We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chinese New Year's Eve Dinner- great fun!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shang Palace

Shang Palace
89 Soi Wat Suan Plu, New Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
66 2 236 7777
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #286 of 7,224 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Dim Sum
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Chinese New Year's Eve Dinner- great fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

As guests of the hotel we made a last minute reservation with the concierge. When we arrived at the restaurant we were shown to our table which was in a delightfully tiny side room off the main dining room. At first we weren't sure about it ,but as the main room was full of very large family tables (complete with boisterous children) celebrating CNY we quickly decided we liked our little room just fine. We could watch the action in the main room through the door, but our place was pleasantly quiet. We were off to a slow start as my drink order of sparkling wine took 20 minutes to arrive. But our dinner dishes came in a timely manner and we enjoyed everything we ordered. A delicious prawn dish, the filet of beef in a sort of bbq sauce, mixed vegetables, with lots of mushrooms which were great, and fried rice, again very nice. We actually ordered too much food for just the two of us, but we had a great time non the less. We knew the wait staff was rushed with all the big tables, but they were still very attentive.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    23
    9
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire, England
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Nice Peking Duck”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I was glad I took the recommendation of the waitress that a full duck was adequate for a meal for 2 with some fried rice. I didn't quite believe it until the duck arrived and the skin was carved and served with the usual pancakes and sides. It was delicious.

We had the meat cooked as a later course although that was a bit tough and slightly disappointing.

All in all, a nice place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great ambience but don't expect authentic tasting Cantonese dim sum.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

We ordered dim sums and main courses. Whilst the mains were rather good, the dim sum failed to impress. The xiaolongbaos were deflated, and the seafood in the dumpling soup were rubbery. Food here would satisfy most palettes but not the discerning Chinese food lovers.

The ambience was nice though, so definitely a good place to entertain your clients for a business lunch.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Like in China”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Excellent, but don't expect cantonese western style Chinese food! It is exactly like in Chine... Excellent and affordable!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“A real palace excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We had diner before our departure back home.The food was great
Excellent service and professional staff.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shang Palace also viewed

 
Bangkok, Thailand
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Shang Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shang Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.