We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bangkok... Cant wait to go back!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bangkok Cha-Da Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bangkok Cha-Da Hotel to your Saves list
Bangkok Cha-Da Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   188 Ratchadapisek Rd.,Huaykwang, Bangkok 10320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #540 of 772 Hotels in Bangkok
Cape Town South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Bangkok... Cant wait to go back!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

After spending 5 lovely nights in Kata Beach Phuket we stayed in Bangkok for 2 nights. The Hotel was clean, nice Breakfast and friendly staff. It is situated very close to a Subway and we took the subway and Sky Train to the City Centre every day and a Tuk Tuk back late at night for just 200 Baht!

The Hotel has a swimming pool on the roof and we spent our last late afternoon (we were flying out at 01h15 to Jhb in the morning) swimming watching the best sunset I have ever seen! We saw a rainbow in the sunset and the big still clouds were so beautiful.

We did not really do the tourist thing...will be doing next time! We just went to a VERY CROWDED HOT Market and to Siam Centre which kept us very entertained watching 4D Movies and Madam Tussauds. The food in the Siam Centre is also amazing...so much choice and they have a Gourmet Shop...hugh and very interesting.

Looking forward to going back to explore more of Bangkok.....

Room Tip: Delux Room nice and Basic, Clean, Coffee Tea, Safe and Fridge...good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    78
    96
    31
    16
See reviews for
26
95
33
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Boracay, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Stayed here last February, 2011 for 3 days after staying in pattaya for 3 days also. It was near an MRT and it was very convenient for us to roam around bangkok. we simply walk going to Robinsons and Carre Four. Near chada was a nice restro that served very nice omelette. there were also several 24 hours convenience store near chada. Its far from the night life area, but we liked it as it is, because we don't seek the night life. The swimming pool was small and we didn't bother with it. we always bring a map with us because its a little difficult to ask locals for directions. most of the time they give conflicting directions. Be careful with tuk-tuk (theyr'e the local public transportation) drivers, as some might try to rip you off if they know you're a tourist.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Bangkok was the first leg of our Thailand trip. We managed to get a pretty decent package to Thailand and extended our stay for an extra 10 nights to do some of our own exploring.

The hotel itself is very new, so has a clean and fresh feel to it. The breakfasts were great. The rooms were rather sparse, but clean and had all the needed amenities. There was a roof top pool which we splashed around in a few times.

The location itself it a bit far out from the central hub of Bangkok, the only place relatively close to it is the Chatuchak Weekend Market (a MUST for shoppers!) which is a few train stops away. We managed to get around quite nicely during the day using the trains etc, but at night the taxi's got a tad expensive, and we also couldn't just walk out of the hotel and explore the area around us. We felt like we spent a tad too much time getting to and from our hotel, where we could've been soaking up more of the city.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middx
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Visited Thailand with Hayes and Jarvis, and will definitely be going back.
The hotel was very good and the staff friendly and helpful.
The room was clean and comfortable.
It is a very busy place as used by airline staff on stop overs.
My only complaint would be that it was not very central,(as near the airport) but it is walking distance to the underground which is very cheap and fast.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

The Bangkok Cha-Da is a nice enough hotel as far as the facilities are concerned, but the location is a huge disadvantage. It is 12km from the central shopping district of Pratunam and tuk-tuks don't travel this route. High-priced meter taxis and the subway (about 10 minutes' hard walking) are the only transport available.

The rooms are spacious and comfortable, the view is of the shacks and backyards of the buildings around the hotel. The lobby has a coffee shop. There is a spa but we couldn't use it since there were no therapists available (only one, she was busy). The restaurant was also closed.

The buffet breakfast caters mainly for Asian cuisine, with the continental breakfast consisting of bacon, eggs, sausages and toast. Freash fruit and fruit juice as well as coffee and tea complete the menu.

The swimming pool on the roof, 2 floors up from the 14th floor, is a nightmare because of its high location. It feels as if you will fall over the edge any minute. Not recommended for children. The pool is also small with what seems like a plastic lining. Scary!!

The gym consists of a treadmill and bike situated in a small 3 x 3 room on the 15th floor.

The hotel is on a busy road which can only be crossed by a bridge located a distance away and there is no real entertainment, shopping or sightseeing near the hotel. Everything has to be travelled to and the Bangkok traffic from this side of town is no pleasure - bumper to bumper all the way with a Bt40 levy if you want to spare 2 minutes and use the tollway.

The Bangkok Cha-Da is probably ideal for a business trip, but not at all for leisure because of its location and facilities.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

hotel itself was lovely, clean, air con, good breakfast !! It was 20 min drive to the main tourist spots, temples, kho san rd, but we got to see the hustle & bustle (or madness of Bangkok lol which was good

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacoor, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

Pros
- Cheap, got it for a corporate rate of only USD 40 per night plus breakfast
- Breakfast buffet was pretty good, lots to choose from, and tastes pretty good, too
- Rooms are large, and clean for the given price

Cons
- Wifi signal in the fifth floor rooms was weak, you need to go to the lobby to get the best signal reception
- Lots of mosquitos in the lobby, especially at night.
- TV is still the non-LCD type, and the remote control did not work
- The "Business Center" consisted only of 2 desktop computers in the lobby. And the printer was not working when I was there.

Overall
- You really get what you pay for, makes you sometimes wish you were rich enough to afford the Swissotel just a couple of dozen meters away

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bangkok Cha-Da Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bangkok Cha-Da Hotel

Address: 188 Ratchadapisek Rd.,Huaykwang, Bangkok 10320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #540 of 772 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bangkok Cha-Da Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Bangkok Cha-Da Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bangkok Cha-Da Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.