We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brand new hotel with slow services” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit to your Saves list
Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   189 Sukhumvit Road Soi 13-15 | Klongtoey Nuea, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Sofitel Chic Gourmandise
Ranked #32 of 772 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Brand new hotel with slow services”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We are enjoy to stay in this brand new hotel, but their house-keeping services are very very slow & beyond of Sofitel rated
During our three nights stay, our room (2107) was always cleaned up after 6.00 PM although the "make-up room" lamp has been turned on since we left in the morning (8.00 AM).
This hotel was lacked of personals, even the concierge or the guest relation was left empty most of the time as same as the house-keeping personel was not enough personals to clean up the whole rooms on-time (between check-out time 12.00 PM to check-in time 14.00), we suggest to be doubled or tripled on their personals number to serve their guests properly

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelSukhumvit, Manager at Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear siekly_95,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit.

We are sincerely sorry that your visit did not reflect the high standards that we set for our hotel. We regret that you find the service from housekeeping very slow. Our human resources department is working on hiring additional manpower, housekeeping staff in particular. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations. We value your comments and appreciate you sharing your concerns.

We hope that you will consider staying at Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit again so that we may show you the gracious hospitality and give you our undevided attention.

Sincerely,

Manasnarth BOONYONG (Ms)
Guest Experience & Quality Manager
Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,102
    368
    110
    32
    22
See reviews for
228
606
233
274
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Great rooms and great site near sky train shopping and nightlife. Arrived at 2.30pm and told come back in 3 hours .. Then had to go hunt my luggage in the store room as they didn't know where it had gone .. New facility that is yet to deliver on expected service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelSukhumvit, Manager at Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback following your stay at Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit.

I was disappointed to read of your experience that you had difficulty with the check in and the luggage assistance. This is not a reflection of our normal standard and I am sorry that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations.

Again, please accept our apologies. We hope that you will consider staying at Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit again so that we may show you the gracious hospitality and superb service.

Sincerely,

Manasnarth BOONYONG (Ms)
Guest Experience & Quality Manager
Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Was in Bangkok for four nights from Nov 2rd till 6th. When we check-in, we found there are ash on the floor, rubbish at the bed side table and lot of hair in the washroom. this is not acceptable room cleanliness for a five star hotel... Since we check-in at the late night, so we didn't request for room change.

On the second day morning, we left a note & attention to Hotel Manager & Duty Manger, we woud except at least there are some improvement when they make up the room after receive our comment. Unfortunately, the room is still not clean properly, and even the toilet paper & tissue paper are empty... Until we check-out, there is no any reply from the Hotel Manager / Duty Manager so far.

Overall the comment, the hotel location, room amenities, the service staff are great. Except the room cleanliness.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelSukhumvit, Manager at Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear reviewer_ljy,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us your experience in our hotel, we really appreciate it.

To reach a great guest experience is a must for us and at every Sofitel around the world, and we work very hard for it, we believe that having the chance to know what you have experienced is the best tool we can have to improve and like this reach our promises.

In your case and as you tell us we are deeply sorry for not reaching your expectations and we really apologize for all the inconvenience we have caused to you.
We regret that you found the room in need of cleaning. Regarding your note left to the Hotel Manager, our Rooms Director Mr. Refai has replied to it by writing an apology letter and left it in your room with the amenities.

We are very concerned that you did not receive the exemplary service you deserve. I have requested that our head of housekeeping institute a review of our room make up training procedures.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Manasnarth BOONYONG (Ms)
Guest Experience & Quality Manager
Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

First time staying at Sofitel chain. Totally impressed with the attention to detail and service was excellent. couldn't find any more fault than to say that the hotel has top notch facilities and rooms were spacious and best sleep i have ever gotten so far among the hotels i have stayed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelSukhumvit, Manager at Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear reviewer24600,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us your experience in our hotel.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our services exceeded your expectations.

Thank you again for your feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon to Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit.

