We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Queen of Curry

Queen of Curry
49 Charoenkrung Road, Soi 50 | Soi 50 Bongrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand (Bang Rak)
08 6559 7711
Improve this listing
Ranked #190 of 8,068 Restaurants in Bangkok
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Bang Rak
Boston
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Yum.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Was located close to our hotel and we went for lunch. Everything was delicious. We had the spring rolls, my husband had a very spicy curry (his request for it to be spicy) and I had chicken with cashews. Good prices and cold Singha, it was a great lunch.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    97
    40
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lucknow
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Very friendly and fresh!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We visited for dinner with family and being vegetarians, have to say it was one of the freshest and a wonderful eating out experience in recent times. We ordered for Vegetable Thai Green curry, some stir fried vegetables and spring rolls (also a bowl of rice with curry). Two things stood out.... Green curry and Stir fried vegetables!!

Its in a busy area near Shangri La hotel and has a friendly and easy vibe to it. We ate on tables outside and coupled with nice breeze it made the evening pretty special. But IMHO what really stood out was the freshness of food that truly stood out from everything!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Reiaible and inexpensive...and they do laundry!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We have been here a few times over the years. It is reliable in terms of the food and it is very inexpensive. Can be pretty crowded. Very friendly staff.

What might be helpful for travellers to know if you are reading this in advance of your visit to Bangkok is that the restaurant also does laundry for you. Ever so much cheaper than the big hotels like the Shangri La and others on the river.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottingham
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Don't be put off by the name”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Queen of Curry is actually a Thai style restaurant serving excellent spicy and non spicy food.
As you walk up to it there is not much wow factor but as the other reviewers are keen to point out you will not be disappointed as it is good value, good food and friendly.
If you don't like curry, still go try it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent curry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

Must say superb food throughout and decent prices.
A lovely meal to end our holiday with food as good as any we ate anywhere. It obviously isn't going to be as cheap as the street stalls and anyone expecting it to be has no understanding of business. I will go back next year when back in Bangkok and look forward to another great curry

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Queen of Curry also viewed

Bangkok, Thailand
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Queen of Curry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Queen of Curry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.