We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok

Save Saved
You added Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   28 Charoenkrung Soi 70 | Bangkholame, Bangkok 10120, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 754 hotels in Bangkok
Woking, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one night at the start of our Thailand holiday at the end of January & wished we had booked for longer. We were upgraded to a one bedroom suite with a river view & couldn't believe our luck. We used the hotel's free river shuttle to go out for the evening which was great & the breakfast the next morning with a river view was wonderful. The staff were so friendly & helpful too. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough & will be booking to stay there again at the start of our holiday next year as we are already planning to return to wonderful, friendly Thailand. Judy & Mike Smith, Woking, England.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,595 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,491
    890
    172
    30
    12
See reviews for
831
1699
209
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,097)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This is the second time that we have stayed at the Chatrium over the last two years. In all cases we have found excellent food, excellant service with warm and friendly staff in an excellent hotel and would not hesitate to recommend it and visit again ourselves.

Room Tip: Corner Suite with River View at High Level and it is worth paying a little extra to upgrade to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights, what a fabulous hotel and the staff are wonderful. We were upgraded to a river view apartment which was an unexpected bonus. The apartment was very spacious,clean, modern and the view from the balcony was lovely, especially at night. Breakfast was fantastic with a wide selection for everyone. The bed and pillows were very comfortable.The hotel location is fairly quiet with a few local restaurants and bars but the nearest BTS is only a short free boat ride away or 15 minute walk. The pool looked very inviting but we never got the chance to use it or the gym so cannot comment. Taxi from the airport took approximately 40 minutes and cost 350BHT (taxi Meter). Print the directions on the hotel website and give this to the taxi driver, he found the hotel with no problems.

Room Tip: Try and get a river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flekkefjord, Norway
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed here twice (8 nights in total) during our 3 month journey in Thailand. First during new years. One bedroom suite with river view. It is worth the extra money for river view. Traveling with a baby it was a perfect place to spend new year without going to a party. The rooms all have balconies, so we had candlelight dinner at the balcony watching the busy Chao Praya and the Fireworks at midnight.

We liked the location. Frequent shuttle boats to Thaksin Pier were you can reach River Boats, Sky Train or just walk to Silom if you want. Quiet by the riverside with fantastic skyline views over Bangkok. And walking distance to Bangkok new popular night market Asiatique.

Good breakfast, with your choice of coffee. We preferred to sit outside by the river. It is a bit cold inside.

Very nice and popular pool area. Large fitness center. Good and reasonably priced SPA.

It is a 10-15 minutes walk to Asiatique were you find a lot of nice restaurants. Just outside the Hotel you will find nice local food at street stalls. At the Hotel you will find Starbucks, 7-11 and Zensai Japanese restaurant which is popular for take away.
We had dinner at the top floor restaurant Silver Waves. Unfortunately it wasn't worth the money.

We will definitely stay here again. Very child friendly and relaxed even if it is a 5 star hotel.

Room Tip: River view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladysmith, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We were so lucky to find this hotel thru trip advisor. This is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. The service was excellent, however what made our stay at the hotel stand out was the people that worked there. The staff were very friendly, caring, and wanted your stay to be as memorable as possible. We want to thank Somethone who worked in the dining room and pool area, excellent employee who made our stay that much more enjoyable. We will be coming back to stay here for sure..

Sue and Vic.

Room Tip: We chose a view of the river, which is well worth the few extra dollars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I chose the Chatrium after reading previous trip advisor posts and it didn't disappoint! We stayed for 3 nights at the start of our honeymoon and loved every minute. The staff were attentive but not over the top, the room was spacious & spotless, breakfast was fab & the infinity pool heavenly! It's location on the river is brilliant, we used the complimentary ferry to the pier where we then used the sky train to get us around Bangkok for the duration of our trip! We would love to return to Thailand in the future and would not hesitate in returning to the Chatrium if staying in Bangkok!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

As first time visitors to Bangkok from Australia,we like most people would have gone to 'Tripadvisor' for a clue for somewhere to feel comfortable away from home.(I didn't have any ideas) THE CHATRIUM kept coming up on my short list after much research.It was a winner! 23rd floor,with balcony is a camera persons dream.The check in can sometimes be a trial,due to tiredness,but Van, the man at the desk was terrific.The free ferry shuttle to and from the Skytrain was a bonus I wasn't aware of.Meals on the terrace at night ,beautiful,and a buffet breakfast with the works.If we ever come back to Bangkok, we'll be staying here.We have been to many places over the years,(I just turned 60) and The CHATRIUM is up there with the best.(motto:' If you're on to a good thing,stick with it') P.S ,the complex has a 7/11!on the premises shsssh! Jeff

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok

Address: 28 Charoenkrung Soi 70 | Bangkholame, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#8 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#13 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#27 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok is our multiple award-winning 5-star hotel situated by the legendary Chao Phraya River, offering unparalleled and truly breathtaking views. Unwind in superiorly spacious guestrooms, each with river or cityscape views from the comfort of your bed or private balcony. Drink and dine at any of our six restaurants and bars, including spectacular buffets and Chinese cuisine. Work off the calories in our Fitness Center, relax by the infinity pool or be pampered at Nemita Spa, and when business calls, hold meetings in the function rooms or grand events in the Chatrium Ballroom. Chatrium is born from a passion to deliver uncompromising, warm service and an authentic destination experience. It is something we spread across all of our properties to ensure a remarkable experience that’s genuine, personal and reliable,wherever you decide to stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatrium Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Chatrium Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.