We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvelous hotel (but skip the spa)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ariyasomvilla

Save Saved
You added Ariyasomvilla to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ariyasomvilla
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65 Sukhumvit Soi 1 | Khlong Toei Nuea, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15 % HOTDEAL DISCCOUNT
Ranked #1 of 750 hotels in Bangkok
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Marvelous hotel (but skip the spa)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Our stay felt like we visited a friends lovely home. The superb hospitality matched the splendid decor, and most importantly returning back after each days excursions was finding in a refuge from the insanity that's Bangkok. Exceptional included breakfast, both Asian and Western, and fine dining in the evening (killer cheesecake!).

Get a massage elsewhere however. The spa next door was disappointing. A poor treatment given in a noisy outdoor space. Not relaxing, but forgotten as soon as we returned to our delightful room.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davidlees, Owner at Ariyasomvilla, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Well I am glad you enjoyed the hotel and it was good to have you with us. Of course I’m sorry that the Thai massage didn’t go down so well.

I almost most always suggest guests to try a Thai massage rather than an oil. You can find a decent oil massage in many parts of the world but not so with a good Thai massage.

A Thai massage is not necessarily relaxing and comforting at the time. That’s not the purpose – it’s a true health massage and can be uncomfortable during the process. Oil is a much more relaxing option but doesn’t have the same health benefits.

Some customers find a Thai massage difficult and unpleasant – they are tense and their muscles hard. Consequently, they tense up and find the whole process unsatisfying.

Having spoken to my therapist (who’s been working with us for about 3 years) she felt that the client was rather fighting the whole experience. So upon consideration an oil massage in a private air controlled room would have been better.

Our spa is a covered area adjacent to the pool and depending on our neighbors, can be a little noisy ( it’s a rather exuberant time of the year). The origins of Thai massage would have been an open sided sala in a temple – it’s important to have the body warm when they work on you.

Anyway, it’s important for us to get this feedback for which we thank you and we will try harder and smarter in the future. Perhaps we need to guide our guests in their selection more intelligently.

With best regards

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    707
    120
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
132
481
55
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tecumseh, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Very clean, friendly staff. Rooms are spacious and comfortable with all of the amenities needed. Location is ideal and close to sky train, Klong. Special mention should go to the restaurant manager, Khun Poo, who assisted us with our dinner selections. She represents everything the hotel stands for.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swaffham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Ariasom Villa was recommended by my travel agent. I found it delightful. Big and comfortable room and peaceful surroundings at the bottom end of Soi 1 Sukhumvit. The only downside was being woken by a cock's crow in the city centre, oh, and the water taxis on the adjoinig klong.

I am no vegetarian but I really enjoyed the meals in the vegetarian restaurant, varied and tasty.

I shall be returning there in a copule of days to try it again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We loved our stay in the beautiful small hotel, the rooms are delightful, as are the staff. The owners/managers are very friendly and took time to talk to us.

The food is to die for infact we ate in the hotel for the 4 nights as there was no reason to go out.

loved the whole experience

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely. We had a room at the back of the hotel 1st night it was on the ground flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Beautiful restaurant set in this charming home conversion with an amazing nearly all vegetarian menu. The food was beautiful & you certainly do not miss out on no meat as there are many substitutes and fish on the menu also. The owner is a very charming interesting man with lots of stories to tell & this adds to the charm of your evening there! Definitely worth a meal for something a little different in bangkoks crazy city!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerela
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

we had a stopover in Bangkok 2 nts before our week long stay@phuket. Stayed at the Ariyasomvilla resort in Bangkok whhich seemed a popular resort in Bangkok and as suggested to us by our travel gaent , Thaitourister.com , which got us a great Thailand package at real affordable cost with premium servicing.We were picked up at Bkk airport by Agent’s driver & escorted to Hotel

We got an executive deluxe room for the night. The resort had a colonial feel from its onset. The reception and the walk to the rooms had wooden fittings and decorations. The restaurant was located bordering the pool. The pool was another chief point in the resort with hordes of people thronging the pool area. On our way to the rooms we also crossed the spa and a well maintained garden.

The room was spacious at around 45 sq mt. Dark wood wall hangings decorated the room in all its grandeur and the lighting also complimented the interiors. The bath was exquisite too with a rich assortment of toiletries. The view of the canals and adjoining gardens from the windows was enhanced as our room was located on one of the higher floors. The pillows and the curtains matched the ambience of the room too.

The food at the restaurant was magnificent with a host of choices and incredible value for money dishes. My wife being a veggie, also found her spot with spaghetti, pasta, lemon capers etc. Non-veggies like me would be ensured of a more wholesome buffet though!

There were multiple sight seeing places available nearby and we checked them out and enjoyed a great boat ride too. tuktuk driver talked animatedly about its restaurant and we reached the place pretty soon. The location of the Ariyasomvilla is fantastic for shopping buffs too. Multiple shopping centers and arcades are located surrounding the resort consequently my wife ended up having a ball. Thus an excellent resort with great facilities; definitely worth a visit for all Bangkok travelers.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherbourg-Octeville, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

What a joy to find in this haven of peace in a dead end, without traffic, surrounded by lush vegetation and an architectural style villa!
The rooms are very spacious and well decorated, the bathrooms are superb, and the staff is helpful and smiling. The pool is long, clean, and pleasant to rest. The staff do not speak English very well, and it can sometimes be difficult to be understood, for example by controlling the breakfast. It was included in the formula, and offered a wide choice, but the service is not always on top, despite the goodwill servers. The location of the hotel is good, 5/10 minutes walk from the skytrain which can get closer to the city center. Finally, the boss, English is very friendly, and the value is excellent.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ariyasomvilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariyasomvilla

Address: 65 Sukhumvit Soi 1 | Khlong Toei Nuea, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#2 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#19 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ariyasomvilla 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ariyasomvilla Boutique Hotel is a very unique property in the centre of Bangkok. The original house was built by the current Owners Grandparents in 1942. Unlike other hotels Ariyasomvilla gives you a real sense of place and time but with all modern facilities you would expect from 5 star hotels. With 24 rooms Ariyasomvilla is very private and feels like a sanctuary. The pool is large enough for lap, while the spa offers excellent massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Fastbooking so you can book your Ariyasomvilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariyasomvilla Hotel Bangkok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ariyasomvilla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.