We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class small hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ariyasomvilla

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ariyasomvilla to your Saves list
Ariyasomvilla
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65 Sukhumvit Soi 1 | Khlong Toei Nuea, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 768 Hotels in Bangkok
Ashbourne, Derbyshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“First class small hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2010

Quiet location near the end of a side street, lovely garden setting with small pool. Rooms were comfortable and well appointed. The manager was very helpful and attentive. For an experience try taking a river bus which go up and down the klong at the back of the hotel!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    822
    132
    18
    4
    2
See reviews for
150
558
65
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
wimbledon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2010

A truly wonderful hotel set in beautiful gardens in Sol 1. The rooms are wonderfully appointed with great skill in the choice of interior decor. The food is excellent an a bonus if you are a vegetarian. The hotel is well located for the sky train so travel in Bangkok is easy
David and his staff are very friendly and helpful and if you have a chance to speak to David he is very knowledgeable and interesting and has a keen eye for old furniture. I would not look for any other hotels in Bangkok

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2010

Although the room was pleasant enough and clean the staff were not at all helpful and spoke very little english. No one put themselves out at all to help us and on our last evening it really showed how bad the hotel was managed.

Our flight home from Bangkok was at mid night, having been told by our travel agent that we would be given a room to shower and change in before we left for the hotel we were amazed that in the morning when we asked for our cases to be put somewhere safe they were bundled into the outside office and the door was left open all day exposing them to everyone - they could have been stolen by anyone passing by.

Then when it came to our shower and change of clothes we were not given a room instead we had to unpack our cases in reception in full view of guests walking to and fro past us. We were told that we could shower in the spa which we did. In the ladies shower the door did not shut and so I was on full view to anyone who passed by, also it was a sauna room and very hot so it made it difficult to get clothes back on as our bodies were so hot.

The manager came by when we had our cases open and asked what was going on and so we told him that we were not at all impressed with the service from this hotel. He said they had not got any spare rooms but his general attitude was that he could not care less. They had got our money and they just did not care any more.

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone as the staff and the management were not good at their job. Attention to detail is everything in the hotel job and they saddly lacked it.

It would appear from Tripadvisor that others have experienced similar problems at Ariyasomville. The manager was english by the way.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
panyasara, Owner at Ariyasomvilla, responded to this review, March 11, 2010
I'm always sorry when a customer has a bad experience as we really try hard to ensure the opposite.

We bend over backwards to try to offer late checkout but it's not always possible when the hotel is full. The agent who booked this stay does not guarantee that a room will be available. If we had one we would certainly have offered it .

The bags were put ( not bundled) in the front office managers office and the area is manned 24 hours a day so I feel that security was very adequate.

The facilities in the spa were offered for a shower and clean up before departure. i didn't understand why the customer opted to open the bags in the lobby rather than the spa where the showers are located.

I encountered the client just prior to their departure and realized that they were unhappy. I asked the problem and offered sincere apologies as I agree we should have handled the situation better.

I'm very sorry that this customer did not have a nicer experience with us and we have taken the essence of her comments very seriously.

However, if I look at our reviews 90% + are very positive . We know that we are very much a work in progress and we will continue to work on all fronts to offer a better service.

With best regards

David S Lees.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

Excellent service. Personal attention from the manager, to extent of cooking a soup on request that my husband liked! Great airey rooms with lovely wooden floors and balcony and a fun bathroom. Decent swimming pool with warm jacuzzi. Right near shopping centre and 1 minute walk from Bumrungrad hospital (you acn get a half day total health screening) We thought the Thai food served in the restaurant was excellent. I got a reasonably priced really thorough massage followed by steam sauna. we felt welcomed and at home. Much better than other hotels we have stayed in in Bangkok. Value for money.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deauville, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2010

On entering the hotel we found ourselves in an atmosphere of calm serenity. Our room was huge & immaculate with all 'mod cons' (better furnished than the 5 star de luxe hotel that we stayed in previously). The outstanding feature of this hotel is its tranquility and charm which is exemplified by 'mine host' who is passionate about looking after his guests. Although having limited English, (with the exception of 'spiky hair' at reception!) the staff could not have been more helpful. In summary, if you are seeking a friendly intimate atmosphere this hotel is infinately superior to the anodyne/bland 5 star de luxe hotels in Bangkok.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth County, NJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2010

