel features a 23-meter (75-foot) outdoor swimming pool, a 24-hour gym and Le SPA with L'Occitane. Along with free Wi-Fi, the hotel also kid friendly, has 24-hour room service and free parking. Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit is 2 miles from Lumpinee Boxing Stadium, 2 miles from Jim Thompson House and 3 miles from the Thai National Museum. It is 16 miles from Suvarnabhumi International Airport. The exclusive Le SPA with L’Occitane features a hydrotherapy bath, sauna facilities and relaxing massage services. The hotel also provides a business center, tour desk and laundry services. Sunday brunch, buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as international dishes can be enjoyed at Voilà Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit. The stunning rooftop Sofitel Sukhumvit L'Appart French restaurant offers a champagne lounge and beautiful Bangkok views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, ACCOR, Expedia, Agoda, Splendia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Jetsetter, Otel and Venere so you can book your Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.