We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden diamond in Bangkok” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ariyasomvilla

Save Saved
You added Ariyasomvilla to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ariyasomvilla
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65 Sukhumvit Soi 1 | Khlong Toei Nuea, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15 % HOTDEAL DISCCOUNT
Ranked #1 of 750 hotels in Bangkok
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hidden diamond in Bangkok”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

My husband & I stayed here for 2wks in April and were truly awed by the level of service. I design hotel interiors in Las Vegas for a living and it takes A LOT to wow me but I can truly say Ariyasomvilla Hotel and staff went beyond what I would expect. This little boutique hotel in the Sukhumvit area of Bangkok is a little hidden diamond.

Our suite (rm#110) was very large with a jetted spa tub that you almost had to swim across to get out of. The decor in our suite was warm polished woods and lovely furnishings that made it feel both romantic and comfortable.

My husband is a true carnivore and he was surprisingly impressed with the meals we had in their NaAroon Restaurant even though they were vegetarian. We chose to have dinner here rather than go out many nights because it's be hard to find better service in town or meal served so attractively..

We spent many days laying by the salt-water infinity edge pool sipping fresh squeezed juice surrounded by Zen gardens. Hint: check out the library and the hidden nooks in the gardens. The staff was always willing to help us find a restaurant, direct us to the best shopping, call a cab on a moments notice or book a car & chauffeur to the airport.

I would recommend it but maybe I shouldn't or I won't be able to get a booking next time. Shhhhhh! Don't tell.

Room Tip: Room #110 is the best for romance; HUGE spa tub and patio overlooking both pool and canal with golde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

851 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    709
    120
    16
    4
    2
See reviews for
134
482
55
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

A trip to the exotic far east! When you arrive in the courtyard of this quaint quiet oasis of a hotel, expanded around a 1940s Thai villa, you know you have started on an adventure. Even mine host falls into the stuff of fiction, an escapee more than 20 years ago from colder English climes.
The property is intriguing, you round corners to discover old wall murals from a bygone era, and all furnishings are period pieces, but the bathroom facilities are thoroughly modern behind their old world appearance.
We had a huge space, sitting room with TV for comfortable lounging around and connecting passages with storage cupboards led past a large bathroom with full bath tub, shower etc and onto a bedroom with a huge 4 poster bed, comfortable chair and writing desk. The balcony overlooked the hotel pool and over the wall we could see the boats going up and down the river canal. It was our honeymoon and the giant heart of red roses on the bed and flowers everywhere were a beautiful welcome.
Whatever you do don't miss a meal at the restaurant. They specialise in delicious organic, fresh vegetarian and seafood meals. David has a gift for tackling Thai cuisine with an individual touch and the meals were served quickly with warm smiles.
The location is excellent if you want to tackle what Bangkok offers for shoppers and custom tailoring.

Room Tip: Higher floors offer a view of the river canal with water taxis running beside the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Very nice and beautiful small family hotel with Graden and swimming pool!! Beautiful for couples! Very nice staff!! Just position is little outside of center, but skytrane is closed. Good restaurant with good food :-)

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Gentil, Gabon
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

David Lees knows how to offer hospitality. Stay here. The layout and architecture of these converted houses are exemplary. You have a variety of rooms, indoor/outdoor restaurant, indoor/outdoor spa, pool/jacuzzi. A quiet corner. Sure, some water taxi sounds rise up but they're not obnoxious. The location is ideal, and just off the main drag with all the glitzy name hotels, you can grin about where you are staying. Take advantage of the spa; the dozens of others on the street need not tempt you. The restaurant is not hampered by being vegetarian, and the savors are delightfully Thai all the way. To greet you and say farewell, and everything in between, there is Hot and all the lovely ladies and gentlemen serving you. Again: Stay there for no regrets.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We arrived here directly from our long flight from London. Our room was just what you want to be shown when you are jetlagged and exhausted.
This hotel is clean, friendly and incredibly well run.
We ate in the restaurant for most nights of our 4 night stay.
David, (the owner) is a lovely, charming friendly face around the grounds, happy to chat and to give you any advice on what to see or do.
This hotel makes for a wonderful return home after a day outside in busy, bustly Bangkok.
If I was pushed to say something negative it would be the noise at night of the boats on the river, the howling dogs and the many cockerels but there's not much to be done about that which we understood.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

It is a small boutique hotel at the end of Soi 1 Sukhumvit. It has some old style wooden Thai house attributes and is an oaisis of 'peace and tranquility' from the normal hectic Bangkok traffic. However, it is next to a main canal route and we stayed on the north side,There we heard the water taxis buzzing up and down the water way. The staff are very attentive ... without being over bearing. There is a pool and Jacuzzi in the garden plus a spa ... ideal for winding down. I feel sure that this unique hotel will collect another top TA award in 2013.The menu in the restaurant is very vegatarian with also seafood.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Charming little hotel, very well kept, clean and with friendly stuff, it was an absolute pleasure staying here, it doesn't really feel like been in such as big metropolis with some trees surrounding it, the food goes without saying, especially if you, like me, love Thai food, it was absolutely gorgeous. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone going in Thailand, and I will definitely stay there again if I ever go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ariyasomvilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariyasomvilla

Address: 65 Sukhumvit Soi 1 | Khlong Toei Nuea, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#2 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#18 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ariyasomvilla 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ariyasomvilla Boutique Hotel is a very unique property in the centre of Bangkok. The original house was built by the current Owners Grandparents in 1942. Unlike other hotels Ariyasomvilla gives you a real sense of place and time but with all modern facilities you would expect from 5 star hotels. With 24 rooms Ariyasomvilla is very private and feels like a sanctuary. The pool is large enough for lap, while the spa offers excellent massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Fastbooking so you can book your Ariyasomvilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariyasomvilla Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ariyasomvilla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.