Upon arriving in noisy hectic Bangkok, we found ourselves in a drab uninspired hotel on Sukhumvit, Soi 1. Deciding to take a walk for relief, we headed down Soi 1 toward what we thought was a wonderful looking park. It turned out to be the superb, delightfully exquisite, Ariyasomville boutique hotel. We could not have dreamed up a more perfect place to rest & relax. Every attention has been given to detail all with consideration to the comfort of the guests. No expense was spared on the guest rooms (the beds are fabulous!), all other interiors, the gardens, pool and spa areas. The latter, well, actually everything, should not be missed. There is a sophisticated simplicity giving a feeling for older days in Bangkok with, happily, a perfect blend of preservation and adaptative reuse with a highly compatible addition. Charming photographic vignettes exist at ever turn. The inside dining rooms remain as they were when this was the owners grandparents house. There is really good artwork, old teak used throughout, beautiful furnishings, a lovely reading room, not to mention a wonderful meditation room with visits from both nuns and monks providing classes if you wish. The Buddhist owners David & Pariya, are delightful caring and thoughtful, both blessed with a great sense of humor, an absolute necessity if you are to be an innkeeper. Their mindful consideration shows in all aspects of the operation of this charming 26-room hotel and its young staff who sincerely want to please you. The food too is just tops. Mostly vegetarian, you may dine by the pool or inside selecting from a fine menu of Thai and European cuisine. Some favorites were wing bean salad, pomelo salad, fresh fish and prawns, homemade ice cream & gooseberry tart! The location is amazing. At the end of the block is the Ploenchit stop for the sky train. The world class Bumrungrad Hospital is just steps away. The water taxi stop too is a very few of minutes walk as well as the expressway entrance/exit for a quick arrival from/getaway to the airport.And all of this is affordable and a peaceful tranquil oasis in busy Bangkok. You feel as if you are staying with friends and indeed we came away knowing they are indeed. We would seriously question anyone who did not find a wonderful time in this special place and strongly suggest you book ahead to assure a place in this hotel only 1-½ years old. We’ve always stayed in one of Bangkok’s top ranked large hotels, but even given our stay in one of its lovely garden suites, we will never stay anywhere else but Ayriasomvilla again.We returned again at the end of our journey in Feb, 2010 making a total of a 7 days stay..

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

We booked this hotel, partly based on the triop advisor reviews we had read, and also as we were keen to avoid featureless corporate towers that often masceade as 5* hotels. Prior to going we checked trip advisor again and were a little concerned soem of the reviews about poor service.
On arrival our fears were quickly set aside - Ariyasomvilla was a beautiful hotl, a little oasis in busy sukhumvit. Rooms were charming, with gorgeous bathrooms, comfortable bed and spotlessly clean. The staff were all very help, quiet & polite and we had no problems with being understood. The food in the restaurant was delicious, especially given the variety available at both breakfast and dinner. The owner was friendly and helpful, stopping to chat to guests and make sure all was well.
The location is away from the old town and big sites, but you are only a 5-10 min walk to sukhumvit road, with bustling market stalls, shops & restaurants and sky train station. Alternatively, we caought the local ferry along the klong and were at the Grand palace in 20 mins.
We would definitely recommend this hotel - one of the most charecterful and charming we have stayed in & definitely better than any chain hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ariyasomvilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariyasomvilla

Address: 65 Sukhumvit Soi 1 | Khlong Toei Nuea, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#2 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#6 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ariyasomvilla 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ariyasomvilla Boutique Hotel is a very unique property in the centre of Bangkok. The original house was built by the current Owners Grandparents in 1942. Unlike other hotels Ariyasomvilla gives you a real sense of place and time but with all modern facilities you would expect from 5 star hotels. With 24 rooms Ariyasomvilla is very private and feels like a sanctuary. The pool is large enough for lap, while the spa offers excellent massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ariyasomvilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariyasomvilla Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ariyasomvilla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.