We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ariyasomvilla

Save Saved
You added Ariyasomvilla to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Ariyasomvilla
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65 Sukhumvit Soi 1 | Khlong Toei Nuea, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15 % HOTDEAL DISCCOUNT
Ranked #2 of 746 hotels in Bangkok
Little Rock, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This wonderful little property is located at the end of a side street, about 10 mins from the Sky Train. Once you enter the gates, you know that you have found something special. The ambiance and the gardens are nicely done and the people are wonderful. The rooms are roomy with high ceilings, dark-wood furniture, and a large spa-like bath tub and free-standing shower. There is nice pool area and wonderful place adjacent to it to enjoy drinks, breakfast or dinner. When returning to Bangkok, we will come back to this lovely property.

Room Tip: Be careful about the edges of the platform bed. I scraped my leg on the way to the restroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    658
    111
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
121
446
52
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We spent 3 wonderful nights at this lovely unusual hotel in the heart of Bangkok. It made such a change to stay in something other than the usual City skyscraper and this boutique villa set in lush green gardens gave the feeling of being in he 1940's . It's only when you step outside the grounds that you realise you are in the heart of bustling City.
The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and it was only their lack of good English that created some minor problems. This is not a criticism as I am someone that can not speak a second language so their English was well beyond my Thai! The only advice I can give future visitors is to be as clear and precise as possible when ordering your breakfast as otherwise you might get something you didn't ask for.
The room was large , clean and well air conditioned and we could not have wished for a nicer place to say. Well done to all involved and highly recommended if you want something a little different.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

My daughter and I stayed for 2 nights at the end of January. We were upgraded on arrival to a wonderful room on the ground floor, huge, the bathroom was the biggest I've ever seen, could almost have replaced the massive jacuzzi bath with a bed...
We ate both nights in the hotel, the food was lovely and very reasonably priced, the staff were friendly and helpful, especially the waitress who served us both nights, she gave advice about travelling and sightseeing as well as served our food. The chocolate tart, has to be tried !
I would recommend this hotel in a heartbeat, Bangkok is a busy hot city and this hotel is the perfect place to chill and relax after the chaos, it truly is a hidden gem.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rural maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

You can't escape the noise of Bangkok, not even within the walled, lushly planted confines of this conveniently located hotel. It's close to mass transit, and one of Bangkok's great shopping streets is at the end of the block. Service was the best we had in a four-country tour of SE Asia. Room was spacious, well-appointed and had a spa-like bathroom. We had a package that included an hour of Thai massage (you wear something like pajamas) that was performed on an open terrace above the pool. This was the first place we stayed on our four-week trip. On the way home, we had a 12-hour layover in Bangkok, so we asked the hotel if we could come and use the pool. We had lunch poolside and spent most of the afternoon there. Very nice people. Hotel should win an award for best front desk.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We spent five wonderful nights at Ariyasomvilla and would recommend this lovely hotel to anyone looking for a quiet place to return to after busy days of sightseeing. Surrounded by lush vegetation and featuring a gorgeous pool, it was easy to forget about the bustling city down the street. We were greeted with refreshing iced tea at check in and were pleased with the attentiveness of the staff throughout our stay. The property is beautifully kept and antique decorations made it feel like we were staying in someone's home. We stayed in a standard room on the third floor to the rear of the hotel. The room itself was gorgeously decorated, and I appreciated the little touches such as the fresh fruit, orchids and the bottle of citronella spray. The bathroom had a big tub and separate rain shower, with luscious smelling bath products that the staff kept refilled.

Breakfast was served every morning in the ground floor restaurant and was included in our room rate. Guests can choose from an extensive menu of Western and Asian dishes, all either vegetarian or seafood based. We enjoyed everything we sampled though I would steer clear of the vegetarian bacon. Those two words have no business being together.

Twice we had dinner at the hotel – the night we arrived because it was convenient and again because it was delicious. Both times we ordered the fiery Penang curry with chunks of fried tofu sweetened with coconut cream as well as the pad thai with tofu. The former was spectacular though could have used more of the delectable sauce while the latter was beautifully presented with a latticework of fried egg and crushed peanuts on the side. The prawn cakes deep fried to crispy perfection and served with a plum dipping sauce were also a highlight. The desserts were advertised as being made fresh daily by the owner, and even though they weren’t remotely Thai, we enjoyed them all the same. Order the chocolate tart, you won’t regret it!

Ariyasomvilla was a good base for sightseeing, conveniently located near the Phloen Chit metro station. We usually took the train to Saphan Taksin station (one transfer) and caught the public ferry going north. It was time consuming but we loved cruising along the river and getting to see more of the city. Should we be lucky enough to visit Bangkok again, I would definitely stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

you want to relax in bagkok? stay at ariyasom villa. the most beautiful, quiet oasis near sukhumvit road.
a lovely garden, big pool, very nice and comfortable rooms.friendly and helpful staff and the most exquisite restaurant, partly vegetarian and seafood.
enjoy!
i strongly recommend it.

ulli schwarzenberger

Room Tip: I would choose a room with view to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerdydd, null, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed at this lovely hotel for two nights, all the the staff were very good and the room was very tastefully decorated with a excellant bathroom.Lovely plate of fruit in room on our arrival and a newspaper every day. Good food .Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ariyasomvilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariyasomvilla

Also Known As:
Ariyasomvilla Hotel
Ariyasomvilla Hotel Bangkok
Address: 65 Sukhumvit Soi 1 | Khlong Toei Nuea, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#2 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#26 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ariyasomvilla 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ariyasomvilla Boutique Hotel is a very unique property in the centre of Bangkok. The original house was built by the current Owners Grandparents in 1942. Unlike other hotels Ariyasomvilla gives you a real sense of place and time but with all modern facilities you would expect from 5 star hotels. With 24 rooms Ariyasomvilla is very private and feels like a sanctuary. The pool is large enough for lap, while the spa offers excellent massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Splendia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Otel, Venere and Fastbooking so you can book your Ariyasomvilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ariyasomvilla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.