We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ariyasomvilla

Save Saved
You added Ariyasomvilla to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ariyasomvilla
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65 Sukhumvit Soi 1 | Khlong Toei Nuea, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15 % HOTDEAL DISCCOUNT
Ranked #1 of 750 hotels in Bangkok
Dallas, TX
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I had read about problems with this hotel indicating that they had a day room you could use and then that room not being available. I was concerned when we booked and later found out that our return flight to the USA was going to leave much later in the evening. The Ownwr/manater and staff did everything they could to find a nearby hotel for us, but made it clear they could not promise a room. Understandable in the hotel industry, especially in such a small hotel. Luckily a small room became available and we were able to rest before our overnight flights home. Could not connect to internet via wifi while there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

852 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    710
    120
    16
    4
    2
See reviews for
134
483
55
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

I only stayed one night in this amazing hotel and wish it could have been longer. Upon check in I was told I had been upgraded to a deluxe room which totally exceeded all my expectations...... Simply beautiful with the biggest bed I've ever seen!!! The pool area is great for a chill out.
It is hard to believe your in the middle
Of Bangkok as its so quiet, I could only hear the birds singing whilst in my room!!
Breakfast was lovely and greeted by the owner David who is extremely helpful!!
I had read many reviews on this hotel and I definitely wasn't disappointed.
Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This small (25 room) boutique hotel was such a perfect spot to jet lag when we arrived in Bangkok, we stayed there one night on our way out as well. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and very tastefully appointed. And in a country where "hot" shower, if you find one, really means "tepid", the really hot, powerful shower was luxurious. A wonderful counterpoint to the refreshing salt water pool.
The restaurant is nominally vegetarian, but they expand the definition to include seafood, so there is a diverse array of tasty dishes to choose from. I highly recommend paying to include breakfast. Everything we ate there was truly delicious.
This was an especially serendipitous find for us because my wife had lived in this house for three years in the 1970's - minus, of course, the pool and new buildings. She was delighted to see the original house, now the main dining room, still intact, and with very nicely integrated newer buildings to add the necessary space.
A nice attribute is the spa on premises offering a wide array of massage options, although similar opportunities can be found along nearby Soi 1 for much less cost for the only mildly adventurous.

Room Tip: The suite just above the dining room was the original master bedrooms, and is lovely. Rooms on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcountry
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We received a very warm welcome on our return to the hotel in February. It really is an amazing quiet, calm oasis in the heart of the hectic city. We had a very spacious room right by the pool which is a great place to cool down after a hot day traveling.
Despite the warm climate the design of the room was such that we only needed the ceiling fan to keep the temperature at a comfortable level. The food and service in the restaurant was excellent and the whole experience once again reinforced our affection for this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed for two nights at the end of our honeymoon and what a brilliant way to finish it off.
On the hotels initiative we were given a room upgrade to one of the suites - fabulous, two levels, two lounges, wonderful bathroom, all beautifully decorated. Indeed the hotel has considerable character all based around the wonderful old villa that oozes old thai history and charm and has been tastefully converted by the same family into the wonderful hotel it now is.
The hotel is close to the Skytrain (ten minutes) and although right in the centre of Bangkok, thanks to it's location at the end of Soi 1, next to the canal and surrounded by beautiful old trees, it really feels like a wonderful Oasis of calm in the usual chaos of Bangkok.
The pool in the garden is a lovely spot for a swim at the end of the say - we went for a couple of wonderful dusk swims.
The food here is nothing short of amazing, some wonderful creations. Breakfast choice and quality is superb, dinner blew us away and we ate far too much!
Also in the gardens is a lovely little spa where we enjoyed a couple of Thai massages, very relaxing and enjoyable.
We were also able to make use of one of the unused rooms to store our bags and change on our departure day since we were taking a very late flight.
With exception all of the staff were very friendly and hardworking. We also briefly met the owner who lived up to his reputation of being helpful and chatty as well. Clearly he has created an amazing little place and gathered around him a wonderful hardworking team that deserves all of the top ratings described on these pages.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This really is a wonderful place to stay in an accessible location but quiet. The owner and staff are helpful and the food is excellent. We stayed for 4 nights and were upgraded to the suite which was very comfortable. The walk to the main street is not long and felt safe even at night. It was easy to use public transport to get around especially the sky train and the water bus. It was very nice to come back to the hotel after sightseeing and enjoy a swim and laze around the pool. Will certainly be staying here again when we return to Bangkok.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

We are just about to leave this wonderful hotel where the British owner and his staff are so helpful. Bangkok traffic gets worse but this is a haven in the centre of the city. Wouldn't stay anywhere else now

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ariyasomvilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariyasomvilla

Address: 65 Sukhumvit Soi 1 | Khlong Toei Nuea, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#2 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#18 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ariyasomvilla 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ariyasomvilla Boutique Hotel is a very unique property in the centre of Bangkok. The original house was built by the current Owners Grandparents in 1942. Unlike other hotels Ariyasomvilla gives you a real sense of place and time but with all modern facilities you would expect from 5 star hotels. With 24 rooms Ariyasomvilla is very private and feels like a sanctuary. The pool is large enough for lap, while the spa offers excellent massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Fastbooking so you can book your Ariyasomvilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariyasomvilla Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ariyasomvilla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;