We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Oasis in the middle of Bangkok” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ariyasomvilla

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ariyasomvilla to your Saves list
Ariyasomvilla
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65 Sukhumvit Soi 1 | Khlong Toei Nuea, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 766 Hotels in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 stars 946 Reviews
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Oasis in the middle of Bangkok”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

This place offers it all. Garden, Pool, Services, Food and quiet sleep while in the center of Bangkok. The only downside you have to walk a bit to the next Metro station. The services is personalized and the staff very attentive to any needs. Great Thanks to all of you

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    795
    128
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
144
539
63
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at the end of a 10 week trip away and we were not disappointed! This hotel is situated close to the main traffic routes but is in a very quiet spot- a oasis in the storm of Bangkok! David the manager is a very present figure and very welcoming. He knows the city well as a resident and national (and a Brit as well). It is an unusual hotel in that it has a vegetarian menu ( which we are not but thoroughly enjoyed it!). We had a fantastic room ( 305) - very large master bedroom and bathroom facing out across the garden to the front. It was very quiet. We eat in for breakfasts and for dinner and thoroughly enjoyed the easy and relaxed environment. We took a couple of City tours whilst there and would have been very happy to have stayed longer at the hotel. We much prefer this boutique hotel to the larger and it is in easy reach of the public transport system. Would definitely go back!

Room Tip: We enjoyed our front facing room on the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The hotel had a driver meet us at the airport. We were greeted by reception. We were informed that we had been upgraded and shown to a suite on the fourth floor. I won't describe the two story suite because you'll be too envious. It was on the canal side but there was no smell in April. Instead, I enjoyed the activities at the Buddhist temple across the water. Next door was a household with a dog that barked at everyone who walked by. At night I could see her puppies on the porch. Of course many water buses went zooming by.

Our other view was over the pool and garden. We used the pool which is ver clean and not small. We ate our breakfasts and a couple of dinners by the pool. The set up fans for breeze and some kind of bug repellant but we never needed it. The best part of eating poolside was meeting and talking with David. He chose all of the furniture and art pieces for his hotel. He helped serve breakfast and seemed interested in our plans for the day. Reception arranged for a taxi when we needed one. Reception has cards at the desk with the hotel address in the Thai language. This is essential if you want to taxi home.

Yes, this hotel felt like home. Bangkok is congested, busy and a bit overwhelming so it was great to come to paradise each night.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, California, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

This hotel is the perfect antidote after a day in the heat and madness of Bangkok. Service is perfect, rooms are modern, comfortable, and interesting (in a good way)! We stayed here twice - once in a modern studio room with gorgeous stone bathroom floor, and once in the old house master bedroom. I highly recommend both of them - the older bedroom (room 208) was more interesting, but amenities weren't quite as modern as other rooms. Each experience was unique and impeccable. Perfect balance of Thai experience and first world comfort.

Owner was very helpful in getting us a cab to the airport before curfew in the midst of a military coup (the cab broke down on the way to Suvarnabhumi airport, but we can hardly blame him for that - true story).

Room Tip: Room 208 is the old house master bedroom - very lush and interesting to stay in - more of an experie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Great hotel with charming, welcoming staff and top drawer room and facilities. The bed was huge and extremely comfortable. Excellent bath and shower as you would expect for this grade of hotel. The pool and garden area was a delight and we made good use of this after full days out exploring the city. Complementary iced water at poolside was nice touch.
Breakfast was delicious with more than enough choice. We also dined at Na Aroon and were more than pleased with the fantastic, flavorsome dishes presented.

The spa provided full range of therapeutic treatments, again, very pleased with this service.
This hotel is overall a delight and i would stay here again when in Bangkok. we stayed for 3 nights and i could have stayed another.

Only one small issue at checkout. We had a bill for full 3 days, of which i had paid a third many months prior to our stay. Lucky i had proof of payment, but only small issue.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We booked our double room directly on the hotel website. I was not sure if I emailed the time of our arrival, so I called the hotel a day earlier. The receptionist told me there was no reservation under my name, and I got quite upset. I checked the confirmation email and called the villa again. This time another receptionist confirmed my reservation, and I was finally relieved. The first receptionist did not speak English well, and I noticed it when we arrived at the hotel as well.

<Interior>
The villa is beautifully decorated in classic Thai-colonial style. If you like Jim Thomson House, then you will like here too. The choice of art in the room and corridor, textile, amenities, furniture, toilet fixtures - everything is chosen with a refined personal touch. It's not The Oriental, but you will feel at home here more than some renown-5-star hotels in the city.

<Pool>
The first thing we did upon our arrival was to jump into the pool. The pool is not big but perfect enough for spending some afternoon hours before heading for dinner. We met some interesting people at the poolside. What makes this villa so special is not just the facility but also the type of guests who choose to stay here. My child was once swimming with this lady she never met before and started chatting like they knew each other for a long time. My husband always exchanged tips with a guest and discussed where is the best place to go. The pool was where you meet old and new guests and socialise.

