We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok

Save Saved
You added Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   28 Charoenkrung Soi 70 | Bangkholame, Bangkok 10120, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Best Rate Guarantee Offer
Ranked #17 of 750 hotels in Bangkok
San Diego, CA
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Absolutely awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Took the advice of many here and booked into one of the river view rooms. Mine was on the 30th floor. The view was stunning. There was a fireworks display, and it was the first time I ever recall looking at fireworks from above. Everything else--staff, restaurants, room furnishings, amenities--was superb. Literally nothing to complain about. What made it better was the current 43% discount on the hotel website.

Room Tip: Reserve a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,460 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,379
    868
    171
    30
    12
See reviews for
751
1637
198
228
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,023)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Forth time staying here, the location is good and the service good. But the prices are starting to move up and the rooms becoming dated.

I stay over 100 days a year in BKK and I am thinking of changing hotels next time. I am hoping management sees this review and does reach out to its paying clients.

The Wifi scenario in this hotel I also think is killing off business. If this is a business hotel then stop making it difficult for clients to use more the one device.

The business center services are way over priced.

Thank god they have Silver Waves restaurant its a Gem.

Management if your reading this and you want a returning client then respond and make up for you errors.

If you think I am joking I can prove I have stayed with you many times.

Our many concerns fell on deaf ears last time. I hope its not to late.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

An excellent hotel very well positioned by the river, we stayed in an upgraded suite with club lounge access and the staff particularly Mr Chatchawan Napawan and Anukool on the reception desk were very helpful.Good access to the city by free hotel ferry to the skytrain and all very easy and cheap to use. Buffet breakfast was superb particularly when you sit outside on the terrace. Views from the room were stunning and I would have no hesitation next time I stay in Bangkok to return there, I also hope to try their other hotel in Myanmar soon.

Room Tip: Corner river view rooms around 30th level are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Nothing bad to say about this hotel - it does what it says on the tin!!! It's worth paying for a river view, it's really lovely to wake up to that every morning. If you want a traditional Thai hotel then this probably isn't for you but if you want a good hotel, with great facilities then give this one a go. We ate there one night and the food was lovely, obviously not as cheap as some places but you can sit on the terrace and enjoy the view!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This was our second time at Chatrium Riverside Bangkok. It was great to see that both the rooms and the amenities are very well kept, and that the hotel maintains its high standards of service.

Usually I write my reviews highlighting the good and the not-so-good features of my stay, but in this case I will take a different approach. The following are the reasons why I would recommend Chatrium Riverside to anyone as THE place to stay when in Bangkok:

- The hotel is easily reached by taxi from Suvarnabhumi airport, as it is located near a highway that has direct connection to the airport.

- The great service of this hotel is appreciated from the very moment of arrival, when one of the bellboys promptly approaches your taxi and takes care of all the lugagge while greeting you.

- A ferry boat service is available every 15 minutes between the Chatrium and Sathon Pier, from where you can catch the taxi-boat or the skytrain (Saphan Taksin station).

- Breakfast spread is very good, and includes both Eastern and Western choices. There is a vast selection of cheeses, fruits and cereals, together with the usual egg and waffle/pancake stations. Dim sum and sushi are also available.

- In case you decide to make a booking without breakfast, there is a Starbucks located right behind the hotel. And in case you need it, there is a 7-eleven as well.

- Value for money: the price paid for our river-view suite included not only breakfast but also a 1000 thb voucher to be spent in food or drinks in the hotel. This is very convenient if you arrive late and decide to have dinner at the very good restaurant in the ground floor.

- Our room had a great view of the Chao-Praya river and was well equipped with a kitchenette, including microwave oven and a good-size fridge. Plenty of bottled water is provided. The bed is very comfortable, same as the pillows provided.

- The pool is perfect to unwind after a hot day around Bangkok. It overlooks the river and has plenty of sunbeds and a jacuzzi.

- The small details: it was nice surprise to find a small birthday cake with a candle upon our return to the hotel in the evening.

- Same as last time we stayed here, we requested for a late checkout since our departing flight was late in the evening, and same as last time it was granted on the spot. And we are not talking about a 2PM checkout: in our case we were allowed to use our room until 7 PM! It is worth noting, however, that our stay was during the low season.

For all the reasons above, I have recommended this hotel to other people and will do so in the future as long as the high service standard is maintained. Chatrium Riverside will be my top choice next time I'm in Bangkok.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed for the second time at Chatrium in a river view 1 bedroom apartment.
Wonderful large room with a great balcony overlooking the river.
Free boat transfer takes you in 10 minutes to the skytrain and the new Asiatique market.
Service and hotel facilities such as the swimming pool are very good. The breakfast buffet offers a large variety of different food.
Well built hotel with a functional design.
We will come back soon to enjoy this wonderful property.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Though my reservation was made incorrectly on Agoda, the staff at the Chatrium was quick to right the mistake and to provide a hotel experience that was nonpareil. The room, overlooking the river (we had fireworks just outside our window on our last night there!), was spacious, clean, comfortable in every way; the gym, the pool, the grounds were gorgeous and pristine. The staff accommodated our every need, and the room service was quick and courteous. We ordered breakfasts from room service, and both times they were delicious and beautifully presented. When we left, we had items that would not fit into a suitcase; the staff contacted me and asked if I would like to have them shipped to me in the US. This was service above and beyond. The attributes more than make up for the rather inconvenient location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok

Address: 28 Charoenkrung Soi 70 | Bangkholame, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#15 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#19 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#26 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok is our multiple award-winning 5-star hotel situated by the legendary Chao Phraya River, offering unparalleled and truly breathtaking views. Unwind in superiorly spacious guestrooms, each with river or cityscape views from the comfort of your bed or private balcony. Drink and dine at any of our six restaurants and bars, including spectacular buffets and Chinese cuisine. Work off the calories in our Fitness Center, relax by the infinity pool or be pampered at Nemita Spa, and when business calls, hold meetings in the function rooms or grand events in the Chatrium Ballroom. Chatrium is born from a passion to deliver uncompromising, warm service and an authentic destination experience. It is something we spread across all of our properties to ensure a remarkable experience that’s genuine, personal and reliable,wherever you decide to stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, HostelBookers, Agoda, HostelWorld, Jetsetter and Venere so you can book your Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatrium Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Chatrium Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.