We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ariyasomvilla

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ariyasomvilla to your Saves list
Ariyasomvilla
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65 Sukhumvit Soi 1 | Khlong Toei Nuea, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 768 Hotels in Bangkok
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“An oasis!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed at Ariyasom for 2 nights while we explored Bangkok. Very comfortable Ground floor room. Nice breakfast served by the pool, we also ate both nights at the villa choosing from a fairly extensive and mainly vegetarian/sea food menu. Lovely food and attentive service. Ariyasom is located on the eastern side of town a few stops on the sky train from the centre. Nearest sky train stop is just a few minutes walk and the hotel is right next to the canal offering a fascinating and inexpensive link into the centre. Ariyasom is a comfortable, relaxing and welcoming oasis amidst the bustle of the Bangkok City suburbs.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    822
    132
    18
    4
    2
See reviews for
150
558
65
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We found this hotel by accident after a long train ride to Bangkok from Chiang Mai. It could not have been a more perfect oasis.
We initially came just for breakfast, but after seeing our booked hotel, we changed our reservation to stay at Ariyasom. The proprietor gave us personal attention despite the busy time of year.
The room was gorgeous with a stunning claw foot tub in the bathroom. Bed was incomparably comfortable.
The pool area was relaxing and luxurious.
We almost didn't eat dinner out of the hotel because each meal was so delicious.

For avid athletes, the small exercise room is sufficient with an erg machine and treadmill or two.

Massages were excellent, albeit a bit intense!

Location is great, plenty to do nearby and train is close.

For luxury and sophisticated charm, This is the best place to stay in Bangkok.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We arrived early in the morning, and were nicely welcomed, though, as we expected, our room wasn't ready yet. We were shown to room 201 as early as we could have expected. The room is lovely, tastefully decorated and with a nice bathroom. The bed is big and very comfortable.
The hotel is set in a very nice, well kept garden and the staff are very friendly and helpful.
My wife had a massage at the spa- pleasant but unexceptional was her comment.
The hotel is mainly vegetarian, which doesn't bother me at all but for one item- vegetarian bacon. I wonder if exceptions need to be made sometimes. Breakfast was decent, and unusually not a buffet. It was difficult getting a coffee refill, but otherwise the food was good.
The hotel is well situated for the buzzy nightlife of Bangkok. Its a leisurely 10 minute stroll from the sky train station. We found using this, the underground, and the River a much better way of getting round than tuk-tuks, which can be fun, but get stuck in terrible traffic jams around here.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived to early for check in but the staff made us feel very welcome. We headed out to explore and when we can back we were shown to our beautiful room. The staff are really friendly and can speak good English. The owner is also really friendly and made time to converse with all the guests which was nice.
We ate there on our first night and it was excellent. We weren't aware that it is a vegetarian based menu but it was really tasty but a bit pricey compared to eating street food in Bangkok but still cheaper than a thai meal at home.
The location of the hotel is also great and feels very central.

When I next goto Bangkok the Ariyasomvilla will definitely be my first choice.

Stayed January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chigwell, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

What a fantastic little boutique hotel, conveniently located in pretty much the middle of all that Bangkok has to offer.
On arrival I asked for a pool view and where upgraded to the executive suite which is just amazing. 2 receptions, 2WC, large bathroom with natural light and a fantastic mezzanine bedroom. What more can you ask for.

The hotel is overlooking one of the main canals in BKK and this one is used for public transport speed boats which come by every few minutes. You also get this distinct smell of sewage from that direction if the wind comes your way, I guess that explains the flies and mosquitoes. The hotel sprays the rooms and they are clear of any insects. Even a bottle of repellent is provided. I have been to BKK several times and just love it including the noise and smells but it may be a bit of a shock for first timers.

The garden and pool are excellent, food is good and the service remarkable. This hotel is highly recommended by others on trip advisor and deserves it whole heartedly.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Couldn't believe such a green garden and idyllic place could exist slap bang in the middle of Bangkok.
It was quiet even. Could hear bird whistles, yet it was in the centre of a huge, busy Asian city - Bangkok.
The owners have spent a very considerable effort to grow beautiful gardens.
Recommended for sure.

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skillman, New Jersey
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This 24 room villa was formally the home of the grandfather in law to the current owner. The first part was built around the time of WW2 and a recent addition in 2003. It is an oases of beauty sandwiched between bustling and sometimes chaotic Bangkok. The grounds are wonderfully maintained with trees and shrubs. It looks like an arboretum. Rooms are spaciously and well appointed. The staff was excellent. There is a lovely pool as well. Restaurant is positively reviewed. It is vegetarian except for fish. Truly an exceptional place so much more memorable than the typical generic large hotel chains.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ariyasomvilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariyasomvilla

Address: 65 Sukhumvit Soi 1 | Khlong Toei Nuea, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#2 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#5 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ariyasomvilla 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ariyasomvilla Boutique Hotel is a very unique property in the centre of Bangkok. The original house was built by the current Owners Grandparents in 1942. Unlike other hotels Ariyasomvilla gives you a real sense of place and time but with all modern facilities you would expect from 5 star hotels. With 24 rooms Ariyasomvilla is very private and feels like a sanctuary. The pool is large enough for lap, while the spa offers excellent massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ariyasomvilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariyasomvilla Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ariyasomvilla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.