<Restaurant>
We were looking forward to the first breakfast at the vegetarian restaurant, since my husband is vegan and we usually eat vegetarian. It was hard to communicate that my husband does not eat milk products and prefer margarine and soy milk. Every morning was Lost in Translation. “Could I have margarine for toast and soy milk for coffee please?” Then he would get butter instead of margarine. We were disappointed that the breakfast service staff did not remember our room number and beverage preference, although we stayed for 6 nights. The food was good but not excellent. The portion was large. I always asked half-portion for my child, but they never made it half-portion even though they said it is possible. Breakfast was always frustration due to miscommunication.
We always saw the Japanese expats dining at the restaurant for lunch. They usually know the best food around town, so we once decided to try dinner at the restaurant. Thai food was impeccable. The friendly service by Khun Buh made the dining experience even more special. Unfortunately she was working only in the evenings. For dinner, make sure to reserve the table in advance, because the restaurant is always full with the locals and expats.

<Service>
The front desk staff was very friendly. The female receptionists were professional and helped us a lot in planning our day. The room service was OK. We sometimes didn’t receive the complimentary beverage refilled in our fridge.

<Location>
Soi 1 is long. If you are traveling with a small child in stroller, forget it. You cannot push the stroller on the uneven pedestrian walkways or street full of cars and street vendors. Because many taxis make a short cut through the Bumrungrad Hospital on the same street, there is a heavy traffic on this narrow Soi during the day. With our child, it took us 15 min each way from the villa to BTS skytrain station. If you feel lazy to walk back to the hotel, you can use bike taxi for 10 Baht at the corner of Soi and Sukhumvit that can take you back to the Villa at the end of Soi. During rush hour in the morning and evening, you can hardly catch the taxi on the street. The best way to reach the city center is the shuttle boat on the canal behind the villa. It costs only 12 Baht per person one way to Pratunam. My child loved walking along the canal and hopping onto the shuttle boat amongst the locals. It was also the best way to reach Jim Thompson House, Central World and Ratchadamnoen Stadium.

<Food Options>
We did not have good options for restaurants near the villa, but there is a plenty of street vendors near the hospital on the same Soi. We once had lunch at the food stall in the parking lot near the hospital, and food was great!! We sat next to nurses, doctors and drivers. The som-tam vendor that opens only at night near seven-eleven closest to the villa is also popular. We love street food and used this opportunity to try everything. We were usually full by the time we arrived at the villa.

All in all, we would come back to this villa if it was not so inconveniently located. When our child is a bit older and walk back and forth the Soi without complaining, then we will perhaps consider. For travellers without small children, this is a great place to experience Thai holiday.

Room Tip: We requested a room away from the swimming pool but regret it. It was such a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davidlees, Owner at Ariyasomvilla, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear Minimu

Thanks for the review.

Sorry that we made a bit of a hash of your breakfasts – as a hotel that serves mainly vegetarian food we should have been better tuned to requests for margarine and soya milk ( actually we always have soya milk). Our service staff should certainly have picked upon this.

Please understand that we employ a few trainees in various departments and their English skills are fairly rudimentary. They have to start somewhere and we train and encourage them. For something as important as a booking confirmation it’s always best to ask to speak to a supervisor or to put it in writing on an email. I’m sure you understand that both parties are communicating in a third language. Our senior staff have a very competent command of English.

Our location is not for everyone and the 550 metres to the sky train may seem a long way in the heat of May the hottest month of the year.

Many thanks and best regards

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Let me preface the by letting you know we spent 2 days and 1 night in Bangkok, by choice I wouldn't go there again. However if you have to go there and stay around this area of Bangkok then you must stay at the Ariyasomvilla. From the moment we arrived the service was attentive, professional and culturally stimulating with out being overpowering. In the hustle of Bangkok this is a peaceful, quiet paradise. The only problem which is likely to be all throughout Bangkok is the smell. If you have to be there then this is a great escape.

Room Tip: Not really a concern as the whole facility is an oasis. You'll just never get away from the Ban...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ariyasomvilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariyasomvilla

Address: 65 Sukhumvit Soi 1 | Khlong Toei Nuea, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#2 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#5 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ariyasomvilla 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ariyasomvilla Boutique Hotel is a very unique property in the centre of Bangkok. The original house was built by the current Owners Grandparents in 1942. Unlike other hotels Ariyasomvilla gives you a real sense of place and time but with all modern facilities you would expect from 5 star hotels. With 24 rooms Ariyasomvilla is very private and feels like a sanctuary. The pool is large enough for lap, while the spa offers excellent massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ariyasomvilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariyasomvilla Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ariyasomvilla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.