Sincerely,

Manasnarth BOONYONG (Ms)
Guest Experience & Quality Manager
Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I am currently writing this review while i am still at the hotel (6-9Nov), i had stayed in this hotel before in April same year and what surprised me was the comments and concerns during my first stay is stilk the same, and not much change vs the soft opening.
I was checked in room 2816, but i didnt get my upgrade as Gold club dispite i asked for it during reservation and check in, also had same issue back in Apr.

I checked in to the hotel after checking out from another 5* hotel, and i felt a big difference in room aminities that are missing here in sofitel vs the previous one (ex: tooth brushes, comb, tea variety, coffe making machine, etc...)

The staff are very friendly and helpful, they have excellent service. Also hotel location is the best (middle of Sukhumvit road)

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelSukhumvit, Manager at Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Mohamed Z,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Manasnarth BOONYONG (Ms)
Guest Experience & Quality Manager
Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesex, England
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Was in Bangkok on the 25th of October 2012. Property is super and service was impeccable! Staff were helpful and courteous. Breakfast was sumptous and had a large variety to suit everbody's pallate. Recommend this hotel for 1st time visitors, situated close to a mall called terminal 21 which has a lot to offer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelSukhumvit, Manager at Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Nick0209,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback.
I am glad that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay.
We all looking forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit sometime soon.

Sincerely,

Manasnarth BOONYONG (Ms)
Guest Experience & Quality Manager
Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I had stayed in the Old Sofitel in Silom and was quite excited to experience this new addition to the Accor group. What a disappointment, I had emailed the hotel advising them of my somewhat late arrival and requesting a 3.00 pm checkout the next day. No reply was received which in my book means no problems. When I checked in at 10.00 pm I was told I must check out by 1.00 pm with no exception. No satisfactory explanation was made to the non reply of my email. Upon checking in my room even at this late hour I had to wait 25 minutes for the luggage to be delivered, this is not acceptable in a first class hotel. The room was acceptable and I did not have breakfast as had business meetings scheduled. Then had to return to hotel at 1.00 pm to check out and on to further busoness meeting, quite unacceptable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelSukhumvit, Manager at Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Ian P,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

I regret to know that you had such disappointing experience. Regarding the no-respond email, would you please let me know the exact date and the email adress you sent to? I can assure you that this is atypical of our standard. As we always reply to every guest email and keep the record. I am deeply sorry about the delay of luggage assistance to your room. We are taking immediate action to correct this.

We pride ourselves in our service, and work closely with our ambassadors to instill a professional, luxury demeanor at all times.

Thank you for sharing your concerns and we hope to welcome you back again to enjoy a true Sofitel experience.

Sincerely,

Manasnarth BOONYONG (Ms)
Guest Experience & Quality Manager
Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit

Address: 189 Sukhumvit Road Soi 13-15 | Klongtoey Nuea, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 772 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit 5*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit is centrally located on Sukhumvit road. It surrounded by major business, shopping and entertainment venues, a short walking distance to Asoke or NaNa BTS (skytrain) and MRT Sukhumvit (subway) stations. The luxurious 5-star Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit hotel features a 23-meter (75-foot) outdoor swimming pool, a 24-hour gym and Le SPA with L'Occitane. Along with free Wi-Fi, the hotel also kid friendly, has 24-hour room service and free parking. Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit is 2 miles from Lumpinee Boxing Stadium, 2 miles from Jim Thompson House and 3 miles from the Thai National Museum. It is 16 miles from Suvarnabhumi International Airport. The exclusive Le SPA with L’Occitane features a hydrotherapy bath, sauna facilities and relaxing massage services. The hotel also provides a business center, tour desk and laundry services. Sunday brunch, buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as international dishes can be enjoyed at Voilà Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit. The stunning rooftop Sofitel Sukhumvit L'Appart French restaurant offers a champagne lounge and beautiful Bangkok views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Priceline, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.