We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ariyasomvilla

Save Saved
You added Ariyasomvilla to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ariyasomvilla
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65 Sukhumvit Soi 1 | Khlong Toei Nuea, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15 % HOTDEAL DISCCOUNT
Ranked #1 of 756 Hotels in Bangkok
Bangkok
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

If you want wall to wall aircon and endless lobbies of marble - go elsewhere. Stay at the Landmark Hotel 600m away on Sukhumvit by Nana BTS. Or better still go west to the Chao Praya river. The other hotels will still feel anonymous though and serve overpriced and bland pan asian food.

If you want to experience an old Bangkok home, sensitively developed and owner managed for the family with a real desire to make your stay comfortable, come to the Ariyasom. Yes it is pricey (about the same as the Landmark) but you know that already. It's no more than you pay for 4* elsewhere without soul. The food and service is very good at the restaurant at night (no MSG, primarily organic, vegetarian and sea food only; I've brought work colleagues here when visiting Bangkok on business.). Breakfast is a la carte rather than grand buffet - and what you lose in variety you gain in flavour and freshness.

David (owner) and his team try hard to make your stay successful. You do need to accept that this is a walk from Nana BTS (or else tell taxi drivers Soi 1 Sukhumvit and then urge them down the road); accept that mosquitos will be endemic around the pool (so spray and cover up); and that junior staff sometimes need help in understanding your requests.

Come and stay for a day or three and you should enjoy. For longer, you might like to also try a hotel closer to the river (like the Arun Residence say), or else go visit up country or one of the beach resorts.

I'd personally rather stay here any time than an international bland palace but everyone makes their own choices.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    740
    122
    16
    4
    2
See reviews for
139
499
59
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

The proprietor David is a true gentleman and fine pastry chef. This property is steeped in history as it was the military command center during the Japanese occupation of WW2. It is truly a wonderful place to stay bathe good is authentic and gourmet quality. The spa is great as well. Truly is a fine retreat tucked away in the heart of Bangkok. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We got a package deal (which was expensive) but I broke down the individual costs and it wasn't too far over the mark. The property has different kinds of rooms, and all the ones I saw were charmingly decorated in the Thai style. This is nothing like the modern hotels you see all over Bangkok (which are great in their own right) but if you like local flavour, luxury fittings, gorgeous bathrooms with tiles and wood (and we had a huge bathtub), wonderfully comfortable beds and friendly service then this is the place for you. The restaurant isn't strictly only vegetarian so fish eaters can relax, but the food is great. Be very precise about what you order though, as the waitpersons may take your query on a dish to be an actual order! Check the bill too, as there are several people involved between ordering and bill presenting. The Thai service staff were so friendly and warm and really want your stay to be enjoyable. The owner, David, will come out and talk to you at breakfast and he clearly loves what he is doing - it shows in every aspect of the property. Speaking of breakfast, the fish, miso and rice dish is not to be missed. We'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Try for a suite - the luxury and space is heavenly. Don't worry about the horrendous Bangkok he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The reviews on this place were great but I still wasn't sure I wanted to spend the money for it. But I'm so glad I did! We were greeted with a warm welcome and a cold drink upon our late night arrival at Ariyasomvilla. Both of our two rooms were quite lovely, including the bathrooms. The beds were extremely comfortable, which was welcome after a long plane ride. Breakfast was very nice and the salt water pool was a great place to cool off after a day exploring the city. Another thing my family really loved were the bottles of citronella oil mosquito repellent stocked in all of the rooms. The sky train was simple to access from the hotel -- just a few blocks by foot. We are staying here agin on our return trip to Bangkok next month.

Room Tip: We booked adjoining rooms for our family of five. Also, I emailed the hotel directly for their best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The only regret I have about this hotel is that the stay was too short! We had a mere 36 hours in Bangkok before travelling onwards to the beach. From the moment we arrived, frazzled after a long flight & connection through KL we were treated to wonderful, professional & friendly hospitality.
On arrival we were immediately offered cold drinks to cool us down. Our next bonus was an upgrade to an executive suite (410) which overlooks the pool & gardens, fabulous room, beautifully decorated, very peaceful with a great bathtub & incredibly comfortable bed up on a mezzanine level (special bonus is the central controller which covers most of the lights & the aircon)
The included breakfast offers Thai or Western options & is ordered from a menu (no breakfast buffets here!) we tried a number of options & were impressed by all. The service is again a stand out, the restaurant staff are incredibly attentive & intuitive. We also had dinner in Na Aroon restaurant. The menu is vegetarian/seafood & offers a pretty extensive tour around Thailand (there are also a number of western dishes too) the food was of a very high quality, service impeccable & the dining room perfectly lovely.
Ariyasom is located at the bottom of a side street close to Bumrungrad hospital. This is great if you are a medical tourist, but also means that there's street food a plenty servicing hungry hospital staff, a 5 minute walk & you can sample a good selection!
This place is a little gem, I can't wait to return.

Room Tip: We were lucky to get an upgrade to #410. It was lovely with a nice view out to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I was so glad we chose this hotel on our short trip to Bangkok. We were so looking forward to it after reading the reviews and we were not disappointed..
The area is not from the sky train, in the area of the Bumrungrad private hospital. This means that there is some great street food around as there are lots of hospital staff and visitors to feed!
The hotel itself is at the end of a lane, and when you walk in you immediately feel like you are in a colonial style crossed with Thai style haven.
Beautiful dark wood floors and furniture. Great little pool area, big enough to swim laps while listening to the sounds of the city outside and with the trees and spirit house in your sights.
We had originally enquirer direct with the hotel about booking the executive suite, but then decided to go for a cheaper room. We were thrilled on arrival to be upgrade to an executive suite! Our room was stunning on the fourth floor with a view of the pool and the bedroom was on a mezzanine.
We were impressed with how friendly and helpful the staff were, and their conversational English was excellent.
As we had a busy time planned in Bangkok we ended up having dinner in the restaurant twice and it was delicious. We tried some lovely Thai desserts including one which looked like green worms with iced coconut, unfortunately I can't remember the Thai name, but please try it! Apparently the owner (who is English) can't eat it and he nicknamed it worms, but its seriously yummy!
This hotel is well run to high standards, and the owner clearly takes a lot of pride in running it. He is very friendly and likes to make sure you are having a great time. We found both the owner and the staff to be very perceptive to our needs and they could anticipate everything we might be about to ask them which is a rare thing!
The only bad thing about this hotel is that we couldn't stay for longer to enjoy the lovely

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed here for two nights with our children in two adjoining rooms. Everything about the hotel was lovely from the restaurant to the pool, the bathrooms to the staff. My son and I even had a Thai massage which was excellent. The heat of Bangkok was a lot for our two children and having this hotel to come back to was wonderful. I'm not sure I can come up with any negatives!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ariyasomvilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariyasomvilla

Address: 65 Sukhumvit Soi 1 | Khlong Toei Nuea, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#4 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#8 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ariyasomvilla 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ariyasomvilla Boutique Hotel is a very unique property in the centre of Bangkok. The original house was built by the current Owners Grandparents in 1942. Unlike other hotels Ariyasomvilla gives you a real sense of place and time but with all modern facilities you would expect from 5 star hotels. With 24 rooms Ariyasomvilla is very private and feels like a sanctuary. The pool is large enough for lap, while the spa offers excellent massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Otel and Fastbooking so you can book your Ariyasomvilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariyasomvilla Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ariyasomvilla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.